Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,131 évaluations
1,728 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 1,697 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Ming C

2 juin 2020

Great free course with good organization, user friendly IT platform and supporting materials. Dr. Wright is presented clearly and the messages are precisely delivered. One of my feedback to improve is, as a Chinese , I find the translation is even worse than I straightly studying the English . Also, the Chinese translation is not attached in every session and hence I prefer I don't rely on it. Hope someone can revise it.

par Patty L

17 sept. 2016

Professor Wright did an outstanding job of presenting the fundamental principles of Buddhism and Evolutionary Psychology in a manner that a newcomer to these disciplines can understand. My greatest take away from the course will be further exploration of these ideas through the varied and rich resources he provided. My personal favorites were Bikkhu Bodhi, Judson Brewer and Joseph Goldstein.

Thank you Professor Wright

par Joseph S

9 juin 2020

Pleased to find a course that enables me to update personal views on Science and Meditation. I plan on reading more of professors Wright's books. Buddhism brought me to meditation a practice which has enriched my life considerably. I began practice at a time when science and psychology were just beginning to investigate meditation. It is very gratifying and beneficial personally to find this course on-line. Thank you.

par Jasna T

18 juil. 2017

Robert Wright gives and amazing integration of Buddhism with Psychology. He teaches in unique way, integrating professionals and spiritualists and their conversations and insights into the lessons. The lectures are interesting and enjoyable adding much value to one's own personal development. It was a wonderful couple of month journey, I even feel like I'm gonna miss Robert and Maylo and Frazier. Strongly recommended!

par Shannon O

29 oct. 2015

I still only partially through this course but I am very impressed. The professor is excellent; he brings humor into the lessons and explains everything in a way that we can understand. I also love the fact that he interviews various experts throughout the course in order to bring in even more perspectives. This class is extremely interesting to me and beyond my expectations. Thanks to the professor and to Coursera!

par Sian P

28 juin 2020

I gained a lot from this course - specifically from the style of dialogue and reflective discussions that Robert Wright adopts as his teaching approach on this complex subject. I thoroughly enjoyed the Professor's humourous engagement with his dogs in sharing in his reflective teachings of Buddhism, and will personally take a lot from this course into my own approach to life and meditation practice. Thank you!!

par James F

21 avr. 2020

I found this course a good way to consolidate what I learned through reading Professor Wright's book 'Why Buddhism is True'. The lectures contain much of the same content, it is great to hear the delivery from Robert and I found the Office Hours segments interesting and engaging. Completion of the two course assignments provided some focus and I enjoyed writing a couple of essays for the first time in 20 years.

par Mihkel H

6 févr. 2017

I'm very happy to have found this course. He has put together a sound explanation of what ulimately troubles us, the origins of those feelings, and solutions, starting with first taking a step back and understanding the big picture and then, well, in theory that shoud do it. However far teachings like this take people, I only see positives for someone, who understands the inner workings of a brain a bit better.

par Charles d S

11 janv. 2017

Excellent course. Thoughtfully presented, by an instructor with considerable expertise in the field of evolutionary psychology who has also spent a lot of time thinking about religions and religious experience. Wright is ideally suited to navigate the content, and his interviews with other experts in the fields (and the fields are diverse) add greatly to the learning experience. Fantastic experience overall.

par DanielSubach

21 févr. 2016

Terrific course and delivered by one of the most intellectual persons I have ever encountered. Fabulous course and well presented in a logical flowing detail covering the concepts and technical relationships exceptionally. Robert Wright is one of the best teachers and assembled a difficult course for delivery in a beautiful fashion. All modules excellent. The flow of the information and logic was great.

par Maria D

11 juil. 2020

El curso me ha servido mucho, proporciona bastante información en los dos aspectos. tanto el científico como el del budismo y te lleva a sacar tus propias conclusiones.Creo que personalmente me deja una alternativa confiable para mejorar mi calidad de vida y mejorar mi relaciones con los demás y el entorno. Estoy satisfecha y Mi reconocimiento al Dr. Robert Wright por compartir sus conocimientos. Gracias

par Ruth P

2 juin 2020

I learned so much about evolutionary psychology and Buddhism and how they might be connected from excellent lectures cleverly sectioned into easy bites to digest, from the highly entertaining office hours and from the diverse variety of additional resources to compliment the main content. You honestly can't cover more ground in a six week online course - and if you like dogs, this course is for you!

