Chevron Left
Retour à Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences par UNSW Sydney (université de Nouvelle-Galles du Sud)

4.8
étoiles
308 évaluations
102 avis

À propos du cours

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

Meilleurs avis

LL

Mar 23, 2018

Very engaging. I have not seen this level of interviewing before. It's very educational and intensive. But less so on the education side, more on the motivational one. -L

EK

Sep 11, 2017

this is one of the best courses I have ever taken. So professional, helpful, insightful yet encouraging. Totally a must-take if you interested in content marketing.

Filtrer par :

76 - 97 sur 97 Avis pour Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

par Daniel Y J

Dec 23, 2019

Great course!

par Наталья Н О

Apr 02, 2018

enjoyed it :)

par Egorova E V

Dec 01, 2016

Wonderful!

par Лапиков В А

Nov 05, 2018

'mazeng!

par Martina F

Dec 11, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I believe the content is really great and the way it is developed and told is also very interesting. Great professors and good real life examples. The reason why I chose to put a 4 instead of a 5 is that I found the system where the peers evaluate your work quite unfair. The four assignments where very elaborate and I believe that this kind of evaluation is too subjective. I didn't have a good experience with it. I know it's more difficult, but I believe it should be done by a professional, and like this avoid final grades being subjective, uneven and unfair. Otherwise, the whole course is super! Great way of entering the world of transmedia storytelling.

par Deborah S

Oct 28, 2016

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to transmedia studies and practices. The framework of the course is well structured and it's easy to follow. The resources are fantastic with lots of advice and content provided by industry professionals. If you've heard of transmedia, but don't know what it is or how it's going to change storytelling in the future, take this course and find out.

par Xósem A

May 16, 2019

Un curso de especial interés para mí, ya que soy creador de contenido y storyteller. Muy interesante todo el contenido; sólo siento que falla un poco a la hora de interactuar con los compañeros, pues hay muy diversos niveles de interés e involucramiento.

par Cristina

Dec 22, 2017

The course provides a good and broad overview of what transmedia storytelling is, where the "industry" is heading and how it can be used across any kind of communication. Plenty of resources and insights to dig further and start experimenting. Thank you!

par Stephanie B

Mar 23, 2019

Very interesting, briliant contributors. Full of concerte examples to discover and get a clear understanding of the transmedia world. A very good introduction to it.

My only regret is that there is little intersaction with other students.

par Jami S

Jan 21, 2019

This course was very helpful in providing an in-depth look into transmedia in both the academic sphere and that of Hollywood. I'm looking forward to putting these skills to use in the not too distant future!

par James S

Jul 15, 2017

Thought provoking and great evidence presented about the evolving story of the merging of content delivery systems, globally to promote and preserve late capitalism in the first part of the 21st century.

par Paul C

Oct 29, 2018

Felt this was a well structured course that opened me up to a lot of good ideas. Instructors give clear instructions and the interviews are very helpful. Turnaround on assignment reviews was good.

par Jonathan S

Dec 18, 2018

Great course content-wise. I think more concrete and practical assignments would be helpful - part of the course is to think iterative and in prototypes, yet you never have to produce one.

par Puspita K

Feb 28, 2019

The only thing that I don't really like is too many speakers in each lesson. Hard for me to grab consistent points from one to another.

par Chiara S

Mar 27, 2017

The additional links and research material were really interesting and insightful.

par Jason L

May 26, 2019

I learned a great deal over the course. The bits of gold were invaluable.

par Andrey K

Feb 12, 2018

A nice intro course with some useful industry tips.

par Rafa H N

Mar 05, 2019

Great course. Practical and result oriented.

par Harleen D

Dec 10, 2019

Although it is a very organized course as compared to some other free courses I have attended, I found this course having the following issues:

-a lot of points, basic definitions and information keeps repeating unnecessarily throughout the course in almost all videos

-Each video and the whole course as a whole seems a little stretched and not to the point, even though the attempt is there, seeing the weekly concept headings.

-It is a little difficult to grasp the expectation of the assignments; some of the assignments I had reviews have been very well thought of, almost as if the students were already ready with their individual stories to full details (possibly students with their own professional writing background) , while some were quite vague and had an underlying idea correctly present. It becomes hard to judge them in one basis because of their varying experience.

I love the discussion prompt exercises and the readings available. It is quite an informative and helpful course to build your skills, know all aspects one should keep in mind while writing. I only wish it was a little more concisely put so one could finish things while still staying interested to carry on. That can only happen if it was leading us somewhere, which I found missing. Other than that, good experience.

par Oscar D

Aug 28, 2017

Hi, I expected a feedback and follow up from the teachers. Finally, we as the students had to evaluate the works of the other fellow students. For the rest the content of the course is ok, but can be better, more practical focused and with some more didactic flow. We also can search for similar YouTube videos. Honestly, I expected more from this course. Best regards.

par Ximena M

Oct 07, 2017

It doesn't have a Scaffolding learning. So you feel that you know nothing and your face with tons of content, that you don't really understand. It's overwhelming. I feel it needs to star nice and easy, and start adding more after the second week.

par Kevin L

Feb 16, 2019

I wish there were more on the basic thinking behind transmedia and less on the already aging technologies. This course needs updating already to stay relevant.