Chevron Left
Retour à Le Sud de l'Amérique : ses histoires, sa musique et son art

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Le Sud de l'Amérique : ses histoires, sa musique et son art par Université de Caroline du Nord à Chapel Hill

4.4
étoiles
276 évaluations
72 avis

À propos du cours

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

Meilleurs avis

ES

Aug 14, 2015

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 72 Avis pour Le Sud de l'Amérique : ses histoires, sa musique et son art

par Jennifer E

Nov 07, 2019

The lectures were so interesting and the interviews were amazing! The music added so much to the course! Highly recommend!

par Lynn D

Nov 07, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. The lecturer has a style that keeps you interested. The content was very interesting.

par Barbara K A

Aug 24, 2017

Loved it although i wish i could have taken the quizzes as an auditor just to check what i had learned.

par Danielle C

Nov 01, 2017

I am so glad that I was able to participate in this class. It was so very enjoyable and informative.

par David J H

Mar 16, 2016

Fascinating introduction and lots of pointers to follow through if you want to explore more

par Elizabeth P

Nov 10, 2015

Engaging and interesting, a review of Southern Culture with an excellent instructor.

par Alice H S

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent! Full of treasure trove of information with History, stories and culture!

par Olga d B

Feb 01, 2018

I really enjoyed the lectures. Thank you very much for such a great course!

par Lynette O

Nov 01, 2015

This was a wonderful class! A great intro to the culture of the south.

par Mikhail A

Mar 11, 2016

Just started this, but in love with all this stories and music.

par Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

I learned so much about the South that I didn't already know.

par Tony A

Dec 07, 2015

Great course, lots of fun and some great music and culture.

par phunguyen

Dec 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. Very interesting!

par Juan V

Nov 10, 2015

Was an hell of a ride! Enjoyed it thoroughly.

par Paulette B

Oct 26, 2019

Thank you for presenting this information.

par John W

Dec 17, 2015

An excellent and thought provoking course.

par Dario

Jun 23, 2016

Very interesting, great professor

par Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

Very interesting and informative.

par Samanta G P

Apr 11, 2019

Excepcional! Me encanto!

par Deniz N E B T

Dec 16, 2015

So much fun! Very inter

par P G

Oct 24, 2019

Excellent content

par Joao P A

Jun 25, 2018

Excellent!!

par Tim R

May 01, 2018

Fantastic!

par Shelton D

Nov 19, 2016

I think some very tough choices were made to fit the course online. It is a successful course, but you can tell that a more in depth version of the course would probably be exciting. You would certainly go further, if you were enrolled at Chapel Hill, and had a couple semesters to contemplate the topic.

The instructor is a person who made his own videos and recordings of local storytellers, artists and musicians over a long period of time. You can tell he is a very active collector of local lore. So, he tries to feature this material, sensibly. Some of this material you was great.

On the other hand; the knowledge of the course is really only a beginning to what could be learned. For example, when mentioning the photographers or painters of the South, you are not able to see a large number of their pictures. Likewise, when talking about the major writers, such as Faulkner, you do not get to read many longer excerpts of their work. This course provides the names to reference; starting points for further study. The instructor trusts you to investigate these resources on your own.

par José D

Aug 14, 2015

I took this course with a special interest on the musical aspect, namely the blues, of course. In that regard the course is very superficial, but has some interesting stuff even so. The other aspects of literature, painting, and the more popular arts (kilts, oral traditions, etc.) where a nice surprise. This course gives a view of a cultural aspect of America that is very interesting and mostly unknown, particularly, I guess, to a non American. I advise this course to anyone who is interested in ethnology, folklore and popular art and music and is not already familiarized with the American South.