Chevron Left
Retour à Systems Thinking In Public Health

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Systems Thinking In Public Health par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
378 notes
89 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides an introduction to systems thinking and systems models in public health. Problems in public health and health policy tend to be complex with many actors, institutions and risk factors involved. If an outcome depends on many interacting and adaptive parts and actors the outcome cannot be analyzed or predicted with traditional statistical methods. Systems thinking is a core skill in public health and helps health policymakers build programs and policies that are aware of and prepared for unintended consequences. An important part of systems thinking is the practice to integrate multiple perspectives and synthesize them into a framework or model that can describe and predict the various ways in which a system might react to policy change. Systems thinking and systems models devise strategies to account for real world complexities. This work was coordinated by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research, the World Health Organization, with the aid of a grant from the International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada. Additional support was provided by the Department for International Development (DFID) through a grant (PO5467) to Future Health Systems research consortium. © World Health Organization 2014 All rights reserved. The designations employed and the presentation of the material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the World Health Organization concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. Dotted and dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement. The mention of specific companies or of certain manufacturers’ products does not imply that they are endorsed or recommended by the World Health Organization in preference to others of a similar nature that are not mentioned. Errors and omissions excepted, the names of proprietary products are distinguished by initial capital letters. All reasonable precautions have been taken by the World Health Organization to verify the information contained in this publication. However, the published material is being distributed without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The responsibility for the interpretation and use of the material lies with the reader. In no event shall the World Health Organization be liable for damages arising from its use. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health has a non-exclusive license to use and reproduce the material....

Meilleurs avis

VS

Mar 12, 2018

The course is one of the best that I've attended on Coursera. This will be highly useful in my current course "Healthcare Operations Management" that I am offering for MBA students in India.

NS

Nov 10, 2017

This course is brilliant and Im so glad i had the opportunity to learn from it. Thank you for taking the time to create such a course, there truly is a great need for this knowledge!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 88 Examens pour Systems Thinking In Public Health

par Zhao L

Jun 10, 2019

Thank you for this course! I have learnt about useful tools and ways of thinking in systematic way. It is very helpful for my work which requires exactly the skills. I'm happy to have taken this course!

par Jacques J

Jun 10, 2019

even if you do not use system thinking immediately, it is very useful to realise that finally, the complexity of the real world is acknowledged, and we are making progress in better understanding and representing this complexity. This is one of the best, most interesting course / information I had for many years

par Nachiket M

Jun 08, 2019

This is an excellent-excellent course and provides a good primer even to somebody (like me) who has only a very limited exposure to public health and none to the concepts of systems thinking.

par GIRISH B

May 20, 2019

More hands-on modelling will help.

par Dr. J B

May 14, 2019

Great place to start or refresh on systems thinking, design, causal loop diagrams (CDL) and SF (Stock & Flow), both with VENSIM, as well as the public health context. Thanks to both instructors and the University.

par Claudia

Apr 19, 2019

This course was super interesting. I learned a lot and cannot wait to learn more about it. The reason it has one star less, is that there is a discussion forum, but hardly any feedback or answers to questions from the staff. I had several question which, if answered, would have helped me understand it even better. But I never received an anwer :-(

par Romain c

Mar 04, 2019

Great introduction to system thinking concepts, methods and tools. Accessible and very useful.

par Elizabeth H

Feb 12, 2019

Very helpful

par Linda A

Feb 04, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, its structure and the way of explaining the concepts. I particularly liked the lectures held by Prof. Ligia Paina: she explained Vensim step by step and I appreciated it. I would have gone a little bit more in detail with stock and flows diagrams, I would have expected in general more examples and practical exercises. Overall, great course to start building a system thinking mindset. Thank you all.

par haya i

Feb 02, 2019

this course is really helped me with the way in thinking thank you so much

par Sixtus A

Jan 31, 2019

I learnt a lot about health systems from this course.

par Rashad J T M

Jan 19, 2019

Great course definitely learned a lot and feel that they can be applied in many areas within my career

par Juan E B V

Dec 22, 2018

Really good course, short and clear about a great way to think and approach problems not jus tin public health but in different areas.

par Rebecca M

Dec 03, 2018

I expected something more from the teachers: reading the material is something I can do myself

par Joseph S

Dec 02, 2018

As someone already experienced in healthcare system finance and operations, lean, and financial modeling, this class opened up a new paradigm of thinking. The key lesson from this course is understanding the types and importance of engagement with various stakeholders. Without it, even the most illuminating modeling an analysis will go unused and have little impact. Awesome course!!! Thank you Dr. Bishai and Dr. Paina!

par Ricardo D

Nov 08, 2018

Like the class - course can become subject to different interpretations - but is the nature of the topic.

par Sarah A

Nov 05, 2018

I thought this course was a wonderful introduction and overview of Systems Thinking in Public Health, with many valuable insights and real-world examples for the practical applications of the lecture topics. I would certainly recommend this to a friend or colleague. The supporting materials and vensim program were very accessible.

par Elizabeth M W

Oct 14, 2018

I learned a lot from the course that provided both theoretical constructs and examples of practical applications of the learning.

par Nwaiwu c

Aug 25, 2018

Very detailed and practical but too technical.

par Chandrasekhar G

Aug 23, 2018

Amazing course, useful in daily life that let you think in multiple perspectives before making strategic choices

par Krista M

Aug 21, 2018

The quiz structures and answers could be reviewed in content. The fourth quiz had strange answer selection in the multi-select sections (e.g., suggest rethinking the idea elements of the Q 5,6, 7 answers then build out the answer selections in enhanced clarity).

par Wang Z

Jul 27, 2018

Overall a wonderful course, but some course materials are hard to understand, and probably should be explained more thoroughly in plain English.

par Laura A M A

Jun 20, 2018

This is an excellent course, with very good materials

par 米睿

Jun 15, 2018

Fantastic Course with high quality

par Matheus C d R

Jun 01, 2018

It's a great course, gives an approach to a set of interesting and, I believe, increasingly important skills. Systems thinking is a remarkable field of knowledge. I think the course could give a greater emphasis at developing the mindset that allows us to better see and understand the systems in our realities, as well as the components that form them. Other than that, I'd say it's an essential amount of information for today's (and perhaps tomorrow's) public health.