Chevron Left
Retour à Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society par Université du Michigan

4.9
127 notes
30 avis

À propos du cours

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

Meilleurs avis

JQ

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

NI

Aug 26, 2019

This is good enough to understand about the basic of sleeping.. Everyone should take this course it has good knowledge.Teachers are nice.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 30 Examens pour Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

par olivier h

Dec 27, 2018

The content is excellent but this is not intended for "beginners" as advertised. The lectures are very interesting and the overall level is high. You need to have some good knowledge about the structure and the working of the brain or you won't be able to follow the lectures (the level is higher than with most MooC here) The main problem with this MooC though is that there is nothing more than academic lectures. The forum are empty, there is no (sense of) community, this long course (12 weeks) lacks some storytelling linking weeks together, and, worse of all, the quizzes are useless: very short, simplistic, you may even pass guessing the correct answers. Such high level lectures demand for high quality quizzes allowing the students to really test and challenge the acquired knowledge. Quizzes and all sorts of interactive exercises must be included in the experience. If we only get video lectures, why not publish a DVD with a companion book ?

par Miranda C

Aug 02, 2018

I would highly recommend ALL students whom are interested in Sleep Medicine to enrol on this most FASCINATING, ENGROSSING and WORTHWHILE COURSE. The course tutors on this online course instill into you the DRIVING FORCE to forge ahead with learning a whole new range of knowledge in Sleep Medicine and Neurobiology. The course is quite difficult, but then my philosophy is that ANYTHING THAT IS WORTH ACHIEVING IS NOT EASILY GAINED and this is TRUE of this Sleep Medicine, Neurobiology and Society course; however, do NOT allow the difficulty of this course to discourage you - TAKE IT AS A CHALLENGE. A challenge that will open up a new avenue of learning and knowledge for yourself and your personal future and future career. GOOD LUCK. And you will NOT be disappointed, you will be entirely IMMERSED and ENGROSSED with this most fascinating course.

par Eric T

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course !

I really enjoyed this course ! All the modules are clear enough to understand the basis of the neurobiology of sleep and to become familiar with basic concepts and mechanisms from neurobiology of sleep and neuroscience. Very Impressed with how detailed and rigorous the course is ! The" honor track" is particularly challenging and fascinating ( especially mathematical modeling of Sleep-Wake Regulation and Molecular biology and Genetics of Sleep)

Thank you Professor Ralph Lydic and Helen Baghdoyan !

par Mohammed M A

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course designed to address real life problems of sleeping disorders. Thank you all!

par Aldi L

Feb 13, 2019

Very informative and well explained !!

par kishore k

Mar 05, 2019

It was really useful for me to know about the science behind why and how we actually sleep.

par DANIEL R

Dec 08, 2018

Superior presentation of well organized material.

par Sadam M Y

Sep 26, 2018

thank you very much , it was very useful

par Alexis B

Aug 12, 2018

This is a very good course that bring you an update to the current evidence of sleep and help you to understands the mechanic and purpose of sleep.

par Nayme O D

Jan 27, 2018

great

par Bentata K

Dec 10, 2017

my best MOOC never seen in sleep medicine, Thanks a lot for this great work

par Thiago D M

Mar 04, 2018

Very good course! I liked it a lot not only on professional perspective, but also personally to understand the importance of a good sleep and how everything is related.

par Marcelo C C

May 01, 2018

Excelent lectures.

par JOHN Q

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

par Djana R

Dec 23, 2017

Great course! |Recommended!

par Duane F

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and look forward to continuing my education on the subject.

par Nicola J

May 05, 2019

Excellent course in which I learnt much about sleep, sleep disorders and the effects of sleep deprivation. Some of the modules I found challenging but all were of interest and I learnt much. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

par Adebisi A A

Jun 19, 2019

Excellent

par Levi C

Jun 27, 2019

Very interesting and informative!

par SUSHIL K S V

May 30, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and among the best ones that is from the University of Michigan on this platform. More this way!!

par Dr R d

Aug 14, 2019

awesome and highly valauable .

par Nimra I

Aug 26, 2019

This is good enough to understand about the basic of sleeping.. Everyone should take this course it has good knowledge.Teachers are nice.

par Huu K N

Jul 06, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

par Kleber L d S

Oct 09, 2019

Muito satisfeito.

par Dr. D K

Nov 09, 2019

Concise yet thorough. Well structured.