Chevron Left
Retour à Sport et société

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Sport et société par Université Duke

4.8
étoiles
439 évaluations
89 avis

À propos du cours

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Meilleurs avis

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 86 Avis pour Sport et société

par ADITYA S

May 27, 2018

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

par Pietro R

Jan 12, 2017

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

par Annigje F

Jan 21, 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

par Carlos A M P

Jul 04, 2017

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

par Abhishek G

Sep 01, 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

par Víctor H M A

Oct 10, 2016

Fantastic humanistic approach, very well designed and above all the passion of the professor Starn is fundamental! great job!

par Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

par Hernadi F

Sep 12, 2017

These lecture are amazing and very unique. I got new perspective about Sports particularly the rise of sport with age-by-age

par Uriel R

Nov 14, 2016

Great class, easy to follow, and very informative. One of my favorite, if not my favorite, course I have taken in Coursera.

par Timur A

Oct 11, 2019

The best sports related course I ever had at Coursera! Fresh approach and a lot of insights! Thanks a lot, Mr. Starn!

par David V D

Sep 18, 2016

Got to learn a lot about sports and how it can have a complete different perceptive than only watching or playing it.

par Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

par Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

par Chew W Y

Jun 03, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

par Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

par Rodrigo V G

Jan 10, 2018

Excelente! Logras recordar o aprender momentos históricos que marcan pautas para los deportes.

par Emil

Oct 27, 2018

Nice and refreshing course. I liked best the video game lecture and the book recommended.

par Sagar A

Sep 27, 2018

It is an excellent Course!!Great insight into one of the important aspects of sports

par Moussa

Apr 15, 2017

I am currently following this course and I can say that I am really enjoying.

par Senga69

Dec 25, 2016

Excellent cours qui offre un point de vue original sur nos sociétés modernes.

par Lee J

Nov 09, 2018

Very insightful, and well communicated by the teacher. Very enjoyable!

par Unal G

May 11, 2016

I loved this course, clear and rich instruction. highly recommended

par Jennie v d B

Jun 14, 2018

This class is so fun and touches on so many topics (and sports)!

par Aroosha R

Mar 12, 2018

I learned a-lot through this course. Thank you for introducing.

par MICHAUD

Jan 28, 2018

Ce cours était très captivant et intéressant! Merci beaucoup!