Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy par Université de Manchester

4.7
étoiles
2,069 évaluations
540 avis

À propos du cours

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Meilleurs avis

KB

14 oct. 2020

This course helped me to further understand the principle behinds the 3 main spectroscopic techniques: UV/VIS, IR and NMR which is very beneficial for my future career working in a lab environment.

MR

9 sept. 2020

Muy bien todo y super completo, ayuda aun mas en esta situación de cuarentena porque facilita la información y es una nueva manera de aprender que esta muy bien fundamentada y muy bien organizada

Filtrer par :

401 - 425 sur 545 Avis pour Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

par GOGU B S

12 juin 2020

GOOD

par Elari b

7 mai 2020

Good

par Ravikishore

23 avr. 2020

good

par Priya R

21 avr. 2020

Nice

par Preetham

10 avr. 2020

Good

par Hussnain B

23 févr. 2022

.

par EDARA K 2

6 déc. 2021

G

par em282 p

9 août 2021

5

par Jessica V M

24 oct. 2020

Da un muy buen acercamiento a las espectroscopías IR y NMR, pasando por una buena introducción al estudiar un poco los fundamentos de espectrofotometría. Los cálculos que hay que realizar durante el curso son muy sencillos y mientras se comprenda el concepto detrás salen muy fácil. Las explicaciones son sencillas y proveen los diálogos para que los puedas seguir si no eres muy bueno con la comprensión auditiva. En todo momento puedes consultar los materiales y se explican bien las dudas que puedan surgir durante el curso. Hay un par de detalles al contestar los exámenes, uno es que a veces te preguntan cosas que a primera impresión no te enseñan, pero si profundizas un poco en las ecuaciones sale el cálculo (2-3 problemas en la sección de IR); y la otra es que a veces las respuestas tienen un [math box not finished] que simplemente significa que dentro del código del curso algo pasó y no compila bien esa parte. Esto no afecta mucho ya que sólo no muestra a veces las unidades, pero la pare numérica del cálculo es suficiente para saber la respuesta. Y aunque estoy casi segura de que en el examen final hay un par de preguntas que tienen mal asignada la respuesta correcta, en general el curso es muy bueno. No necesitas conocimientos avanzados de cuántica ni de química en general, los conceptos son explicados lo suficiente para que sigas el curso y los vídeos aportan un poco más que las puras diapositivas, con razonamiento guiado, mayores explicaciones y algunas veces animaciones.

par peter h b

7 nov. 2017

I enjoyed doing this short course. The presentations were good & at the right level for me. I particularly like doing the lab quizzes. They were just right.

However,there is a problem with some of the answer in the quizzes. I must admit, I cheated on one of them by taking the advice offered in a discussion thread & opting for answer A several times so I did well but feel a little chaste. Clearly some of the answers given are not correct & they are pointed out in the discussions. I enjoyed doing the final quiz but again I'm quite puzzled by some of the answers given. I shall look out for more courses offered by Manchester Univ. This has been my second course and I've enjoyed both. Thank you for filling my day.

par Anastasiia E

18 mai 2020

The course contains simulations of lab work and this idea is really cool. However, not everything is clear afterwards. I understand that work with spectra is greatly about experience which is impossible to get in three-weeks online course. A detailed explanation of the lab assessment would be great. People asked a lot in forums but got only vague tips.

In general, this course gives a nice insight into the interesting subject. It assumes some knowledge in Chemistry but the course subject itself is explained starting from very basics.

par Evgeny K

13 déc. 2020

The course is for complete beginners, I have expected more from the course labeled "Intermediate" level.

The lectures and tasks are somewhat poorly balanced: more than half of the final test is about UV/IR, the contribution of NMR tasks could be higher. Some important aspects of spectroscopy have not been mentioned, for example, limits of the Beer's law linearity or complex coupling in NMR (different spin systems)

However, it is very nice to have seen a course on this subject, and overall the course is nice, yet fairly simple.

par Parag B

21 févr. 2018

I have previously taken an Analytical Chemistry course but it has been over 8 years since I took it. The pace of this course and its contents allowed me to pick up where I left off. My only concern is that there are questions in the quizzes and exams that are not found anywhere in the lecture slides. Thankfully I saved my old Analytical Chem textbook and was able to reference it. Also Week 3's quiz has some bugs in it that several of the students complained about where correct answers were scored as incorrect.

