Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
3,408 évaluations
977 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 959 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Irina C

Jun 06, 2016

Exceptional course! I am very grateful to Profesor Robert Wright for putting together this exquisite course - I enjoyed his interesting manner of teaching, his dedication to the course, the interview with prominent figures and his dogs :)

par Frederic L

Jun 05, 2017

Very nice course. Prof. Wright does an excellent job reviewing the link between Modern Psychology and Buddhism using an appropriate numbers of practitioners and scientists to discuss the topics.

I look forward to read his upcoming book.

par Parthsarthi D

Jan 08, 2018

This is one of the well designed and delivered course, which looks at the philosophy of Buddhism and Modern psychological theory of Mind to convince a rational logical person to understand the depth of Buddhism to alleviate suffering.

par kaiser m i

Dec 10, 2015

Most vibrant course about Buddhism and Meditation that I have ever encountered with. Starting with four noble truth, No-self and so on. I believe at the end of the course it might be skyrocketing me toward the emptiness. Simply great.

par Mark P

Apr 23, 2018

Hits the spot! A sound approach to understanding where the natural elements of Buddhism and modern science might meet and how this can be applied to everyday life and developed further. I will certainly want to continue this journey.

par Monika N

Jul 23, 2017

Thank you for the course, it was very interesting to follow, learn something about the Buddhist theory and the theory of evolutionary psychology. And everything nicely made clear through the almost enlightened dogs Milo and Frasier.

par Ruben G T

Feb 02, 2016

Excellent course that shows how Buddhism can be rationally compared with modern psychology and how that comparison results in acceptance of its objectives, rules and believes since it is a "modern" philosophy from hundred years ago.

par Jinwei Z

Jan 09, 2020

the course give a different view of the connection between Buddhism and Modern Psychology. It also structured the Buddhism very easy to understand. This is not the end of my Buddhism study. I hope to study more of it in the future.

par César L T P

Jul 22, 2019

This is the first time I take an online course and I liked it a lot. I could learn from people who are aware of Buddhism and Modern Psychology. Great videos, interesting readings, amazing information, great professor. Thanks a lot.

par Marcio T

Nov 15, 2016

The course makes parallels between the main Buddhist concepts and current science and psychology views. Many reading materials and extra videos and sources are provided. Prof Wright is clear, clever and humorous. Excellent course.

par Juan L R

Mar 26, 2018

Very interesting course, with good examples on how Modern Psychology is somehow supporting (in my view) many of the pilars of Buddhism, and as well a deeper understanding of how our brain was buil from an evolutionary perspective

par Bhuwan D

Nov 03, 2019

Nice to see this Buddhist psychological course, to move a achieving success the power of mind & felt retention of working capability. I know it clearly by that lecture he introduced as a better command or knowledgeable capacity.

par Joëlle B

Feb 19, 2018

This course are extremely interesting ! I appreciate in particular the intellectual honesty of the professor.This course gives a lot has to think. I was able in particular to make links with the Swiss and French "Daseinanalyse".

par Blanca I M R

Jul 02, 2017

Very good course. Robert is very real, very good in explaining concepts. I was taking n independent course about Buddism and it was easy to relate both courses. I just thing that the videos are too long. Its very dificult to wat

par Chung Q

Jan 09, 2020

Robert is a great teacher, explains the core concept of awakening/enlightenment correctly based on real life experiences as I awakened and then seek further knowledge in this course to deepen my own understanding of awakening.

par Fergal O

Apr 01, 2018

In 6 modules, Wright provided an excellent foundation for understanding Buddhism and its relation to modern psychological science. I am happy to better understand my own meditation practice. I am primed for more on this topic.

par andrew

Nov 26, 2017

This course was fascinating. The theory on mind modules and how it explains how mindfulness and meditation center us is very persuasive. I would do one of this guys courses again in a heartbeat. The best I've done on Coursera.

par Zachary B

Nov 05, 2015

A very well-informed and presented study of the ways in which various parts of Buddhism can be investigated by and compared with modern psychology. A valuable class for those interested in Buddhism, psychology, and meditation.

par Bracha R

Feb 06, 2017

I absolutely loved this course, I found it to be really interesting and insightful. I think the professor was excellent and explained certain concepts in a very simple and understandable manner :) highly highly recommended!

par Cintia K

Mar 31, 2018

This course is absolutely amazing. The professor is excellent! He explains clearly in a very easy way to understand the connections between psychology and buddhist teachings. I have only watched week 1 and already love it!

par Himanshu P

Jul 19, 2017

It is a very well designed course. I admire the diligence put behind the content and attempts to explain the parallels between modern psychology and Buddhist practices. This also marks a beginning of a new learning for me.

par kathleen W

Jan 31, 2020

I learned a lot from Professor Wright. It was entertaining as well informative. This course made me think more deeply about Buddhism in the context of our modern world with a specific emphasis on evolutionary psychology.

par David F

Sep 25, 2017

I enjoyed this course immensely. It challenged my thinking quite a bit and introduced new orders of thought. I would recommend this class to anyone with an open mind and looking to stretch their current thinking process.

par Maya L

Mar 07, 2019

Interesting topics with clear lectures and guest speakers that bring added value. I really enjoyed this course and it contributed to my understanding of the strengths of buddhism and motivation to continue on this path.

par Marlet Q O

Oct 05, 2017

Muy buen curso! Ayuda a entender de una manera muy fácil y practica el Budismo, la meditación y sus beneficios. Lo recomiendo amplia mente a aquellas personas que estén interesadas en conocer más acerca de estos temas.