Chevron Left
Retour à Psychologie sociale

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Psychologie sociale par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
3,602 évaluations
1,529 avis

À propos du cours

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Meilleurs avis

IV
12 juin 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
18 août 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,517 Avis pour Psychologie sociale

par Tiya B

8 nov. 2018

Learning so much and I'm only in week 1. It's untangled and clarified some of my own experiences and interactions in such an easy format with relevant and informative resources.

par Xiwen C

18 janv. 2020

By far the best course I've taken on Coursera. Well-structured course content, substantial material and super engaging instructor! Strongly Recommend!

par Edwin S

7 nov. 2019

Have not finished the course yet, but excellent content and activities from Prof Plous, brought with a very passionate and funny style.

par Vincenzo G

10 sept. 2019

Really interesting, but sometimes a little bit diluted. A flooding of Videos and Chats designed to sum up some important concepts. Maybe a more structured approach could be useful to learn in a faster way. That's to say: definition, expaining, examples, critics. discussions. However it's worth the chance of interacting via forum and Other tools granted to students. Topics are well structured, and teacher speaks very well, with the correct pace and the right "empathy". By using his videos, prof. Plous invites people to a deep reflection, avoiding Learning "by heart". In other words, Always comparing theory to what happens in the real world.

par Jacob N

25 nov. 2020

This class was ... not good. I took the entire class and even did the work to get an honors certificate.

There are two things wrong with this class:

The professor is trying to teach this more as a freshman, first college class, blow your mind sort of experience than an actual class where students actually learn things. The issue is that he is so interested in doing that that he gives students so much incorrect information, he presents currently debated subjects in Social Psychology as settled and he lectures on things he is obviously not qualified to.

For instance, he claims that violent video games cause violence. This has been repeatedly debunked since the 1990s and is not thought of as a plausible theory nowadays.

To take another example, Professor Plous declared(without evidence) that sex is just a category that people have made up with no basis in reality. Not only is this obviously incorrect but Professor Plous provided no evidence for this and he is clearly not an expert on that matter(he is a Social Psychologist, not a philosopher, biologist or geneticist).

He is clearly just trying to provoke a reaction by presenting "facts" in an authoritative manner than actually teaching real social psychology.

That is the first large problem. The second large problem is that there is an obvious political bias to this class and the professor is trying to get his students to proselytize it. For the two honors assignments(pick 1 for credit) you could either:

Try to get someone to vote for your political candidate in the 2020 presidential election(it is obvious which candidate the professor was trying to get his students to agitate for) or

2. Try to convince a group of your acquaintances of the realities of certain ideologies taught in the class. Complete with a set of leading questions that were over the line of being ridiculous.

I was shocked when I saw these and now I am appalled at such blatant attempt to use a position of authority(professor) to try to influence politics in a Social Psychology Course. A Psychology Course! That is utterly inappropriate and the professor should be ashamed.

To conclude: If you want to learn about the field of Social Psychology, do not take this course. If you want get fed wrong facts in an authoritative tone, take this course. If you do not want to get proselytized at about various issues the professor cares about, do not take this course. If you want to get ridiculous assignments that include open electioneering in a Social Psychology course, take this class.

par CANSU Y C

2 juil. 2020

This course is at first good but for final exam it became a disaster. There is no feedback. I couldn't learn the correct or even the wrong answers. Every question had a trick. This is not an educational system. It made me stressed for 3 days. But I just wanted the learn the Social Psychology. As a psychology student I can clearly say that this is unfortunately not enough.

par Joan B

3 sept. 2020

The course is very engaging and well-prepared. This is coupled with a content that is truly interesting and practical. The explanations are thorough and easy to understand even if you don't have a Psychology background. I can binge-watch the videos without feeling bored at all. One of the best MOOCs I've taken so far.

I've seen some concerns about joining the SPN network which is not required at all although you will be encouraged to join. In submitting the resume, too, you are not required to disclose true information. I easily finished the course without joining the SPN network, and I changed the details in my resume assignment so that it wouldn't reveal personal information.

par Ann-Marie B

9 oct. 2020

This was such an educational and fun course. I learnt so much about the mind and how it works with regards to people and situations. Thank you so much.

