Chevron Left
Retour à Le monde du quatuor à cordes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Le monde du quatuor à cordes par Institut Curtis de musique

4.7
étoiles
319 évaluations
82 avis

À propos du cours

Arnold Steinhardt, first violin of the internationally acclaimed Guarneri String Quartet, invites music listeners to the world of the string quartet repertoire and ensemble. Journey with him and interpretive analysis instructor Mia Chung through the history and features of quartet music, colored by stories of legendary quartets and insights from the stage. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson....

Meilleurs avis

BK

Oct 05, 2015

This course was incredibly interesting and greatly informative! I am an amateur violinist and loved the historical information about the composers and the demonstrations by the Aizuri Quartet.

TV

Nov 03, 2015

This is a great course. The professors are wonderful and they clearly have a tremendous love (which they pass on to their pupils) of the subject matter. Week six blew my mind.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 80 Avis pour Le monde du quatuor à cordes

par Ats A

Sep 14, 2015

To dig deeper into music theory, it helps to explore specific genres one-by-one. So to create a sort of spider's web of knowledge in one's mind to which any future knowledge can adhere to. This is my 3rd music course from coursera, and 2nd from Curtis. I very much recommend these. To learn in one's own pace helps to concentrate to subjects at times when the mind is ready and the mood level is good. This makes learning an enjoyable experience. I was no fan of String Quartets before, but I truly am now. The chamber music with it's roots in class system of societies has always troubled me with it's wigs and powders and halls with exclusive acoustics. But after completing this course I can see, that this is all just a facade and the "chamber" might as well be my backyard in a sunny afternoon. There are tunes which are very pleasant to hear even when counterpoint is not yet "your thing". Thank you for this wonderful experience.

par Montserrat-Ana M

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course with high quality levels of rigor and artistry from both professors. Its contents, with grace, thoroughly cover the history of Chamber Music in such an effective way so that the student becomes even more interested in pursuing the next topic and further exploring the World of Chamber Music.

Along its seven programs, the course manages to raise the students' enthusiasm for the composers historical context, their circle of closest friends, their complex times, their musical roots, their inherintance from the great masters. The student develops the skill of listening to the suggested pieces in order to discern the composer's techniques and to understand the story and the emotions that the composer and performers intend to communicate.

I am really enjoying this course and I highly recommend it. Wise performances by the Aizuri Quartet for this course, congratulations.

par Miguel A

Sep 07, 2019

Highly recommended for anyone interested in classical music. Arnold Steinhardt's enthusiasm and Mia Chung's clear explanations pair excellently. Both specific (compositional and performance-related) and general (historical and philosophical) matters are covered in a well-balanced way. And I appreciated the teaching style very much: rather than a teacher teaching at me, it felt like I learned through conversations with friends.

I only could not see the added value of the 'with strings attached' section. I would have preferred profound, provoking and philosophical questions (Is John Cage's 4'33'' music? Is tonality natural or taught? Why is the string quartet an established genre while the wind quartet isn't?) over these bits of trivia and references to pop culture. But that's just a detail!

par John H

Nov 19, 2016

As a late-starter/returner in a new quartet, I found this course excellent. The discussions and demonstrations brought the material to life. My only problems arose in trying to access the online resources which I could rarely get to work. Also, the "no-strings" questions were fun, but I could not submit any answers as the relevant link never appeared on my screen. I use an Apple iMac. I was of course tempted to return on occasion to aim for 5/5 in the quizzes, but did not. I think this aspect might be omitted, though I can see it might help avoid demotivating a disappointed student!

par Cooke H

Oct 30, 2015

Fantastic discussion and live examples of pieces. This course gave me a wonderful overview and context for understanding the development of the string quartet. What I found most fascinating was the pure objectivity in the lectures and the plethora of styles I was introduced to that previously I had not known (Webern, Smetana and Shostakovitch). Both Mr. Steinhardt and Ms Chung are excellent scholars. I highly recommend this course as it gives you a lifetime of specific quartets to get to know.

par Lauren L

Aug 15, 2015

This course was an absolute delight! Arnold, Mia, and the lovely and talented musicians made this course something I looked forward to every week and have even created a You Tube play list of the quartets studied in this class which I still listen to on a regular basis. I recommend this course to everyone who loves quartet music whether you are a musician or a dedicated lover of music. I guarantee you will thank me if you take my advice and sign up for The World of the String Quartet.

