Chevron Left
Retour à SQL for Data Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour SQL for Data Science par Université de Californie à Davis

4.6
étoiles
13,056 évaluations

À propos du cours

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Meilleurs avis

JG

22 août 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

5 avr. 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filtrer par :

3201 - 3225 sur 3,462 Avis pour SQL for Data Science

par Md A A

18 janv. 2021

The quizzes are lot more demanding than what we're taught. Good for someone who knows the basics of sql or other coding language (python or R) and wants to go over them. Too difficult for one who has no experience in any coding language and wants to learn here first.

par Daenara

28 mai 2018

I give it three stars because I did learn a few things.

I think my only recommendation is to add some more practise coding before the quiz available . For example, after we finish a video, have a practise code since coding is learnt by doing more often than anything.

par Zacharie L

4 mai 2018

This course is great at getting you started in SQL. The complexity of the assignments however exceed the practice questions available. Further there are not enough practice questions to become fluent in using the concepts described. Feedback: more practice questions.

par Adrien B

22 févr. 2022

What would really put this course over the top would be "side-by-side" practice of the material being taught. It's difficult to go through several videos in a row and then to take a quiz at the end, having forgotten what you learned in the first half+ of the videos.

par Sarah S

9 juin 2021

T​his was a good course, but as with other Coursera courses there is not enough practice of the material. The assignments are easy to do if you already know the subject being taught and very, very difficult if you are just relying on material taught in the course.

par Nazmus S S

6 nov. 2019

I think this course does not provide opportunity to learn sql practically. It only gives the theory of sql language, which I think is not sufficient to get the whole idea. Another thing, the quiz and questions are way too harder compared to the lectures provided.

par Martina M

4 mai 2020

I think some parts are not explained well and lack of examples, furthermore complicated topic are treated fast and easy topic are treated in a deeper way. I found myself in difficulties and there isn't a way to ask a mentor more infos about the topic.

par Andrii Y

9 nov. 2020

This course can give you knowledge of basics of sql queries (at least I got), but there not enough examples of how they work and practice, not enough ability to write queries on your own, sometimes not very clear explanation or mistakes in examples.

par Brooke H

26 juin 2022

This course was comprehensive however, it would have been more beneficial for the student to practice writing queries during and after each introduced topic. The first time students write a query is the very end of week one after watching videos.

par Charla S

24 nov. 2017

This is a basic SQL course. I'm not sure why it is called "SQL for Data Science" other than that is a catchy title. I took this course to refresh my SQL skills. It did give me an idea of where I am weak, but I don't feel I achieved my objective.

par Carlos E P M

18 avr. 2018

El curso fue muy básico.

En mi opinión hubiera sido mejor si los contenidos de las semanas 3 y 4 fueran más prácticos.

Las preguntas del examen final tenían una redacción muy pobre y ambigua, y no había mentores encargados de solucionar dudas.

par PETWE G G

30 mars 2020

After the 2nd week, the instructor just introduces new concepts and does not explain the working of the algorithm. Also, more or less the video length should increase and more examples should be discussed.

Overall the course is great !!!!

par It's a c

29 sept. 2021

The biggest issue is the lack of practice . They try to stack on lot of things and ask a quiz at end of a week which is the only mean of practice. Coding doesn't word that way atleast could have given some practice after every lesson.

par David T

7 janv. 2018

Quizzes and assignments require a lot of knowledge not actually covered in the course forcing you to search for information elsewhere.

Questions are not clear in many tests creating incorrect answers which are not of the learners fault.

par Ben W

14 août 2021

T​he course teaches good information but many of the quizzes involve information that was barely (or not at all) covered in the lessons. It would help if they fixed this or were at least more active in the forums to answer questions.

par Javier V

28 janv. 2022

The course is not bad but, and this is a big but at least for me, they do not provide DBMS to practice with and no practicing material. Also, some of the links provided to get more info about different topics is way outdated.

par Sachidanand P

28 janv. 2022

The quizzes and readings were helpful. The lectures were helpful for some problems and for some they were just too long without containing multiple examples. The peer review assignment was the hardest out of the whole course.

par Monica W

2 mai 2018

This course is okay but I feel like they need more practice queries not just a test and you never got to try it before also the questions need to be better explained. Other than that I feel like I did learn the basics of SQL

par Allen P

27 mai 2021

I learned some basics about SQL and enjoyed it, but I think there wasn't enough practical instruction about how the code is used. It made it hard for me to figure out how to get the data I was asked for in the assessments.

par Eleanor T

21 mars 2022

T​his course gave a really strong overview but some of the questions in the assignments were ambiguous/needed clarification. From the discussion boards this has been the case for quite a few years without being addressed!

par Giulia T

14 févr. 2020

The course vidoes were really nice.

The wording of the exercises is frequently confusing, especially in the peer-reviewed assignment. Many question cannot be answered with the tools provided (i.e. inference, correlation).

par Ganesh K

2 janv. 2022

THERE IS BUG IN YOUR PEER ASSIGNMENT SUBMISSION THAT THERE IS NO "SHARE LINK" OPTION GIVEN AND IN YOU HAVENT MENTIONED ANY WAY TO DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. IT IS REALLY FRUSTATING AND THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE RESOLVED.

par Sung J P

1 déc. 2021

Course materials are good, but wish they provide the actual SQL code in answers to quizzes and assignments. Simply providing whether my answer is correct or not is not enough for me to know what I did wrong.

par Vinayak D

27 avr. 2020

course was really good and understandable for some beginner like me but at same time I think that more coding exercises were required

ONCE AGAIN THANK YOU FOR IGNITING THE INTEREST TOWARDS DATA ANALYSIS IN ME

par joe b

4 mars 2021

The general structure and idea of the course was good; however, there were many times when the script/questions were worded badly and this was sometimes an issue when it came to understanding the content.