This course changed my life for the better

par Ronnie T J H

9 mai 2020

This is probably my favourite and most insightful course out of all the coursera courses I'd taken. Please take the course seriously and try to do as much as you can (I'd seen some students only submitting 1-2 paragraphs when we need to write and elaborate on more points), I find this very beneficial to me not just as a certification but also mentally and emotional to understand myself and people more. Learning all this would also tells you that a lot of psychology is link together! I would recommend taking down notes (I'm using oneNotes), as you would need to refer to past lessons over your assignment for applications and reference!

par Jefferson L F

30 janv. 2020

It´s a very good course, with very helpfull videos and lesson. The professor and material are very, very good. However, my only concern is about the exercices and the last test. I believe they need to be align, because weeks exercice does´n prepare us to the last test. The rest of the course is excelent.

par Linda S

25 juil. 2020

Everything was good until the final exam. I tried many times to pass it. Every time I was able to retake the exam, it would give me the same score, a 60. After trying many times, I decided to choose all answer d's. It still gave me a 60. I tried answering all answer a's . . . still same score. The class is over and I cannot get my certificate and it says that it is "still in progress" but when I click on the course it says class is done re-enroll or reset your deadlines. I completed everything in that class on time and passed everything but the final as it must have cliched on me and will not register a new score. You can't get a hold of anyone to help you. This is beyond frustrating. DO NOT RECOMMEND!

par Afsana I

23 juil. 2020

I got my certificate completing my course with 96% of accomplishment. I am so excited and happy to achieve this step and just from the first attempt. Before the course, I was alien to the social psychology field, even though it had attracted me much. I am a political observer, and after a while of being in this field, what I found to myself my work doesn't satisfy me in its evident form. Policy, economy and culture - the fields linked to people, need a psychological approach. Trying to find answers to all inconspicuous through social psychology, we can actually understand the reasons standing behind the hidden curtains.

There are a lot of problems that need different approach precisely by exploring the psychological factors. Our world is a picture of our thoughts. If we people feed our thoughts and feelings with hatred and offence we will cultivate villainy and atrocity. Unfortunately, we are aware of our fundamental essence what is created by God.

I cordially believe in one person's power. I believe in one step, in one opinion, in one insight and in one perception. A building is starting from one brick. We are all humans that one brick of colossal construction. I summarised what I have read and watched throughout this course, that helped me a lot in constituting my life roadmap, came to the conclusion that actually all researches are based on the principle of one man and one decisive step.

It was a miracle journey to my inner me, my self-world. I warmly thank Prof. Scott Plous for his comprehensible and smooth style of narrating and rich sources presented for student's use. I recommend this course to all who wants either discover to understand "Who am I?" or predispose to make a significant and salient step in their life. My sincere respect and best wishes to Prof. Plous and all Coursera staff! Thank you for such a fantastic journey :)

Best regards, Afsana Ibad Mammadova

par Muskan H

23 juil. 2020

To be honest, i started this course thinking it would be a good revision for the social psych paper i had in one of my semesters in my psychology honours course but it took a beautiful turn when i started the course.

Course Instructor- Prof. Scout Plous is an excellent teacher. For each topic he explains in very simple ways with examples and reseaarch findings.

Course Materials- The videos are of excellent quality with top-notch study materials from books,videos and researches. there are videos from the real experiments and of some eminent personalities. everything is very interesting,engaging and informative.

Who can take the course? Everyone. after i completed the course i realised anybody who wants to know why people in general do what they do can take this course.

Assignments/Quiz- One of the things i loved about the course is it's assignments.They are very engaging, makes sure one is thorough with the study materials as all the assignments are usually where we have to apply them while doing it. The assignments are fun and a great learning experience. there is one quiz at the end covering all the topics and with average difficulty level.

I read in some comments before starting the course that there is pressure to join the "social psychology network" for a fee so i was a bit skeptical, but on taking the course i dont think there was a pressure, more of a suggestion and there are always alternatives present which one can choose. even if one does not join the network they can access the the materials from the website which is really cool. The people who buy the social psychology course on coursera infact doesnot have to pay to join the network as its free for them.

This course was an experience,one of the best learning journeys.

par Philippe R

29 mai 2020

I would like to express my gratitude to Professor Scott Plous and his team for creating such an extraordinary course. I also want to thank him, Coursera, the authors & copyright holders and all those who have allowed to make this course widely available at no cost to students worldwide.

Great care has been evidently taken in designing this course and in preparing the various lectures. The content has been carefully built as well as the process. I can only imagine the amount of work needed to create all the excellent visuals that provide a rich background to the narration, which itself is already very compelling. The course is clear, practical as well as evidenced-based. Prof. Scott Plous combines multiple qualities in his teaching including rigor and clarity together with humor, sensitivity and nuance.

The possibility to see original photos and videos such as the Milgram video add to the richness of the learning experience. I appreciate Professor Plous’s perseverance in soliciting the necessary authorizations to make this happen.

