Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness par Université de Rochester

4.8
étoiles
417 évaluations

À propos du cours

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Meilleurs avis

MA

3 févr. 2022

My very first online course and I never expected that this would be of high quality teaching. The professor knows very well what he is talking about and can clearly convey the idea of SDT. Splendid!

AZ

19 déc. 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 154 Avis pour Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

par Oliver K

21 févr. 2022

G​reat contents. The didactics are not so helpful, though:

-​ The video visuals mostly consist of stock photographs, some headings, and the occasional first page of some paper. So the visuals are mostly decorative and do not contain much helpful content. There are no slides for download and for review after the course. This makes studying for the quizzes really hard.

-​ The officially required reading are 50-100 pages of papers per week. This is too much (compared to what is checked in the quizzes), and also not a good format to use for studying for the quizzes.

-​ The quizzes often use negated questions ("Which of the following is NOT an example of …"), which is completely irrelevant for checking whether the student has understood the material, but it increases the chances of getting the answer wrong by accident.

-​ The feedback to the incorrectly answered quiz questions only shows which questions the student got wrong, but not which option was wrong and which would have been correct. This is very unhelpful for reading the feedback and learning from it.

A​ll in all, not a good course for learning about this topic. The time would be better spend reading the recommended book. (And I really would have expected a professor of psychology to exhibit better didactic skills. After all, how learning works and what a teacher can do to support this is part of the field of psychology.)

par Lina

27 mai 2021

Repetitive. Autonomy is key.

par Sepidehsadat S

27 janv. 2022

Such an excellent course! I took this course only out of curiosity, and I enjoyed every minute of it. It helped me understand myself and how what I've been through in life affected my personality. What I've learned in this course sounds very logical and intelligent, and hopefully, I can use the content to improve the quality of my life.

par Kirti A

19 janv. 2022

​The course had great structure and an even better tutor! The best thing was that we were taught about the theory by one of the founders of the theory himself. Big thanks to Professor Ryan. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about SDT and am now motivated to delve deeper into this comprehensive theory.

par Abhay S A

28 avr. 2022

amazing course really an different to deal with problems in our daily life it was so helpful that even by taking this course I was felling that I am ganing true knowledge. REALLY NOTHING WAS REPEATED EVERY SESSION WAS SOMETHING NEW I JUST LOVED IT.

par Arturo I H J

7 mars 2022

SDT is one the best ways to explain how motivation works for the human race.

Definitely it has apported to the psychology field and we should know it if we are trying to understand a little more the human behavior.

¡bravo!

par Mary H A

4 févr. 2022

My very first online course and I never expected that this would be of high quality teaching. The professor knows very well what he is talking about and can clearly convey the idea of SDT. Splendid!

par Mohd S

21 mai 2022

Amazing course which covers psychological needs satisfaction over a wide range of cultures, socioeconomic statuses, professions, activities, skills and work settings.

par Hemanth H

24 juin 2022

Great course that reflect on Self determination, Intrinsic motivation that lead to one's development and wellness as well.

par Carola M R

3 févr. 2022

Great introduction to the theory, gives you a overview with great examples, angles and the studies are very interesting.

par Yuka K

24 mars 2022

I really wanted to understand the basic idea of SDT before my master program begins, and this course helped me a lot!

par Carol L M H

19 févr. 2022

Very enlightening! This really explains a lot concerning motivation of individuals and how it can be enhanced.

par Roopali S

4 mai 2022

This course was well expalined with backed researches and papaers to prove their theories.

par John R

30 janv. 2022

​Enjoyable, I learnt a lot and it was very clear. Interesting.

par Shashvat S

9 mai 2022

Really boosted my motivation level. Thanks

par Kartavya O

20 juin 2022

ThIS COURSE IS AMAZING!

par pranav b

2 mai 2022

It was great course!

par Saer T

9 mai 2022

very very good

par Rudra T

22 avr. 2022

Great learning

par Ataa T

20 janv. 2022

I loved it

par Ritesh K

15 juin 2022

Excellent

par MESTOUR A

18 avr. 2022

Thank you

par Rajesh K P

27 mai 2022

Good one

par DR H D

16 avr. 2022

oo