Chevron Left
Retour à Stories of Infection

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Stories of Infection par Université de Stanford

4.9
étoiles
1,358 évaluations
361 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces learners to a variety of infectious diseases using a patient-centered, story-based approach. Through illustrated, short videos, learners will follow the course of each patient’s illness, from initial presentation to resolution. Integrating the relevant microbiology, pathophysiology and immunology, this course aims to engage and entice the learner towards future studies in microbiology, immunology and infectious diseases. The patient-centered videos included in this course were created as part of the Re-imagining Medical Education initiative, led by Charles Prober MD, Senior Associate Dean of Medical Education at the Stanford School of Medicine. This initiative was the first of its kind to explore the collaborative creation of foundational medical education online content by inter-institutional teams of faculty. The content presented in this course was created by faculty from Stanford University School of Medicine, in collaboration with The University of Washington School of Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine, and The University of Michigan Medical School. Support for this initiative was provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Burke Family Foundation. PLEASE NOTE: Information provided in this course is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be used for diagnostic and/or treatment purposes....

Meilleurs avis

SS
5 avr. 2020

Case study based courses are better than simple theoretical as it included complete clinical analysis, for a pharmacist it had lots of new information, so highly appreciated for including this course.

AV
11 avr. 2019

Great course even for non-professionals. Helped understand unknown reason health conditions when doctors struggled to make a diagnosis or even find any particular reason for current health conditions.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 363 Avis pour Stories of Infection

par Camila F R C

30 juil. 2018

Excelente curso, bastante completo, entrega datos específicos de cada patología presentada que son imprescindibles para su diagnóstico, por lo demás es un curso muy didáctico relatando las historias de infecciones reales y sobre todo el uso de TICS es lo que más destaca, así como también por supuesto la claridad de la instructora.

par Andrejs V

12 avr. 2019

Great course even for non-professionals. Helped understand unknown reason health conditions when doctors struggled to make a diagnosis or even find any particular reason for current health conditions.

par Jonathan G

13 déc. 2017

Very informative course! I didn't know Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever existed until I took this course. Although it would make more sense if more diseases were covered like scarlet fever, asthma etc.

par ASMA V

18 janv. 2018

THE COURSE WAS V. INFORMATIVE.

IT PROVIDED AN INSIGHT INTO MANY INFECTIVE DISEASES.

WELL PRESENTED WITH SUPERB GRAPHICS

par Sergey S

14 févr. 2018

A good course of basic knowledge on infectious diseases.

par Faisal M S K

27 mai 2017

free certificate should be given to top performer

par Nicole L A

19 avr. 2020

This course contained a large amount of information on infectious diseases. I was a microbiology major in college, so much of this was familiar to me, yet I still learned a lot of new things, especially in the areas of virology and immunology. I think this would be a good class for someone considering medical school because it provides real life examples relating to the challenges in diagnosis. That said, I think the quizzes could have been a little harder. If they had been harder, I probably would have retained more knowledge. For example, I think that each section's quiz should have included at least 4 or 5 questions instead of just three. Nonetheless, this was still a very informative and worthwhile course.

par Lina C

26 mars 2018

Very interesting course with classical cases of infection. Only minus are the very short quizzes which could be more developed excercises to improve/deepen the learning.

par Rofa b

7 avr. 2018

Very good material with easy way of teaching ,thanks alot

But I hope the quizes were a little difficult to distinguishe between students

par Noelle K

11 juil. 2020

This course truly enabled me to expand my knowledge on infectious diseases, bacteria, and medicine as a whole. As a sophomore in high school, I have only taken preliminary biology at school, and next year I will be taking Biology and conducting my own research at the STEM magnet school that I attend. I feel that this course helped me prepare for the research that I will be conducting next year and broadened my knowledge and understanding of bacteria, infectious diseases, and medicine.

