Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
2,000 évaluations
523 avis

À propos du cours

We will introduce methods to perform systematic reviews and meta-analysis of clinical trials. We will cover how to formulate an answerable research question, define inclusion and exclusion criteria, search for the evidence, extract data, assess the risk of bias in clinical trials, and perform a meta-analysis. Upon successfully completing this course, participants will be able to: - Describe the steps in conducting a systematic review - Develop an answerable question using the “Participants Interventions Comparisons Outcomes” (PICO) framework - Describe the process used to collect and extract data from reports of clinical trials - Describe methods to critically assess the risk of bias of clinical trials - Describe and interpret the results of meta-analyses...

Meilleurs avis

MJ

Jan 08, 2019

Although introductory, I do carry out reviews as a researcher. I Learned a lot to improve my systematic reviews through this course. High quality, though the music could be a little less intense.

PS

Aug 23, 2019

Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course is a very good source for beginners which provides an overview on fundamental terminology and steps involved in the systematic review.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 518 Avis pour Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

par ASHWANI K M

Jun 05, 2020

The course was very well-designed. The pace, content and materials were very good. Being the fellow from the related field of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, thought of sharing my views on some points. The last two lectures were comparatively too fast and some participants may not at all have prior exposure to the domain of epidemiology and biostatistics. Hence, the pace for these too needs to be adjusted for more comprehensive assessment. Secondly, the rubrics for the assignments, has scope for more structured presentation either in the form of tables or diagram. As such though they were very helpful, we needed to scroll down too much to find out the elaborate explanation for the same. Hence, a more structured format may be in excel, with vlookup functions for scoring system may be very handy at the back hand. This will facilitate the peer reviewer to have quick eye ball scrolling and in fact maximize the participation.

Am looking forward for more such courses on Meta-Regression and Network-Meta Analysis in future.

Thanks a lot to all the faculties who helped us in completing the course sucessfully. Moreover the peer reviewer help, and their precious time is also duly acknowledged.

Warm Regards and Thanks

Dr Ashwani Kumar Mishra

Additional Professor of Biostatistics

National Drug Dependence Treatment Centre (NDDTC)

Natioal Investigator-National Investigator for

National Survey on Drug Use, India 2019

All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS)

New Delhi-110029

INDIA

Email: akmaiims@gmail.com

par Graeme S

May 26, 2020

Very much appreciated the course content and its presentation. Always felt challenged and supported in completing the modules. The course content is well organized and logically sequenced, with clear instructions and use of examples. I especially like the balance in the way that systematic reviews seek to be information-led rather then method led and the inclusion of qualitative synthesis helps appreciate what is considered 'meaningful' nicely offsets any over reliance on statistical significance as the sole criterion regarding the importance of the research outcomes. However, the presentation of this part of the content was tentative and almost apologetic in emphasizing the importance of the qualitative synthesis, yet expressing a sense of uncertainty in how to do it. And sometimes the content got a bit skewed - for example it was stated that one has to be confident in one's judgements in order to make appropriate interpretations. When this kind of inductive process is applied as an assessment protocol it is interpretations that informs judgements, not the other way around (ie in assuming a description - analysis - interpretation - judgment sequence) - after all, one's is being asked for an overall judgement of quality.

par Arathi G

Jul 01, 2020

This course enables you to understand the fundamentals of Systematic review and metaanalysis in such a way that it will not be forgotten.Each and every video had so much clarity with clear cut learning objectives that were met at the end of the lecture along with a summary.Just going through the stems and responses of the quizzes in itself was like another revision of the entire course.A good grip of fundamentals of meta analysis was a confidence booster.The assignments were thought provoking and the peer evaluation process was very liberating,On the whole a great course .

par Mina G

Nov 14, 2017

Amazing course, definitely learned a lot regarding systematic reviews. The only thing I found to be a bit challenging is that at some lectures they assume you have previous knowledge in stats, while for someone like me this is my first stats course. But don't worry, it doesn't interfere a lot without your overall understanding of systematic reviews.

Note: it focuses a lot more on systematic review that it does on meta-analysis, which kind of makes sense because meta-analysis is only an optional component of a systematic review, as you'll get to know in this course.

par Matias L

Dec 09, 2019

Considero que este curso es una excelente introducción a una temática interesante y compleja como lo son las revisiones sistemáticas y el meta análisis. Los docentes son de primer nivel, dando consejos prácticos al igual que explicando los fundamentos teóricos. Como se deduce de estas líneas, el inglés no es mi idioma nativo, sin embargo con el nivel básico-intermedio que poseo del mismo pude completar el curso sin mayores dificultades. Aconsejo no dejar de hacerlo sólo por la brecha idiomática.

par Mart A S M

Apr 05, 2020

Hi. I really enjoyed the course. This is a great introductory experience for me of systematic review and meta-analysis. In the future, maybe, I hope that the course or a separate course will have a section that walks the participant through an actual meta-analysis. Maybe, you can provide a screenshot of the actual literature search, how the quality of the study was measured, how the effect sizes were determined, etc. Overall, this is a great course.

par Stephan R

May 15, 2020

This course gives you a perfect overview at introductory level. The course units and time spend on different aspects are balanced, the material used is supportive, and I enjoyed the way the teaching staff engaged in this course. A next interesting step could be how to deal with all the new developments in science (such as open access, FAIR procedures, etc) and their meaning with regards to the quality of reviews.

par Ram K M

May 30, 2017

https://in.linkedin.com/in/rammishra

Hi This is Ram Mishra.

