Chevron Left
Retour à Inférence statistique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Inférence statistique par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.2
étoiles
4,341 évaluations
878 avis

À propos du cours

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Meilleurs avis

JA

25 oct. 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

MI

24 sept. 2020

the teachers were awesome in this course. I liked this course a lot.Understood it properly.Thanks to all the beloved teachers and mentors who toiled hard to make these course easy to handle.Gracious!

Filtrer par :

576 - 600 sur 846 Avis pour Inférence statistique

par Hung R H

16 mai 2017

good review of statistical concepts

par Vivek R

15 févr. 2016

We need more examples on datasets.

par Min H S

29 mars 2016

a little bit fast but quite help

par Tint 姜

9 mai 2016

课程设计简洁明了,是很好的数理统计入门课程,文科生跟上无压力

par Sravani G

2 sept. 2020

Very Good informative course

par Prasanna

13 déc. 2016

Difficult one. But made it.

par Yiyang Z

11 août 2019

A lot of materials covered

par Alzum S M

6 déc. 2018

It was exciting journey

par Abhishek G

17 févr. 2016

An intense discourse on

par hari p

10 juil. 2017

good course curriculam

par Marildo G F

8 juil. 2017

Excellent course

par Jeff H

14 sept. 2017

tougher content

par Mehul P

20 sept. 2017

Nice course !!

par Samiksha R K

21 juin 2021

GREAT COURSE

par André L F C

21 févr. 2021

great course

par Anup K M

20 oct. 2018

good content

par Craig S

4 déc. 2017

Good content

par Mohammad M

12 avr. 2021

interesting

par Sravan K

28 mai 2017

good course

par Rohit K S

21 sept. 2020

Good one!!

par Johnnery A

31 déc. 2019

Excellent!

par Tim B

26 mars 2017

great

par karan

24 févr. 2016

Nice.

par Reinhard S

19 mai 2017

ok

par Jared P

10 avr. 2017

I'm in the data science specialization. Statistical Inference was my 6th course. All of them have been on a spectrum of good to great. But Statistical Inference is a mixed bag for me.

First, if you are thinking about this course, take some time reading the other reviews. I find many of them resonate with my experience leading to 1/5 stars.

One reviewer who gave 5/5 stars said they loved the course. They suggested that other reviewers who gave low ratings are ones that dropped out. I don't find this to be the case. Many of the low rating reviewers actually did pass the course and said very similar things as those who did not pass the course.

Another reviewer enjoyed Brian's dry humour. I must have missed the jokes after watching each video 5 times...

For the record, I almost aced this course. The reason for not getting 100% was because I was so annoyed with one of the quizes that I didn't bother taking it again to correct it. I decided living with 8/10 correct questions was better than having a stroke while in the pursuit of two extra points. Yes, that is how much I hated this course.

The first 2 weeks of the course were the worst. I dropped out for about a month (because of life priorities). Then I couldn't get motivated. 1 month turned into 2 months, then into 3 months. I basically took the entire summer off. Finally I bit the bullet and completed the final 2 weeks. The 3rd week of the course wasn't actually all that bad (though the quiz was terrible). The 4th week felt like the first 2 weeks...terrible.

(By the way, it's a mistake to take such a long break. I had to re-watch the first videos to recall things for the remaining quizzes).

If you don't have some sort of statistical knowledge (or inherent aptitude), be prepared to work four times longer on the course. For all your quiz and assignment time-to-completion estimates, multiply them by 4 or more. Seriously, I spent probably 10 hours on the final assignment which said it should only take 2 hours. Each quiz took me an entire Sunday afternoon (My partner was not pleased).

Now here is where things get awkward. I hated the course .... BUT....I learned things that actually stuck. So in THAT regard, I give this course extra stars. It accomplished something that some University courses could not. I even found myself USING the new knowledge in real world problems. So ironically, is that not a sign that it's ...dare I say...a GOOD course?

Would I take the course again? I actually might, but ONLY because of its place in the overall certification. If you are a prospective student wondering if you should take the course as a standalone course, I don't think I could recommend it, because there are far better ways to learn. In fact, just doing the Swirl lessons could be good enough.

If you are a prospective student and you want the certification, then you'll HAVE to take the course. Why are you even bothering to read reviews?

So I'm giving the course 3/5 stars. If I gave it 1 or 2 stars, my review would be clustered with the majority. If I gave it 4 or 5 stars, I'd be lying.