par Yasmin K

9 janv. 2021

I really liked this course! The audio quality was good, the tempo of the speaker perfect. I loved the illustrations. They made it easier to follow the content. I also really liked the fact that all the infections were explained on patient examples. This made it more interesting and easier to understand and remember. The different patient outcomes (e.g. positive and negative outcomes) made the examples realistic. I also liked that the patients had different ethnicities.

par JORGE A F D

18 juil. 2021

It was a very well organized, prepared course, where I was able to learn by a different method: studying by cases. This makes learning process more achievable and efective. Beside, the way it´s displayed makes easier to remember basic concepts and thus, understand more and more as you´re moving through the topic. The only thing I missed was to have bigger images so one is able to see better what is beeing explained.

par Mary E R

6 sept. 2021

I​ am 76 years old. I entered Stanford in 1963 as a pre-med student, but I quickly changed to majoring in English because 1) my advisor was never available 2) there was tremendous harassment of women (it was before Title IX and 3) my father expect me to get an MRS, not an MD or other "male" degree so I got no support from home. This course has been mental candy for me. Thank you very much!

par Mona A a

19 mai 2020

I really loved this course. It was a turning point for me in understanding microbiology and enriching my knowledge. Case based learning is really different and useful in establishing information.

But I have a problem getting the course certificate. There is a problem in payment process and i hope i get help to solve this problem.

par Muhammad H S

8 sept. 2020

I’m a student from the University of Punjab and wanted to learn about infection. Now I have completed the course, I can say it's a great course. This course will let me know about infection causes, its symptoms and treatment more effectively. It explains infection in the form of stories that help students grasp the main concept.

par Rebecca I B

17 nov. 2020

Very educational and understandable for a non science major. I am immunocompromised with Aspergillosis and asthma and taking classes such as this one to better understand my own body and be able to communicate with my doctor and read my test results. I will take more Stanford courses if available. Thank you educators.

par Nastaran R

1 mai 2021

It was a great course for someone who has always had difficulties to concentrate in classes, like me. Interesting videos combining a consisted storyline and a wonderful narrating, make this course easy to understand and enjoyable. Just wish it had more challenging quizzes and an advanced course for future.

par mariana m a

24 juin 2021

​Iam so proud to take this coure Iam chemist and the course provide me more medical information and awareness about infection really I need stories of infection part 2 ,lecturer is amazing in explaining the material ,material is soo easy to understood I recommend this interesting course

par Rita B d

26 févr. 2019

This course gave me a very good rehearesal of some infectious diseases on a very enjoyable way. I would like to do more courses like that on infectious diseases, on vaccination, or on immunological backgrond in the future. Congratulations! All the presentations were excellent!

par letao l

10 déc. 2017

A really good course that give us descriptions of common infectious disease, the lecturer shows us both the molecular mechanism and the clinical symptoms of the infections. What is more, the combination of microbiology and immunology help us to understand infectious disease better.

par Parwa K

24 févr. 2018

during my years studying in a dental school i have had classes about pathology and microbiology but none of them have nurtured me and my information about many different types of infection, these stories have been told in a very interesting and easy to learn and remember way...

par Mostafa E

28 août 2017

very innovative way to explain diseases really I was amazed by this way of teaching. it would be really amazing if it was widely applied in medical schools it is more fun and interacting as well as informative. it really changed my way of thinking about the topic. thanks alot

par Gloria C W

15 janv. 2020

Excellent course due to its spectacular templated framework. this allowed the viewer to comprehend each scenario with the same approach for each situation. Thank you for your hard work and the opportunity to take this course which will assist with my epidemiology analysis.

par Pat T

4 août 2017

Pearl: How important is it to get diagnosis (and even differential diagnosis) spot on ? Answer: It's life or death sometimes. A great review course. The format of having it patient centered keeps you involved and thinking. In the words of Oliver Twist, "More, please?".

par Lillian L

2 nov. 2017

This course was very helpful in teaching me about many diseases. I learned a lot about diseases caught by direct contact, fungus, insects, and many other things. The way in which this course was taught was engaging and interesting. Thank you for this great course.