Chevron Left
Retour à Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones par Université de Leyde

4.7
étoiles
356 évaluations
120 avis

À propos du cours

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Meilleurs avis

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 119 Avis pour Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

par Emilio J M V

Jul 19, 2017

muy bueno me cuesta pero muy bueno solo que al habla hispano sin bases buenas en ingles se le complica pero excelente curso

par juan p d r

Oct 27, 2016

Great. I am confident that soon there will be new and more advanced courses

that can perform registration to perform them.

par Derek N

Nov 07, 2016

This is an excellently well presented course that is informative, interesting and challenging. Well worth engaging with.

par Alisse S

Mar 27, 2017

Incredibly informative, builds upon itself, and gives ample opportunity for application in case study assignments.

par Mark E v A

Mar 01, 2017

Very enjoyable. Cool information and the assignments really force you to think critically about your reasoning.

par E M B

Dec 17, 2018

This course provided great illustrations and information regarding the various specialties in human osteology.

par Elisabeth R M

Aug 09, 2020

It was a really wondeful course! I learned so much, thank you very much for all your hard work and time.

par Anne-Marie G

Jan 23, 2017

Loved this course. Allows you to go into more detail if you wish. Friendly lecturer. Facinating subject.

par Maria G H

Aug 15, 2017

Loved this course! I learned the basics of everything I wanted to learn and I really enjoyed it!

par Kathlyn T

May 06, 2017

Fantastic, informational, and very fun. I truly enjoyed this course from Universiteit Leiden.

par Yenny A A S

Feb 12, 2019

Excelente curso, contenido especializado pero muy claro, con muchos ejemplos y bibliografía.

par Richard I M

Jul 04, 2020

This was a very intense and thoughtful course. I found it quite challenging and enjoyable.

par Laura G

Jan 04, 2017

I learn a lot about ancient skeleton and also about my own, in very enjoyable lessons!

par Sam T

Mar 20, 2020

This is a well structured and delivered course covering a fascinating subject.

par Melissa v R

May 21, 2018

I learned a lot, the assignments are very nice in my opinion! Very engaging.

par Dan C

Apr 14, 2020

Excellent course. Very well taught and offered. Instructors were amazing.

par Marcela K

Oct 12, 2017

Great course, never knew all the things that can be told from bones!

par LUDOVIC C

Oct 03, 2018

Course extremely well built and documented. Very nice and exciting.

par Matthew R

Aug 17, 2017

very enjoyable and I learnt a lot of really useful information

par Colin A

Jul 11, 2017

A great course very well presented. Really enjoyed it.

par Antonio N L

Jun 04, 2017

I have enjoyed envery single bit of this course

par Muhammad A T

May 19, 2020

It is really a useful and informative course.

par Sara C M

Apr 23, 2020

Great content, great lectures and interviews.

par Mauritius X

May 15, 2020

short but informative. Good teaching skills

par Julia H

Dec 07, 2019

Great course and very interesting projects.