par Daniel J K

Nov 15, 2016

A magnificent course on a critical area of classical music. Because composers wrote in so many genres, it's easy for players to only know the pieces which pertain to them, and miss huge numbers of extremely important works by their most influential composers. This class is a great window into and area any non-string player can miss easily. The music and commentary is incredible and very well presented. A total must-see for serious music students.

par walter w

Nov 27, 2015

Thank you for this wonderful course. It provided an overview of the history of the string quartet. It exposed me to music I was not familiar with and helped me appreciate the genre. Because of this course, I have already bought CDs of the complete string quartets of Tchaickovsky and Schubert and plan to keep expanding my collection. I now take time every evening to listen to one work before I go to bed. It has added a new d

par Daniel H

Aug 29, 2017

Wonderful broad survey of some of the significant repertoire for string quartet, from its inception in the classical period all the way up to the present day and beyond. Arnold Steinhardt and Mia Chung speak intelligently and engagingly about their chosen topics, and their areas of knowledge complement each other extremely well. Highly recommended for anyone looking to learn more about the genre of the string quartet!

par Janine M

Nov 20, 2016

Thank you so much. I would heartily recommend the course to anyone with even a remote interest in classical music, whether they play an instrument or listen for pleasure and certainly defy anyone not to come away delighted and enlightened. This has been a very special experience and being able to return to the course videos and musical materials is a real boon.

par Kirill B

Mar 11, 2016

I'm not a professional musician, but I really enjoyed learning more about Quartet music from this course. The teachers Albert and Mia reveals course not too fast not too slow, but at great rate that it gets absorbed nicely in the head. Also they definitely know what they are talking about. Also Aizuri Quartet is astounding. Love it

par Eamonn P

Dec 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and recommend it highly. Pacing through pieces I had earlier glanced over or resisted was especially worthwhile in revealing further treasures and I really appreciate the performers' discussions. That this particular medium evokes such a powerful response is wondrous.

par Jasson M

Mar 15, 2017

This course has been very interesting for me. Has given me tools for a better understanding of chamber music and appreciate various stages of the history of composers and the works we have reviewed. I enjoy it a lot and I continue to check several details in the listening list. thank you very much.

par KG G

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent & inspiring course. Very well organized.

This course has motivated me to go to more chamber music concerts including the Beethoven Complete String Quartet series at UC Berkeley in 2017 (Takacs Quartet), which was an amazing experience!

Thank you for this course.

par Jill M

Dec 06, 2016

Outstanding course. The presenters were expert in their fields, the material and presentations were engaging and varied. This was a remarkable journey of listening, learning, exploration and discovery from the very beginnings of the genre right up until now.

par Timothy C

Aug 15, 2015

Truly a rewarding and eye opening course. If one is looking for a low-level work, yet comprehensive exploration of the medium of the String Quartet, this is the course to take. Both instructors are beyond par of excellence as well as entertaining.

par Mike S

Aug 28, 2015

Very informative and interesting in-depth overview of the genre. The additional course resources (videos and recordings) are worth signing up by themselves. Highly recommend for anyone who's just getting into classical music.

par Bernice K

Oct 05, 2015

This course was incredibly interesting and greatly informative! I am an amateur violinist and loved the historical information about the composers and the demonstrations by the Aizuri Quartet.

par Sebastián E L C

Jun 14, 2017

Es un curso muy completo para personas sin conocimiento musical, y un buen inicio para los músicos (intérpretes y compositores) que desean internarse en el mundo de los cuartetos de cuerda.

par Yves P

Sep 14, 2017

This course strengthens me in the idea that well-practiced Music opens genuine communication networks - interaction between humans, feelings... - that tend to disappear nowaday.

par Thomas H V

Nov 03, 2015

This is a great course. The professors are wonderful and they clearly have a tremendous love (which they pass on to their pupils) of the subject matter. Week six blew my mind.

par Lucas H

Sep 11, 2017

Interesting background stories about composers and clear musical examples! Really nice to see how these personal stories have been composed into the string quarets. Well done!

par Jim R

Nov 28, 2015

Extremely interesting and informative course. Listening to a string quartet discuss and then demonstrate their playing was particularly enjoyable.

par Belen

Sep 14, 2015

I can't stop watching the lessons. Lovely demonstrations with a real quartet. So organized, the actual teachers respond to our questions.

par wang p

Jan 07, 2016

好,非常好!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

柯蒂斯 感觉比 伯克利 好多了~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

赞美!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

在上贝多芬和弦乐四重奏。

可否做一些关于bach的 十二平均率? 这一块的视频教学资料好少呀。

谢谢!