Chevron Left
Retour à Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
1,222 évaluations
492 avis

À propos du cours

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Meilleurs avis

SI
10 févr. 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

SA
2 juil. 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 486 Avis pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

par Misha A F

8 sept. 2019

I learnt so much from this course, especially in relation to practical implementation of ideas. It has also given me courage to go ahead and start something innovative (The course students and teachers know what im talking about!) on my own and do so with courage with a complete booklet of knowledge I need to take it one step ahead. Thank you!

par Ajayi O W

30 juin 2020

This course is one of the best things to have happened to me during this global crisis. For someone like me who has been passionately helping for years and always seeking ways to get better, this course has opened my eyes to alot of things.. Like unused resources and i have gained more knowledge on how to make social impact work!

par Lynn W

10 oct. 2018

Excellent course! I learned a lot about social innovation and how to think not just outside the box but upside down, flipped around, and everything in-between. The lectures are easy to follow and the examples are solid ones. Would highly reccomend! Will take these lessons with me in every challenge I tackle. Very much appreciated!

par Daniel N A

17 mai 2020

This course offers Virtually every individual needs to understanding Social Innovation. Elaborating on the different types of problems, Characteristics of wicked problems etc Bringing to light real life events and case studies. I must commend the facilators, Coursera and the team for putting together an interesting Course.

par Neli V

20 mai 2020

Taking this course was an excellent decision on my side - everything in it was well-thought and selected on point: from the very competent instructors to the captivating real-life cases of social innovations. To all the people hesitating whether ot not to enroll: don't even think about it - you won't regret it!

par Loh Y L

15 août 2020

Other than teaching us how to kickstart a social innovation from scratch, I feel that this course also teaches us skills that can be applied to many aspects of life. For example, throughout the course you are encouraged to step out of your comfort zone and look at things in different ways. Highly recommended!

par Melanie H

1 mai 2020

This is an excellent course, based in research and uses a wide range of materials.

The presentation is varied and provides theoretical and practical knowledge, with examples.

One is pushed out of your comfort zone to 'think further' and try ideas.

The peer reviews were valuable and provided some helpful inputs.

par Chris S

7 oct. 2019

Great introduction to social innovation and related concepts. I've recently started on a journey with a social innovation project and working through the course with this project in mind really helped me flesh out my ideas and give structure to my plan of action for it. Thanks so much for this course.

par Ashley O

28 mai 2020

This course is exactly what I needed in order to learn the foundations of becoming a change maker. I feel like I now have the knowledge to tackle problems in my community, step out of my comfort zone, and create a positive impact . Great course if you want to step into the world of social innovation!

par Dr. A C

24 avr. 2020

This course is very much useful for aspiring social entrepreneurs. It gives a lot of insights into social innovation and all the faculty and guest speakers are highly practical oriented in the field of social entrepreneurship. Anybody willing to become social entrepreneur---Just go for this course.

par Michael H

21 févr. 2021

This was my first course on coursera and I'm just overwhelmed. Marlon, François, Warren and all the other people from RLabs or University of Cape Town are soooo inspiring! I've already started my own little project and I'm sure that's just the start of a very long, exciting journey! Thank you all!

par Brighton T

30 oct. 2017

Not only did I gain innovative ideas that will help transform my community but as I continued along doing this course, I also stumbled upon two big business ideas which hopefully are going to be life-changing. I don't know if that could have been possible without taking on this course. Thank you!

par Clara M

4 sept. 2019

The alignment to a Social Innovation project that commenced in 2017 in CapeTown, before Social Innovation was a known entity for community benefits, with the academic insights and knowledge combine to make this not only valuable for learning about Social Innovation, but inspirational as well.

par Michal S

26 févr. 2019

It was a very well prepared and very practical course. I love the cooperation of the university and the social enterprise that gives the course a very practical point of view. You immediately see what are the learnings good for or where they actually come from. Thanks so much for this course!

par Linda S

11 juil. 2020

Awesome , Awesome, Awesome. Had so much fun doing this course whilst the Lockdown was on in South Africa.

Very informative, even used some of the skills I learnt to provide items to a NGO during their lockdown as they have a soup kitchen.

Networking is definitely key to being a changemaker.

par Mary N B

21 oct. 2019

This was an amazing course that helps you think past your own, isolated thoughts and self-limiting believes and helps you figure out how small changes can make huge impacts. If you’re looking for self-improvement & how to make your corner of the world better - this is the course for you!

par Karima B

13 juin 2020

A very interesting course. I learned a lot of new things, and what I loved the most is all the examples that you gave to us. Thanks to Rlabs for given us hope and courage to start our own project. If I have the chance to visit South Africa, I will come to see you guys. Thank you.

par Beyonifer M G

18 mars 2017

Great course. Loved the interaction between peers and they marking your work. Was irritating at first, but shows you the mistake we all make. Thinking that others should buy into your idea, but it gives you a slight glimpse into how the community might view it from their side.

par Ilse V E

5 juin 2020

This course is an eyeopener on a lot of levels. It boost your ideas and your energy.

Warren Nilsson, Francois Bonnici, Kurt April, Mugendi M'Rithaa and of course Marlon Parker and the other speakers of RLab do a very good job in offering you excellent, clear and rich content.

par piyush m

25 mai 2020

This course is very much helpful to make ourself thing abroad about the system we live in, and have new innovative solution of any problem with different tangible and untangible resources with observing the ideation and prototype our idea in a enculcating way of aboundance

par Aoyumi J

13 déc. 2018

I like it!

A good course to dig deep into different layers of problems and find creative ways to tackle it.

The way can be right there which is called hidden resources or available asset that we do not know and try to find something superficial... This is so cool for me!

par duvraska m

28 sept. 2020

This course opened space to reflect, ask myself, seek resources and take action before I was ready. But above all to value experience as a differentiating resource. Recognize my strengths and start from there to innovate and positively impact my community in the future.

par Felipe H

30 sept. 2016

I'll strongly recommend this course for those who are interested to introduce themselves to the Social Enterprise world from scratch. Very well explained, easy to understand, logic order for the content, true stories as an examples, inspirational. 100% recommended!

par Ayush K

20 mai 2020

This course is amazing it really helped me to get out of my comfort zone and think about what I can do to bring a social change within my possibilities and I was amazed that I could really think out some very beautiful ideas which I never thought of doing before.

par Giuliana Z

9 juil. 2019

It was amazing doing this course! The first step to start my social innovation and to bring real change to the world. If you want to learn more about social impact, start shaping your own idea and get pratical examples around the world, this course is for you!