I am working to deliver Systematic literature reviews (SLR), and also familiar with Meta-analysis (MA). This was a refresher course for me. I got to know many things in details through this course, which I used to do without giving further thought. Overall, this is a great course for someone looking forward to learn the basics of SLR and MA.

par Ramesh C

Oct 12, 2016

I never had prior exposure to online courses, this is my first experience and I am very happy to complete the course successfully. It was a very good forum and an excellent opportunity to learn about systematic reviews and meta-analysis from one among the world class university. I express my sincere thanks to Coursera and Johns Hopkins University for providing an excellent course.

par MANSURA M

Jun 14, 2020

It is a one of the detail courses for systematic review and meta-analysis. It clearly describes all the steps with associated assignments. What I found they can work on the part of risk assessment part more and add some more examples and also in meta analysis one. That would be best to make it more comprehensive. Otherwise it is a good and interesting course to carry on.

par Dimitris K

Mar 26, 2020

I think that this course is a hidden diamond for every medical and public health student who respects himself and wants to be to the edge of scientists' community. The fact that the course is free - and from a top range University - gives the opportunity in all the less fortunate students to attend the course. Congratulations to john Hopkins University for its act.

par Diana I C C

May 16, 2020

It was a great way to learn the basics about the systematic review and it provides the steps and the examples to be able to join a research group and start doing them. I really enjoyed the assignments because it helps us put the knowledge into practice, more of these assignments would be even more helpful for future courses. Thank you very much.

par Joanne Q

Feb 04, 2017

Very well organized, chock full of both theoretical content and details regarding application. Just the right amount of challenging! Would have been nice to have had more exercises that force you to use the information learned in actually choosing/not choosing studies, or writing about the literature systematically. Overall, highly recommend.

par ALISHA A

Jun 08, 2020

The teachers were very good, the slides were very crisp and understanding became easier. The course is a must for all researchers. I look forward to going through the slides and reference material again son, for revision and future use. Thank you again,. Much gratitude for the learning. Best wishes to everyone for a safe and healthy life.

par Eduards K

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course with valuable and useful tips to do an actual review. The content is a mix of very-basic review priciples which every medical student should know and more advancedMinor annoyance was that the audio recording was obviously from some on-site course and references to other assignments and courses have not been cut-out.

par Váncsa S

Dec 13, 2018

Systematic review and meta analysis course is a good start for clinicians, for orientation, for opinion, to form your idea. It is cheap, the only obstacle is the time you can spend on searching, reading than writing. You can and you have to work in a group, being more effective. I hope the next step will be network analysis course.

par Prashanthi C

Mar 29, 2020

I have always felt Systematic Review and meta-analysis to be such a complex topic to understand. this course has simplified it so well. Though i still need to put in a lot of effort to understand meta-analysis, I found this course to be highly useful. I will suggest others, whoever are interested, to take up this course. Thanks

par Aaron F

Apr 23, 2018

Great lectures with extremely knowledgeable professors. I really appreciated the structure of each lesson, and the flow of the course as a whole. It was quite helpful.

It was a wise move to include directions to in-depth reference materials, as finding the standards and guidelines for a technique can be daunting to newcomers.

par Mohammed O

Dec 08, 2017

The course was well structured and well presented.

I loved the idea that after sending my review of an article,

I had to review other participants thoughts about the article

This technique of teaching helped me to remember the different

factors important for systematic review / metaanalysis

Thank you very much for a job well done.

par Manuel R d J E

Jun 08, 2020

This is a great course to have an overall idea of how to construct a systematic review. I wish it had gone more deeply into how to perform the data search and the data abstraction, but this is an introductory course, it is supposed to be superficial. Highly recommended for beginners willing to perform a systematic review.

par Jyoti B G

Feb 09, 2018

I learnt the integral steps to write a systematic review and what is meta analysis and why it is needed.It is a beautifulcourse and I would love to do the second part of it if available where limitations of the prior course are covered in the second course.Thanks to all the reviewers and oourse co-ordinators.

par Faryal B

Oct 03, 2016

I would highly recommend this course. It was very informative and I hope Johns Hopkins will continue more in this series. Systematic reviews and meta analyses have become crucial for clinical research and evidence based medicine. This course allows users to gain basic knowledge about both. Great initiative.

par Pramod K M

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course. Request to change the orientation a little to general, rather than sticking too much to healthcare. However, was a great experience with Prof Li and Prof Dickersin. Thanks to both of them and of course "coursera" for making it possible to have it from a prestigious university like JHU.

par Giselle C M

Apr 28, 2020

This course added many aspects to my academic life. It was a great opportunity to reinforce concepts, answer questions and learn even more about systematic review and meta-analysis. I am grateful for giving us the opportunity to acquire knowledge, through excellent classes taught by brilliant teachers!

par Rohit

May 27, 2020

Very interesting deep learning course of basics of Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis, It provides the concepts of PICO, assessment of risk of bias, minimizing meta-bias, qualitative synthesis and interpreting results. Thank you for providing me the opportunity to learn from this course. thanks alot.