Chevron Left
Retour à Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations par Rutgers, l'université d'État du New Jersey

4.5
357 notes
97 avis

À propos du cours

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 1....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Sep 22, 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

AM

Aug 22, 2015

I just started with this course and I am loving it! This not only offers a very fresh perspective on beliefs about souls and an afterlife but is also extremely relatable on a personal level.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 96 Examens pour Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations

par Deleted A

Aug 08, 2015

I must confess I've tried to complete other courses before but due to time constraints and other responsibilities I've failed miserably. But this time thanks to the fact I can study this on my own pace, I'm no longer having a clash between my job and the courses I want to study, which in turn fills me with excitement and appreciation for this course. Personally, I have a deep interest in the field of religion (spirituality, theology, comparative religions, etc) which I think it is fascinating. That's why I decided to enroll in this course and give it my best. I'm learning so much thanks to the awesome lectures the professors are given and the material it is provided. I watch the lectures, I take tons of notes and I do some extra research as well. I'm just about to finish unit 1 and looking forward to starting unit 2.

I want to thank Coursera from the bottom of my heart for making this course available for free so I can have access to this material. The knowledge I'm getting here is helping me to sharpen my focus on what to study next.

I hope more courses on religion (from an academic perspective) are offered in the future so I can learn even more. (I saw a course on Calvinism I'm already interested in but it's not available yet).

My name is George (Jorge in Spanish) and I'm from South America, Chile.

Thank you to all of you for your efforts. They are deeply appreciated.

par Louis E K

Sep 11, 2015

The most interesting class I've ever taken. The material covers everything from psychology to sociology and then adds more.

par Charmaine

Nov 24, 2015

This course gives a great view point of the evolution of different religions.It also dwells into how we have today managed to successfully misinterpret the core values of religion leading to mass wold unrest.Its a course that gives us a better understanding into how our beliefs have come to be as we know it today by tracing back history and the philosophers who contributed towards religious beliefs.

par Liliana E G d l F

Aug 13, 2015

Its an eye opener

par Vee S

Oct 27, 2015

A thought provoking course, well done, interesting, and enlightening.

par REBECCA G

Jan 24, 2016

This is a great course. Profs have an interesting way of getting info to us.

par Khaled A A

Dec 18, 2016

This is a truly unique course, covering an essential but largely neglected part of human nature and history.

par Arve F

Jun 11, 2017

Very interesting.

par Alexey K

Aug 26, 2016

A introduction into the history of beliefs. It was kind of frustrating the way Buddhism was covered.

par Tarey L K

Aug 29, 2015

Fascinating, informative, thought provoking, makes you think. What more could you ask for from a Course? The Professors are wonderful. I'm so glad I choose to take this Course.

par Daryl R

Jan 21, 2016

The course starts by having students identify what they were taught to believe and walks the student through the human concept of soul belief. It takes you on a journey of religious progression and rationalizes mind and body experience. Thanks so much Corrsera, Ruthers, Professors Daniel Ogilvie and Leonard Hamilton, and all the great guest speakers for such an outstanding course.

par Darren G

Nov 22, 2015

This is a high-quality, thought-provoking course.

par Heather W

Sep 23, 2016

I love this course, however, I really wish it would have covered other types of belief systems as well, such as the native american beliefs, ancient celtic, or ancient norse belief systems, which have some similarities to the old middle eastern religions, but also a lot of differences.

par Kok K G

Aug 30, 2015

Summary:

Unit 1 is comprehensive in covering historical foundations of after-life beliefs, from pre-history to modern times. This is a necessary grounding to understand the evolution of religion. It provides different religious perspectives on the issue, and Prof Hamilton brings about an objective view in exploring the topic.

Perhaps the important thing for students to better appreciate the course is that it is titled Soul "Beliefs". These are beliefs from different religions, not facts. It is necessary to keep that in mind. Understanding that will lead to a more unbiased and scientific approach towards the topic.

Context:

I came across this course after recently losing my fiancée. Am going through Unit 2 at the moment.

I grew up in a Buddhist environment for over 20 years before distancing myself over the last several years. I appreciate the philosophies of Buddhism and that of other religions, but I would describe myself to be agnostic. My recent experiences and subsequent studies of history, philosophy, neuroscience and psychiatry and various interactions with different religious leaders have only reinforced this perspective. This course has been very helpful in providing unbiased information on the topic of after-life beliefs.

par Martin S

Sep 22, 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

par Yaroslav V

Feb 04, 2016

The course offers a very interesting insight into soul beliefs and combines history, psychology and philosophy. The articulate lecturers and a well prepared material help to maintain the interest and understand the content.

par Garri-Lee L

Aug 21, 2015

Opening the mind to new ways of thinking about Rel

par Rosane d A P

Sep 03, 2015

So interesting, getting religion discussions with differents perspectives and the teachers are amazing !

par Oscar A G B

Sep 15, 2015

The course gives a lot of interesting information in a entertain way of learning.

par İLKİN B

Sep 04, 2015

The course aroused my intellectual interest to its highest.

Thanks.

par Francisco G

Aug 16, 2015

Este es un curso muy interesante pues trata el tema del alma desde la perspectiva de varias disciplinas. El material recomendado de lectura es muy bueno. Realmente aprendí cosas nuevas y que me sorprendieron, como la relación entre la consciencia, el cerebro y el darwinismo. Superó mis expectativas.

par Finch M

Apr 16, 2018

An excellent course, covering an often neglected topic.

par GianpieroL

Apr 07, 2016

I just love this course. It is funny, easy to follow and really interesting.

par Debra

Mar 13, 2017

This course breaks all the taboos with academics discussing the history of how humans developed their belief systems, how religions and societies engineer how humans define themselves and how humans view themselves and their concepts of their soul beliefs... My favorite course of all time...

par Dennis S

Sep 10, 2016

I found the lectures and reading material very interesting. The professors were very good at explaining complex material and it served to tie together some loose ends regarding various religions that I had been struggling with. As a retiree, I was not interested in receiving a certificate so I didn't take the tests or do the peer reviews though. I was only interested in hearing the lectures.