Chevron Left
Retour à Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
938 évaluations
370 avis

À propos du cours

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Meilleurs avis

SI

Feb 11, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

SA

Jul 03, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 368 Avis pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

par Anne G

Jul 02, 2020

This is a great course for anyone wanting to understand more about social innovation and how to apply it to your own ideas for becoming a change-maker. Good length and enough time to finish all assignments. Assignments are a mix of quizzes as well as projects. Feedback from peers is motivating and insights from professors are challenging you to give your best and dig deep into what changes you really want to make in this world.

par Julia L

May 11, 2020

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. The material was well balanced between theory, industry examples and assignments. I especially enjoyed developing one's one idea and the continuous peer feedback as well as reading about all the other creative ideas from peers in the course. The various company examples underlying the different principles were invaluable making the learnings a journey of social innovation.

par Sharon E L

Jun 01, 2020

I would recommend this course for anyone who works in the public domain. It really stretches the mind and allows you to think out of the proverbial box. The videos are short and interesting and the assignments permit the students to create engaging and socially innovative designs and strategies that could become a real project or small business with the potential to positively impact your community or society.

par Bruna G

Jul 02, 2020

This course was one of the best choices I've made in the past few months. It is so informative and fun to take. The facilitators did an outstanding job, bringing concepts in a clear way, showing how they work in real-life examples, and engaging us through enriching assignments and forum discussions. Thank you to everyone involved in this project: the teachers, the RLabs team, and ones behind the scenes.

par Christos P

May 29, 2020

You have an incredible ability to draw people to take action. Your way of progressing with the lessons was purely inspirational. You did not need extravagant persuasion vocabulary, nor emotional emphasis, and yet you portrayed real life problems and actions in simple pragmatic interpretation which could be understood and signified easily. Thank you very much with full appreciation and genuinity

par Haneen E M

Dec 24, 2019

Extremely Informative. It truly clarifies the structure behind social innovation, which lays the foundation for all social change or initiatives. This course also includes a lot of information on already existing organizations ad their success stories, which I found very motivating and inspiring. 10/10, would definitely recommend this course for any one knew to the world of social innovation!

par Philippine W

Jan 17, 2018

Very meaningful course, well build and well balanced, interesting pairs submission and huge personal impact.

I feel hopefull and energetic about social entrepreneurship, and that is very valuable. We can all make a difference and there is so many model around us.

I will get out of my confort zone and make the world a better place, because we can. That is all that course made me feel like !

par Pamela D

May 22, 2020

This course was well structured, very informative and engaging. The professors presented the information in a way that made it easily digestible and relatable to my own experience and interests. I loved the use of the RLabs case study throughout, it was very inspiring and helped me understand the theoretical concepts in practice. Would highly recommend this course to others!

par Shubhda G

Nov 19, 2017

This course was truly a revelation to my passion for social development. Through this course, I managed to identify skills to market myself as a Freelance English Trainer at a Government run organisation. It also played a huge role in me getting an internship at an NGO and most importantly, has equipped me with skills that I never thought I would be capable of developing.

par Foad S

May 10, 2020

Thanks to Francois, Warren, and Marlon, and team R-labs for such an elaborate and engaging socially impacting innovation course. I revived most of my work experience with my NGO, and also was able to put alot more on paper, for future impacting programs.

I would like to keep in touch with all of the course mentors for future discussions and networking.

Thankyou

Foad Shams

par John R N

Jul 15, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. This inspired me to be hopeful. This course makes me want to contribute to social change thru applying a social innovation with people/community I can partner with. I am excited to apply what I learned from this course to a real-world problem. After this course, I can definitely say that this is the start of me being a change maker. :)

par Chiara A L O

Jun 18, 2020

This has been so educational for me, and this course is so well thought out. It has so many practical applications, and I love it. It made me a little sad that I'm already done with it. I can see the passion the lecturers have for social innovation, and it is very inspiring. I hope to someday work with them. This whole course is a game-changer. Would recommend. 10/10.

par Samir B

May 26, 2020

Very inspirational. There are times I felt I am also part of RLabs. If I ever can visit Cape Town, I want to visit RLabs and probably spend a day or two volunteering some work. That would give me some alternative money to buy a coffee in the innovator's cafe. Finally, I really want to make something different, some small but positive change in the society.

par Felina M

Jul 10, 2019

I am absolutely in love with the course curriculum and engagement of this class. I feel challenged by the quizzes and assignments. The lessons that I have learned from reading assignments from others participating in the class who reside in all parts of the world is invaluable. Thank you UCT for the time, effort and investment in creating this course.

par RAMESHWAR B

Apr 18, 2020

This course is changed my life the way I thinking is changed now I feel more comfortable with people while I talk with them or explain something I want to be in touch with this organisation because I want to do more social works please guide me if something new is there I am very thankful to you thank you so much it was great honour to do this course

par Misha A F

Sep 08, 2019

I learnt so much from this course, especially in relation to practical implementation of ideas. It has also given me courage to go ahead and start something innovative (The course students and teachers know what im talking about!) on my own and do so with courage with a complete booklet of knowledge I need to take it one step ahead. Thank you!

par Ajayi O W

Jun 30, 2020

This course is one of the best things to have happened to me during this global crisis. For someone like me who has been passionately helping for years and always seeking ways to get better, this course has opened my eyes to alot of things.. Like unused resources and i have gained more knowledge on how to make social impact work!

par Lynn W

Oct 10, 2018

Excellent course! I learned a lot about social innovation and how to think not just outside the box but upside down, flipped around, and everything in-between. The lectures are easy to follow and the examples are solid ones. Would highly reccomend! Will take these lessons with me in every challenge I tackle. Very much appreciated!

par Daniel N A

May 17, 2020

This course offers Virtually every individual needs to understanding Social Innovation. Elaborating on the different types of problems, Characteristics of wicked problems etc Bringing to light real life events and case studies. I must commend the facilators, Coursera and the team for putting together an interesting Course.

par Neli V

May 20, 2020

Taking this course was an excellent decision on my side - everything in it was well-thought and selected on point: from the very competent instructors to the captivating real-life cases of social innovations. To all the people hesitating whether ot not to enroll: don't even think about it - you won't regret it!

par Melanie H

May 01, 2020

This is an excellent course, based in research and uses a wide range of materials.

The presentation is varied and provides theoretical and practical knowledge, with examples.

One is pushed out of your comfort zone to 'think further' and try ideas.

The peer reviews were valuable and provided some helpful inputs.

par chris s

Oct 08, 2019

Great introduction to social innovation and related concepts. I've recently started on a journey with a social innovation project and working through the course with this project in mind really helped me flesh out my ideas and give structure to my plan of action for it. Thanks so much for this course.

par Ashley O

May 28, 2020

This course is exactly what I needed in order to learn the foundations of becoming a change maker. I feel like I now have the knowledge to tackle problems in my community, step out of my comfort zone, and create a positive impact . Great course if you want to step into the world of social innovation!

par ANJANEYULU

Apr 24, 2020

This course is very much useful for aspiring social entrepreneurs. It gives a lot of insights into social innovation and all the faculty and guest speakers are highly practical oriented in the field of social entrepreneurship. Anybody willing to become social entrepreneur---Just go for this course.

par Brighton T

Oct 30, 2017

Not only did I gain innovative ideas that will help transform my community but as I continued along doing this course, I also stumbled upon two big business ideas which hopefully are going to be life-changing. I don't know if that could have been possible without taking on this course. Thank you!