Chevron Left
Retour à Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python par Réseau de compétences IBM

4.6
étoiles
15,646 évaluations

À propos du cours

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Meilleurs avis

BS

20 mai 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

19 août 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filtrer par :

1776 - 1800 sur 2,041 Avis pour Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

par Abe M

19 oct. 2021

Great content wise. They find a way to teach you something new that you may not come across on other SQL courses. However, I am giving it a 3 only because connecting to a database is pain in the butt. After applying all the tips by staff, and other peers from the discussion forum, I was still out of luck. Only deleting the old Db2 service and making a new Db2 helped me.

par Utkarsh R

10 avr. 2020

Though the course content is good and covers the essential portion of SQL and also lets you try your skills on real-world data, the course video feels outdated and monotonous and makes it less interesting to watch. In Majority of videos, the instructor shows screenshots of code and its output instead of running which feels utterly passive.

par Michael M

24 avr. 2022

The online tools are a bit cumbersome - which wasts time - compared to other Coursera courses I've taken. For example, the University of Michigan Python courses use a much more user friendly online tool, a Runestone interactive textbook, which is a much more accessible and easier to use online tool that allows for more learning time.

par Xiangyu T

14 mai 2022

The overall content in teaching is good. However, the infrastructure is poor. Most of the time wasted on building up the connection between ibm-db2 and the jupyter notebook. The failed in connection repeatedly came up for several months. I finally finish the assignment with sqlite. Totally lost the confidence with the db2.

par Ioannis D

13 avr. 2020

All in all an ok introduction to SQL, have found other courses much more insightful and easy to follow. Course felt too fast at some points for someone without a Computer Science background. Too much attention on how to do things on the various IBM tools and writting SQL using Python rather than learning SQL itself.

par Anastasia D

13 avr. 2021

The course itself was really cool. But the dataset of chicago public schools is bad (I had to change the name of all columns from lower to uppercase, and the leaders icon is all "weak" so db2 considers it as 4chars long, which is false, so I encoutered a lot of errors that i shouldn't have during this course

par yassery k

15 avr. 2020

overall good course but my issue is that there are no notes provided to review just the videos and the labs, notes would've been a great addition to this course..also there is an issue of incorrect grade given in the peer reviewed assignment, i hope this gets rectified because it ruins the fun in learning.

par Aayush M

11 juil. 2019

Lecture slides are required. Please note that so much being taught in a small video may slip out of mind and to quickly go through so many syntax would have been possible only if lecture slides would have been provided.

It is not possible to look back into videos again if i want to confirm some syntax.

par Valerio M

18 avr. 2021

The material is fair but Week 6 should be reviewed. However, it took much more time than needed just because too many technical problems with Watson. The cloud service wasn't reliable and some packages were incompatible so many students had to find workarounds. The staff wasn't very present.

par Rhett J

26 sept. 2019

The information in the class is outstanding, the problem is IBM Jupyter Notebooks' kernels fail within 10 minutes, and must be reloaded constantly. The final exam requires 10 answers via Jupyter notebook trial and error, and it took me nearly 3 days of constant refreshing to get this done.

par Kendall G

31 oct. 2018

This course is not a complete overview of SQL by any means. You will only learn the most basic functions. The value here however is that the course guides you on how to write SQL queries in Python. To round out your SQL skills, you will need to take a more in depth beginner course.

par Viatcheslav L

9 sept. 2020

The course content is very good. The so-called teacher-student "communication" is dreadful! I would never imagine that paying money for the course, I would be so explicitly ignored by the teaching staff for weeks! I even passed the deadlines due to multiple tech problems.

par Marcio F

31 mars 2022

I felt a bit let down with the final assignment. Frankly, I was expecting a, way more Python proned task but instead the assignment was incredibly simple, pretty much what I would do in any RDBM. No Pandas, no MatPlotLib, no ScyPy whatsoever.

Overall the course is okay.

par Ozge I

1 févr. 2019

Some quizzes include questions about materials not yet introduced. The material could be much more interesting with more interesting and interactive examples. Hands-on Labs should include new materials rather than letting the students rewrite given queries in sql.

par Arnold H

23 déc. 2019

Some of the instructions in the course are not as clear as those provided by other Coursera's courses. There are some sections with outdated screenshots and typos. This disrupts the learning process and requires extra time to guess and sort out the materials.

par Nathan P

10 oct. 2019

Decent course. The SQL code is somewhat different and you need to practice it a lot. I do not think you get enough practice to really know SQL just from this course. There is only a few labs and even in there you only actually type a little bit of SQL

par Manoranjini

17 mai 2020

Less / inactive response on Discussion forums. Lots of issues that has been reported over months but not fixed. Course content is good. But Week 3 assignments, which was important for me, took ages to finish owing to error on practice environments

par KORNKAMON P

25 juil. 2021

If you want to learn with SQL. This is the best course. It has Lab for query lang testing. But week 4 make me confuse because it taught about database with Python and i have no knowledge about it. So i listen with confuse and do not understand it.

par ming y

18 juin 2021

Not very well-organized, it would be better to include the variable information of each dataset in the description section of each hands-on project. Also, my DB2 has bugs and won't display query results, and it is extremely slow and unstable.

par Rebecca M

8 nov. 2019

a few issues on the assignment which lead to a couple of extensions in the deadline, adding a month extra to pay for, Not all the screen shots were the same in the demos as the interfaces have changed slightly. apart from that a good course

par Katrina P

2 juil. 2020

The videos were very very hard to follow. The voice over that has been used for the videos is very hard to follow, but once I made my own notes and read the content from my notes, the content itself was contained a lot and was very useful.

par Patrice J E

17 avr. 2020

Great course content and pace however the downfall was the IBM Developer Skills Network Labs and the IBM Db2 on cloud..Both these systems were extremely glitchy even during my Final Assessment and support in the Discussion forum was slow

par rk s

10 févr. 2022

1)Many typos in lecture material please fix them.

2) the final exam was too hard, and the practice problems did not prepare us well for this. I strongly reccomend including more problems or more difficult problems during quiz session.

par Khoo B Y

12 déc. 2021

the instruction in week 4 & 5 lab material can be clearer, as well as setting up a stable connection to the database. i spent a lot of time trying to set up the connection, because it keeps failing even though i used the same code.

par Kristen P

14 oct. 2019

In the intro to data science specialization, this course is a relatively steep step up from the previous one 'Data science methodology.' Perhaps obtaining some basic understanding of Python prior to taking this course would help