Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness par Université de Rochester

4.8
étoiles
417 évaluations

À propos du cours

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Meilleurs avis

MA

3 févr. 2022

My very first online course and I never expected that this would be of high quality teaching. The professor knows very well what he is talking about and can clearly convey the idea of SDT. Splendid!

AZ

19 déc. 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 154 Avis pour Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

par laila s

29 juil. 2019

wonderful content. I'm looking forward to researching the topic myself!

par Özge K

7 juil. 2019

It was an amazing overview to see everything about SDT in a nutshell!

par Colin W S

13 mars 2019

useful and simple introduction to SDT

It's also pretty motivating.

par Jai F

28 nov. 2019

This is a great primer on an amazing theoretical framework.

par Katarzyna M

19 mars 2019

Fantastic review of SDT reserach across various domains.

par CPerezBrown

5 oct. 2019

Excellent course, thanks a lot Coursera!!!

par Stephan S

2 mai 2020

Exceptional course. Highly recommended

par María d C O R

7 août 2019

¡Muy buen curso! ¡Enriquecedor!

Gracias

par Georgios M

29 avr. 2020

amazing course! i strongly recommend!

par Eduardo L V

8 sept. 2020

Great course, I loved it so much, I

par Arkar S N

10 sept. 2019

It's good for me to future

par Vasanthi V

7 août 2020

Thank you so much!

par DR.B.SELVAMUTHUKRISHNAN

8 juil. 2020

Very good course

par louis f d m p s

27 avr. 2020

Very motivating

par gerrycheung

15 sept. 2019

非常棒的一门课,让人大开眼界。

par Laura R

13 mai 2019

Aprendí mucho.

par Edouard T

3 déc. 2019

Loved it !

par Md M

7 juil. 2020

very well

par Muhammad Z H

9 nov. 2019

Thanks

par MANJUNATHA K N

27 mai 2020

good

par Hein M S

25 janv. 2020

Good

par Alex W

1 août 2021

I've just stuck to the videos because the readings are inaccessible at my level.

I wish that in the videos, instead of distracting imagery, dot points backing up the narration were used.

Whenever studies were used to support the claims in the videos, graphs were shown of the data. I am in week 4 and still have not seen a graph that I could decipher. This has resulted in me having to lean heavily on the lecturer's decription of the results, in order to understand to material. If the graphs had more accessible language in the indices and the lecturer spent some time explaining to how to read each graph (pointing for instance) while speaking about the results, then I could perhaps understand them and maybe be able to make up my own mind about the findings, instead of having to kind of just take them on blind faith or square them with my reality by leaning heavily on introspection into my own experience.

Having made all these criticisms I still think this course is totally worth it. I'm finding that I'm learning more about studies that I've heard of years ago in managment podcasts, and I'm pleased to be developing a firmer foundation on these topics that I've been interested in for such a long time.

Although SDT maybe just a bunch of theory, I am finding that the way that it conceptualises human behaviour and motivation is meshing really well with what I'm learned in life and work so far, and I'm glad of having this framework to work with, going forward, and excited to see how the field of neuropsychology use it. Furthermore I've discovered some great relevance of this theory to my personal life as a person with ADHD, and am excited to try some of the ideas its given me in my own life, and even share them if I feel they work.

If you take this theory seriously and think deeply on it, you'll find more and more questions come up for you as to the implications of the facts it would seem to reveal. If you find grappling with the questions of human motivation exciting, I'm sure you will enjoy this course.

par Xinyuan X

7 mars 2021

Great lecturer, content can be a bit repetitive at times. Watched the videos on 1.5 playback speed.

par Garima

31 mai 2021

Prof. Ryan, abig thanks for making the course so much intresting, informative yet easy to sail through. I really liked the way course was delivered. i did the course I have deloped intrest in human well being amd I can say produdly that this is one of the nest things taht happend in this pandameic. I want to express my heartiest gratitute to prof Ryan and Courseera for offering this course. It has untangled many nots of dobuts which was not able to oprn from quite a some time. Again a big thanks.

par Zeynep B

11 mai 2021

As a Coach, SDT brought me a very simple yet very useful perspective. From my coaching practices to my one to one relationships, I always look at these 3 basic psychological needs, to see where my team/coachees demotivated during a project or in interpersonal relationships. I am very very happy to meet SDT and hope to keep touch with SDT community for my and my coacheees self-development. I thank to Coursera to give me this opprtunity as well. Best! Zeynep B.