par Deleted A

29 mars 2020

A very good course overall. Lab assignments were also pretty great! However, in certain topics, like the assignment of IR spectra wavelengths to functional groups, and MO transitions, the material was not detailed enough, and was misleading during the completion of quizzes. Also, the formatting of quiz questions was sometimes broken or incorrect (e.g. displaying 106 instead of 10^6). Nevertheless, the material was well-presented and explained, and I certainly found it useful.

par Sushant K P

8 mai 2020

A really good course for Introduction to this topic of Molecular Spectroscopy. The UV-Vis spectroscopy section was good. The difficulty of IR and NMR sections can be raised a little by teaching slightly more complex molecules (like more on esters, anhydrides, amides etc.). Some questions in Week4 quiz were repetitive also in week4 quiz, In Question 29 , point is awarded for an incorrect option.

If these slight errors are improved overall course will be great.

par Nicolas G

28 juil. 2020

El curso es muy ilustrativo respecto de los conceptos fundamentales de técnicas espectroscópicas. Son de gran ayudo los cuestionarios de laboratorio para comprender mejor las aplicaciones de las diferentes técnicas. El curso posee en los cuestionarios 1, 3 y 4 algunos errores señalados por los cursantes que deberían corregirse para futuras ediciones. En términos generales el curso es muy interesante.

par prapulla b

10 oct. 2017

This course helped me understand the spectroscopic concepts in a simpler and a more easier way,I found interesting will solving the practice problems and the quiz.This course is really helpful in analyzing the structure of the organic compounds using spectroscopic techniques like IR, UV and NMR spectroscopy.

I would like to thank Mr.Patric sir for making the concepts easier and simpler.

par uppala v v s

14 juin 2017

There is a lot of theory for spectroscopy which i was expecting, for example in UV/VIS spectroscopy there are rules to measure the maximum wavelength value of the compound based on conjugation and pi bonds. Also some of the tutorial questions were abstract which were hard to get the solution without additional information. But a good source to recap vital concepts

par Colin E

5 janv. 2018

Some of the answers were wrong in the week 3 quiz and I'm pretty sure I got more answers correct than were actually awarded marks in the final quiz. The content of the lectures was very informative and well put-together. The lab sections are inspired by genius. Thank you Prof. O'Malley and Coursera for the provision of a very good course - all things considered.

par Seema S S

3 avr. 2020

A wonderful must take course for anyone interested in pursuing chemistry. All the videos were extremely insightful and the notes just made understanding easier. I would have, however, liked a bit more explanation on the spectrums. I found the questions based on the spectrums a bit tough due to the lack of complete explanation. Overall, a great course.

par Karl P A D

13 févr. 2021

This helped me learn quite well about Molecular Spectroscopy. The lectures were clear, and though some problem solving questions were missing so that I could learn how to solve different scenarios with different given values, I was able to grasp the knowledge needed to pass this. Thanks to Mr. Patrick O'Malley for helping me learn about this topic!

par VIKAS

5 oct. 2020

The Great Work and Efforts by Prof Patrick J O' Malley and Coursera Team. Wonderful to learn more on UV/FTIR/NMR. However if you add Mass Spectroscopy too that will put one more Feather on your Hat to remodified this Course.

One humble request to you please develop the Structure Determination of the compounds / Additives and Polymers too.

par Prabesh J

3 juil. 2017

Great course. There is a good room for improvement. May be a more numerical problems could be added. More exercise problems could also be helpful. I hope the team at Manchester University continues developing the courses like this. In sum, really great course. helped me fill some gaps in my knowledge in spectroscopy.

par Priyakrit S R

10 juil. 2020

An amazing course for people just curious about science in general and an amazing platform to quench one's scientific curiosity. However, the only problem is that in a few options in the weekly quizzes the mathematical expressions aren't given properly which makes selecting the correct answers difficult at times.

par Asher D

1 déc. 2020

A nice informative refresher on or introduction to common molecular spectroscopy techniques. The course requires some independent info gathering in order to complete the assignments. In my opinion the quizzes tend to focus too heavily on math problems rather than concepts.