Chevron Left
Retour à SQL for Data Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour SQL for Data Science par Université de Californie à Davis

4.6
étoiles
14,379 évaluations

À propos du cours

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Meilleurs avis

JG

22 août 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

5 avr. 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filtrer par :

2951 - 2975 sur 3,782 Avis pour SQL for Data Science

par Nicolas B

8 juil. 2019

Everything was fine and easy to follow. Unfortunately the final exam question's were not really clear and easy to unterstand, so this makes it 4/5.

par Ah’mear W

18 août 2022

A great course! You may need to do some outside work to fully grasp certain concepts but this prepared me for my job where im also learning sql.

par Xinyuan G

2 oct. 2021

Overall it is really helpful, especially for the beginner. But I wish there can be more practical guidlines on how to use the SQL in our computer!

par Victoria L

25 avr. 2021

Buen curso en general, faltaría clases explicando como instalar sql, ejercicios prácticos que sean realizados en el momento. Igualmente recomiendo

par Vlastislav D

24 avr. 2020

Perfectly prepared. Some tasks in the assignment were boring and tedious (listing number of rows for all tables; getting the non-null attributes).

par Goose0x

27 avr. 2021

Excellent introduction into SQL. The assignments and final peer-review project were great tools to problem solve and practice the skills taught.

par Animish A

26 avr. 2021

I loved the way Sadie delivered important points without taking too much time. She gave just the right amount to details required to get started

par Jerónimo P

18 mars 2020

El curso fue muy bueno, muy claro. Aún así me parece que estaría bueno agregar más ejemplo en los videos, principalmente para las semanas 3 y 4.

par Alejandro S

9 mars 2020

A good introduction to SQL with interactive videos. Maybe I will improve the playground a bit so we can practice more queries along the process.

par Codrin K

17 sept. 2018

Goor refresher or basic start. Personally I found the use of http://www.sqlitetutorial.net very hepful for this course, more so than the slides.

par MRINAL H

24 mars 2022

Great course for beginners. Content is for beginners but the end assesment in tough, even for people with previous experience.

Loved the course

par 李祐齊

14 févr. 2022

Excellent course for basic SQL knowledge. However, the tests and final assignment are not that easy as taught in the lessons. Highly recommend!

par Philipp L

18 janv. 2018

The questions in the final assignment were quite difficult to understand and the overall course took longer than the estimated amount of hours.

par BSR N K

16 mai 2020

Great course for SQL beginners. The course takes us through all the basic syntax, thus helping us develop the ability to query large datasets.

par Franco S

11 janv. 2022

It is an extraordinary introductory course to the SQL language, i recommend it for all people who are looking for SQL applied to Data Science

par Sanchit M

3 mai 2020

The course should have also provided an opportunity of code along with the videos. And output of all the the codes in the video is not shown.

par Mamta G

11 janv. 2019

The course was a great introduction to SQL and the peer reviewing process is a great initiative. The course was well paced and well designed.

par Cristian C L Á

10 août 2021

If you are a beginner in SQL topics, take this course. But if you already have the basics, you should look for other more advanced projects.

par Alberto M

15 oct. 2018

Worth doing. Perhaps i missed more elaborate query examples and devote more time to the creation and reading of other (external) databases.

par Jasch A

22 avr. 2019

I think videos should have more information, as some questions are such that finding answers is not straight forward.

But very good course!

par Ori O

22 avr. 2020

The final assignment, at certain parts is not very clear maybe it's time to update it based on review and repeated question from the forum

par Mai T T

8 mai 2019

Bon cours dans l'ensemble. Bonne structure et plutôt pédagogique, mais le test final est un peu compliqué par rapport au matériel couvert.

par Brian C

20 mars 2019

Overall good, the questions in the assessment were confusing at some points. I would look at editing those to be more specific to the ask.

par Miguel A M P

27 juil. 2021

The peer review performed by other students is careless. All the activities must be automatically evaluated or reviewed by an instructor.

par Kasper H B

25 janv. 2021

Overall a great course, however the dataset provided for the final Peer-graded assignment was incomplete which cause me some frustration.