By making Social Psychology widely available through this unique course, Professor Plous helps to raise our individual and collective consciousness, enabling us to more effectively play our part in making this world a better place for all.

par Anju M

28 avr. 2020

Professor Plous is an excellent teacher. He is never complacent. He provokes his students and evokes original thinking. He has a cute sense of humor and uses it to inspire interest in the course. He is always cheerful and spreads the joy around! Therefore so many of his colleagues come around to support him in this course with bonus videos and discussions etc. He is a huge networker and believer in group/team spirit. You can see that by the number of organizations that have come together on his social psychology website platform. He is definitely not a lone player and would be a great political person in Washington encouraging everyone to give their best and spreading positivity in the White House, that is if he wants that role!! :-) So much for the review of the course.!!!! Actually, the course taught much more than I expected, and it was splendid because learning was made easy and pleasurable by the team. THANK YOU!

par Li Y

9 juin 2020

Best course I've ever taken on Coursera. I never thought that I would be upset when I completed this course. Learning Social Psychology is the best choice I have ever made this year.

这门课是我在Coursera上修过的最好的网课。我从没想过完成这门课程后会甚至会感到有点难过。学习社会心理学是我今年做出的最棒选择。

I really thank Professor Scott Plous for giving us such a wonderful course. I am a law student and am going to study my Master's degree in law. This course of Social Psychology significantly changed my way of thinking about legal issues. I am grateful!!! And I have recommended this course to many friends!

我真的非常感谢Scott Plous教授为我们提供了这么精彩的课。我本人其实是一名法律专业的学生,马上​​要去念法律硕士了。这门社会心理学课程极大地改变了我对法律问题的思考方式。我很感激!!!我已经向很多朋友安利了这门课程!

I wish Professor Scott Plous can give us more courses related to Social Psychology, or social norm, or anything! I will be the first one to enroll.

我希望Scott Plous教授可以给我们提供更多有关社会心理学或社会规范的课程!到时我肯定会第一个报名的!

par sapna s

8 oct. 2020

It's a great course for anyone who is interested in understanding social psychology. Engaging sessions and material by Professor Scott. I've done multiple courses on Coursera and this is my first course where assignments are peer-graded and make you think about the application of the content that you have read. Material is interesting and discussion boards are enriching. You should surely go for it.

I also saw some of the reviews which had an issue with joining Social Psychology Network and submitting a Resume. So let me clarify, joining the network is optional (I didn't join it) and while submitting your resume, considering privacy issues, you are absolutely free to submit it for a hypothetical person (which I did). Hope this addresses the concerns around the course.

par Kevin S M M

7 sept. 2020

This has been one of the most challenging courses I have ever taken in Coursera. The course is well done, It is not too difficult but It requires time and complete dedication. Reading is a must to complement Professor Scott lectures, sometimes It could be hard to complete all the assignments, but this is how we learn a lot about the field. Professor Scott Plous is brilliant and a good communicative person, he is a great teacher. I am glad to be part of this amazing course, I am a research assistant in public policy and economics, but since now I will include all the social psychology knowledge I got in this course to face social problems. Grettings from Colombia. Bye :)

par Raymund F

20 mai 2020

Professor Scott Plous taught the course with great enthusiasm. This Social Psychology course will help you know yourself more and will also help you better interact with the people around you. There's so much support from mentors and other learners while learning the topics together. After the course, you'll see the world on a different perspective! Thank you Professor Plous and Wesleyan University!

par José C V D

30 juin 2020

Mucho más completo de lo que esperaba. Un gran trabajo el realizado por Scott Plous y su equipo, a quienes quedo muy agradecido por toda la información que ofrecen y cómo han diseñado el recorrido de aprendizaje.

Much more complete than I expected. A great job done by Scott Plous and his team, to whom I am very grateful for all the information they offer and how they have designed the learning tour.

par Abhinish S

7 juin 2020

It was a really wonderful experience and I very much loved being a part of this class. This has really helped me better understand myself and the people around me. I am especially thankful to Scott Plous who has been such a great instructor and kept me really engaged in the course video lectures! It has been a wonderful journey thank you to everyone that has made this course available to me! :)

par Paul N J

24 janv. 2021

This course helped me in understanding how people are influenced by social scenarios that results on how they view others, how they behave in groups, and how they form their attitudes. A big thanks to Professor Scott Plous for being creative with his presentations that made me learn the lessons much easier. I also appreciate his jokes that made me feel happy during my time with this course.

par Lim F Y

1 janv. 2021

The classes are interesting and there are lots of study materials in the form of video clips and reading materials all exclusive to us only! The professor isn't boring and managed to make each classes as interesting as possible. I definitely learned a lot of things that can be used in my life and work. I really recommend this course for just anyone.

par Liv P

7 juin 2020

I feel like I've rediscovered the pleasure of learning and I haven't enjoyed a course this much in years (or dare I say ever). I almost felt sad when the course was nearing completion. This is the kind of course everyone should take, regardless of their work domain.

par Santosh K U

30 oct. 2019

It was indeed a very good initiative course... I look forward to being part of many such courses in the future. The mentor of the course excelled in making layman like me to understand it from the core. Loved learning new concepts.