Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction To Swift Programming

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction To Swift Programming par Université de Toronto

3.9
étoiles
1,407 évaluations
383 avis

À propos du cours

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Meilleurs avis

SI

13 janv. 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

30 janv. 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 375 Avis pour Introduction To Swift Programming

par Christian L P S

8 déc. 2018

It looks good, but it's not updated. They are talking about swift 2 coming soon when the newest version is swift 4.2.

par Adilson M

25 avr. 2019

The course is not updated - the version of Xcode cannot be higher than 7.3.1, but this version is not compatible with latest macOS Mojave.

In my opinion this course should be updated or removed from the list of paid specialization.

par Phil P

28 mars 2019

The course uses Swift 2.x and Xcode 7.x. These are versions from 2016 and certain aspects of both Swift and Xcode have changed dramatically, to the point where one of the sample playgrounds just doesn't work with new versions. At the time of writing, it is 2019 and the gap is just too big for something that should be relatively easy to update.

par Salih D

17 févr. 2020

Swift 5 came out and this course is using Swift 2 which is too outdated. It requires older Xcode that require older MacOS versions. Why do I have to downgrade my Mac for a course?

The course content and final assesment is unrelated. I, as a mobile developer of 5 year, do not recommend this course at all. You may try to download official examples, which is way better to learn Swift and iOS programming.

par Vincenzo T

28 févr. 2019

Sadly very outdated. You can't install Xcode 7.3.1 on Mojave.

par Tanzim A

29 mai 2019

This course is seriously outdated. It runs on Xcode 7 and swift 2, while the swift 5 is here!

par Filip V

22 nov. 2018

Good course, but could really use updating to latest Swift version. Xcode 7.3.1 can't even be run on macOS Mojave, resulting in a lot of people submitting their assignment with newer version, which then can't be run in 7.3.1 making grading others impossible.

par Lokey C

23 avr. 2018

This course is not updated.

While Xcode now is already version 9 in 2018, it is still using Xcode 7.

While Swift is already 4 in 2018, it is still using Swift 2.

It is very sad that in the course material it keeps saying "we are aware Xcode is already version 8, please stick with Xcode 7 for now. Xcode 8 will break our code".

It is sadder to know the knowledge we learn in this course doesn't apply to modern technology.

One more thing, the course forum is poorly maintained. Many people are asking questions while no one is really answering.

par Prawal P

1 août 2021

this course teaches everything in swift 3. My macbook cannot install xcode 7 for swift 3 its wants the latest version even though I found xcode 7 online. Basically there is no point of taking this course wasted my 2 weeks

par Jose A S

25 mars 2020

The material is old, the version of Xcode now is 11.4 and this course ask for Xcode 7, which you can get it, but you won't be able to install in the most recent OS Mojave or Catalina

par Cato H J

27 juil. 2021

Requires Xcode 7.3.1 that does not work on updated MacOS. The course needs to be updated to remain usable.

par Iuldashev V

5 mars 2020

It doesn't work with modern versions of macOS

par Niels d L

1 juil. 2019

Outdated course ! Worthless

par Rob C

15 août 2021

o​ut of date

par Federico M

15 août 2021

outdated

par Manny C

13 oct. 2021

This course needs to be updated and they should tell you int he introduction what is needed, like a MacBook, and what OS to use, way to much time in trying to install old software for this course.

Horrible!!!!! Should be removed immediately!!!!!!

par Michael S

17 oct. 2021

This class is obsolete. The material has not been updated in upwards of 5 years. The code that you will need to build your assignments on top of will not run on the most recent versions of Swift, XCode, and MacOS.

par Orangel

4 oct. 2015

It seems the instructor Jack Wu didn't prepare the course material.

par ABDUL B A

5 juil. 2019

inactive faculties

par Sergei I

14 janv. 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

par Benoit C

19 févr. 2019

Great introduction. Nonetheless, removing the 5th star as it is based on a quite old version of Swift

par Marcel V

13 juil. 2021

D​ecided to not continue the course until they explicitly recommended that the course will be taught using Swift 2 (now we are in 5) and a deprecated XCode version. Do not want to spent my time learning a new thing that then, I should learn again.

par victor t y

20 janv. 2019

excellent course, you should update to swift 4 but excellent experience

par Mykhailo D

17 juin 2021

It's about Swift 2 which is extremely outdated and xCode 7.3.1 which does not work on macOS 10.15

Also a course more about generic programming rather then specifics of Swift programming language.

Do not recommend it.