Chevron Left
Retour à Sport et société

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Sport et société par Université Duke

4.8
étoiles
924 évaluations
240 avis

À propos du cours

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Meilleurs avis

MM
11 nov. 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK
6 janv. 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 237 Avis pour Sport et société

par Mario A C

10 févr. 2021

Awesome

par khaled M l a

30 sept. 2020

Amazing

par tushar d s

15 avr. 2020

Awesome

par Ben R

28 févr. 2020

Top lad

par zhangzhe

21 sept. 2018

perfect

par P. L D

23 mai 2020

Good

par Tommy W

15 oct. 2019

good

par Rajesh M

2 nov. 2017

best

par victor c

13 mai 2019

c

par Deleted A

29 sept. 2018

This online course is very interesting for people that enjoys playing and watching sports. To explain the impact of sports in society and the development of sports in general, ideas and studies of many social science experts are provided and translated to the sport reality. Many well-known sport facts and personalities are provided to support the arguments.

The lecturer (Orin Stark) presents the subjects and his personal opinion on an “easy-going” language. He is someone with who you could have a very pleasant pub conversation. His approach and “easy going” language make the course and its content interesting and easy to follow, also for people without any background in social sciences, like me.

I really enjoying this course!

par RaymondMistral

6 sept. 2016

J'ai trouvé ce cours très intéressant. Il aborde de nombreux aspects du sport auxquels on ne pense pas toujours, mais qui sont très importants dans le monde contemporain. Le professeur Orin Starn est agréable à écouter et les illustrations permettent de bien visualiser de quoi il est question tout en maintenant les élèves attentifs au cours. Cependant, pour un non-anglophone, l'effort demandé en termes de lecture est parfois un peu trop important et il est difficile de terminer la lecture des articles avant la fin de la semaine.

par Razvan C

19 avr. 2020

The course was very well structured and vividly presented with examples and very documented historical facts. The only problem I faced was the availability of resources. Some of the mandatory readings were missing and links provided errors. Nevertheless, very interesting topic and I am happy that I joined it.

par SANTOSH K

17 juin 2020

It has been a great experience to complete the course. The lectures are short and effective with one to one concept explanation with examples. The course instructor has been energetic and enthusiastic in every video with all his tropes to drive the points. Great learning experience. Thank you.

par Martijn L

28 avr. 2020

Interesting course, there's much more to the subject than I imagined before I took the course.

The lecture video's were good and the readings were complementary to it. I enjoyed the readings very much.

Martijn

par Kendell H

28 oct. 2020

I enjoyed the course very much. It would be interesting to have an updated course since this one was completed to discuss and reflect on the increase in activism by athletes, especially in 2020

par SOUMYA J

28 mai 2020

very interesting informative sports. specially the knowledge we grasped in this course about indoor and outdoor sports and the extreme sports pleasure. good work. thanks team

par Pietro O

26 avr. 2020

Wonderful course! Sport world is fast changing, so maybe some lessons are not super up to date, but Orin is a fantastic and passionate teacher: very very recommended

par Abrar H

20 juin 2020

A good course relating sports and society, bringing some interesting topics and history related to sports in light. Learnt a lot and really liked the course.

par Gerardo B P

31 janv. 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

par Joy S

3 juin 2017

surprisingly interesting and apropos considering I do not watch nor participate in any traditional team sports. Not just about the big sports.

par Aline K

19 juin 2020

I loved the course and the topics discussed during the lectures as I learned a lot of new things about sports and its relation to society :)

par Colleen O

24 avr. 2020

i feel as though a few answers on some of the quizzes were wrong, which frustrated me, but I loved the material and highly recommend it

par FB

2 févr. 2016

Great course for sports coaches, PE teachers and anyone interested to pursue a career in sports.

par Yoosaf A

20 juil. 2020

Excellent approach to learning.The instructor really explains the things in great manner.

par Kriti S

11 mai 2020

fascinating to study and learn to know more about sports and society.