Chevron Left
Retour à Sport et société

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Sport et société par Université Duke

4.8
étoiles
1,019 évaluations
275 avis

À propos du cours

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Meilleurs avis

MM
11 nov. 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK
6 janv. 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 274 Avis pour Sport et société

par Patricia G

25 mai 2021

I signed up for this course to learn about the history of global sports and found the course and professor to be detailed, informative, and very interesting.

par Timothy T

10 sept. 2019

Very interesting and a lot of great information. Easy to pick up and learn, and get through it to broaden my knowledge of sports! Had a great time learning.

par Andrew V

8 avr. 2017

This course was very good and well structured. Professor is very professional. I get a lot inmportant information and many fun moments. Thank you so much

par Donald L C

8 nov. 2021

As a Physical Education major, average athlete, and coach, this was an excellent opportunity to study play, games and sport from a different perspective

par Anne M v B

25 avr. 2018

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.

par Willard J

23 mai 2019

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

par Junior L A

22 mai 2020

Excelente curso, excelente material, super entendible y agradable. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo que hizo posible tremendo curso!. Felicitaciones!

par Yash C

11 nov. 2017

ABsolutely loved the course, Dr. Starn's words are very intricate and have taught me very well. Looking forward to more classes by him on coursera.

par Jose O G B

24 juil. 2020

For all those who are in the sports bussiness, it is fundamental to understand the role it plays in modern society and economics, great content

par varun h

7 mai 2020

This course was really helpful in order to understand the various different aspects of different types of sports.Prof. Orin was simply amazing.

par Devan F

28 juin 2020

Well, throughout lectures that were interesting and engaging. I found that I was never bored and that it was challenging but still manageable.

par Tim H

13 sept. 2019

Great course that brought to light something we watch and do everyday but without knowing the history of it. Look forward to further courses.

par Pietro R

27 oct. 2020

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

par ADITYA S

27 mai 2018

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

par Annigje F

21 janv. 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

par Launee R

28 avr. 2021

Very good course. As a PE teacher it has allowed to greater understand the sociology behind some of the content I teach. Very enlightening.

par Carlos A M P

4 juil. 2017

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

par Dawit A

26 oct. 2021

An eye opening course that helps to shed light on different aspect of sports. Really enjoyed it and learned to see sport holistically.

par Claudia R B

29 oct. 2020

Great course , excellent classes .

I really enjoyed it .

It was great to have a course which analysed sports from this perspective .

par Abhishek G

1 sept. 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

par James M

19 janv. 2021

Loved everything about this course. Learning the history of sports and games along with the athletes who came before us was awesome

par Nabil S

25 avr. 2020

I am a sports management professional and I have completed my MBA in Sports Management even then I learnt a lot from this course.

par Víctor H M A

10 oct. 2016

Fantastic humanistic approach, very well designed and above all the passion of the professor Starn is fundamental! great job!

par Tashin I

11 janv. 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

par Hernadi F

12 sept. 2017

These lecture are amazing and very unique. I got new perspective about Sports particularly the rise of sport with age-by-age