Chevron Left
Retour à SQL for Data Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour SQL for Data Science par Université de Californie à Davis

4.6
étoiles
13,074 évaluations

À propos du cours

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Meilleurs avis

JG

22 août 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

5 avr. 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filtrer par :

3226 - 3250 sur 3,470 Avis pour SQL for Data Science

par Allen P

27 mai 2021

I learned some basics about SQL and enjoyed it, but I think there wasn't enough practical instruction about how the code is used. It made it hard for me to figure out how to get the data I was asked for in the assessments.

par Eleanor T

21 mars 2022

T​his course gave a really strong overview but some of the questions in the assignments were ambiguous/needed clarification. From the discussion boards this has been the case for quite a few years without being addressed!

par Giulia T

14 févr. 2020

The course vidoes were really nice.

The wording of the exercises is frequently confusing, especially in the peer-reviewed assignment. Many question cannot be answered with the tools provided (i.e. inference, correlation).

par Ganesh K

2 janv. 2022

THERE IS BUG IN YOUR PEER ASSIGNMENT SUBMISSION THAT THERE IS NO "SHARE LINK" OPTION GIVEN AND IN YOU HAVENT MENTIONED ANY WAY TO DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. IT IS REALLY FRUSTATING AND THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE RESOLVED.

par Sung J P

1 déc. 2021

Course materials are good, but wish they provide the actual SQL code in answers to quizzes and assignments. Simply providing whether my answer is correct or not is not enough for me to know what I did wrong.

par Vinayak D

27 avr. 2020

course was really good and understandable for some beginner like me but at same time I think that more coding exercises were required

ONCE AGAIN THANK YOU FOR IGNITING THE INTEREST TOWARDS DATA ANALYSIS IN ME

par joe b

4 mars 2021

The general structure and idea of the course was good; however, there were many times when the script/questions were worded badly and this was sometimes an issue when it came to understanding the content.

par Vitalii

20 mai 2019

No practice examples at all. Videos have only theorethical queries without results, so you can`t see how it works on practice. Reference to SteckOverFlow is awesome. Why should I pay money for nothing?

par Bohan P

13 juin 2022

Final assignment was confusing. Often what you do in the quizes aren't taught in the course material. Would be better if the course videos had more examples of outputs rather than mostly being theory.

par Burhanuddin S

16 avr. 2020

Would definitely need to watch Youtube videos to understand the course fully.

Good assignments but the videos are not that great and too much time wasted in learning objectives. Too less examples given

par D H

1 mai 2019

Good program for beginners. Peer review assignment needs to be updated. The assignment is not graded by instructor. Certification means nothing because anyone who pays money will eventually get it.

par Nathan B

20 févr. 2022

There's a significant amount of hand-holding right up until the final exam which then requires a superior cognitive leap to overcome the far-beyond-beginner questions and reasoning. Caveat Emptor!

par Huong D D N

8 août 2021

Overall, it's a great course to be introduced to SQL without any background knowledge. However, lectures in Week 3 is hard to understand, which I need to seek for other sources to learn on my own.

par Pratyush A

21 août 2020

The course gives us the basics of SQL only wrt Data Science. It does not tell us much about SQL. Would have liked if more information was given on SQL and how that works. All in all, good course.

par Weiyang T

25 juil. 2018

Certain quiz questions were unclear. Final peer-review assignment had unclear/ambiguous questions that didn't fit with the data in my opinion. But content is useful. Delivery could be improved.

par Ibrahim N

3 avr. 2021

The course is very well planned with all the basics required to run a query in SQLite. But on the other hand, when it came to the last modules the class just takes off with very few examples.

par Yi W

10 déc. 2018

Strongly suggest adding more example code and its running result which will make more sense for beginner. And more exercise problems as current Quiz do not cover all the points in the lecture.

par Ankit M S

17 avr. 2020

There should have been more worked examples of queries as it would be hard for a fresher to fully understand it. Btw the Yelp Database lookup page was very helpful to play with the dataset.

par Aatish R

16 mai 2021

The curse structure was well-drafted. However, the lack of interaction with the moderators was disheartening. The reading material linked is dated and the course needs an overall update.

par Puskar B

19 janv. 2021

Too lengthy unnecessary explanations in the beginning and the end of every video lecture. There is no platform to execute during the lecture what the instructor is showing in the video.

par Benjamin A

5 juin 2020

The quizzes will expand your knowledge more. writing and running codes during lecture videos could have made it more easier to understand though, this is what is missing to get a 5 star

par Michelle P

29 janv. 2019

You learn the basics of SQL but the course is a bit slow and repetitive, and the last peer-graded assignment should be graded by a computer or the TA's, not just random participants.

par Kelly M

9 oct. 2021

Lectures provide limited information and then quizzes jump in difficulty from what is learned in videos. More practice worksheets or examples would be useful for new sql beginners.

par Marcel K

1 mai 2018

Great Course to start with.

Gives a good understanding of SQL on one side en working with databases on the other.

A syllabus of al the code examples in the video's should behelpfull

par Meredith H O

19 avr. 2021

Final assignment has many questions that are unclear. Difficult to find answers in discussion forums, forums are poorly moderated, most questions have no useful answers.