par Benita N

3 déc. 2020

Really great content! I joined this course to understand the mechanisms behind meditation and learned so much more than I thought I would, which really allows me to buy into meditation. It also helps me set intention in my meditation practice and reflect more meaningfully. Everything is also well packaged, organized, and the office hours include clips of the instructor's dogs, which is always fun(:

par GAYATRI G

8 juin 2020

I enjoyed this course by Prof Wright - found it to be very interesting and at the same time quite intense. The references to evolutionary psychology and the various writers, scientists and practicing Buddhists he introduced us to via their work and videos was especially informative. His office hours were refreshing and I always looked forward to seeing Milo and Frasier. Thankyou for a good course.

par Katya R

4 nov. 2015

I really enjoyed this course! I have had an interest in Buddhist ideas, particularly meditation, but come from a very scientific mindset and want to see all ideas supported by experiments and empirical evidence. This course does a great job connecting results from psychology and neuroscience that aren't specifically about testing Buddhist philosophy and explaining how they support these ideas.

par Jagdeep G

18 août 2016

The Course is well designed. It takes you through the Buddhist principles and co-relates how the findings of Modern Psychology are supportive of Buddha's teachings.It has normally been held that Religion and Science cannot converge.However this Course has to a large extent been able to show that it is possible to explain the matters of conciousness and beyond in terms of modern psychology

par Joe W

6 juil. 2016

I think professor Wright is an effective teacher. The class introduces these concepts in a clear way. It isn't academically challenging in the sense that there are difficult assignments, but there are a couple essays that help ensure that you are understanding the content. It's a great introduction for someone who knows little about Buddhism or how it stands from a psychological standpoint.

par Paula S

22 juin 2017

I am only half way through this course but I am addicted! It is exactly what I have been looking for not only to help me understand the basics of Buddhism in layman terms but in to offer scientific explanations to back it up. Robert Wright is easy to understand and easy to connect to, I think he has done an amazing job at putting this course together and presenting it, so I say THANK YOU!

par Matthew B

21 sept. 2016

Robert Wright does an excellent job presenting Buddhist ideas and putting them into context with modern psychology studies. I felt he offered a unique and scientific approach to the discourses and very much enjoyed his interviews and insights. The questions at the end of every lecture were very helpful to solidify new concepts. I look forward to digging deeper into supplemental materials.

par LARA D C S D O

11 juin 2020

I would classify it as an intruduction course to the subject, because the reltion between Buddhism and Evolutionary Psychology bears more substantial and deeper study. Dr. Wright is very knowdgable and the resources and materials he includes in the course are very interesting.

PS - I strated looking forward the Office hours videos due to his humour and his special guests Frasier and Milo.

par Gavin D

7 juin 2016

This is the first Coursera course that I have taken, and I was extremely glad to have taken it. Robert Wright is a wonderful lecturer - extremely intelligent, engaging and also adds some fun to the content.

Thank you Robert - I learnt a surprising amount in many unexpected areas. I am glad to have encountered you and am already beginning to seek out other material that you have produced.

par Andrea P M

27 juil. 2020

I liked this course a lot. If you don´t know anything about Buddhism or Modern Psychology, you don´t have to worry, the concepts are easy to grasp and the content throughout the whole course is very interesting. If you do have some knowledge of Buddhism and even in Psychology this course will give you another perspective on their basic and core ideas and how they relate to each other.

par Brianna C

1 déc. 2019

I took this course more than four years ago and I still think about it often. I have taken in-person classes at three different institutions and am now pursuing my PhD. Among all the courses I've participated in throughout my education, this remains one of my favorites. It stretched my thinking and caused me to reconsider some of the ways I thought the world and human experience work.

par Carlos S

20 janv. 2016

Good Balance explaining Modern Psychology and Buddhism as well as how the former has aided to support empirically most of the observations laid out by the latter centuries ago. Lectures are very insightful and carefully crafted turning the whole six week course into a delightful experience to those interested not only in Buddhism but also in Modern Psychology and behavioural theory.

par Martin E

26 mai 2020

I would like to recommend this course to anyone interested in Buddhism who is looking for different and more down-to-earth perspectives on the teachings. I personally gained a lot of valuable insight on how the mind works and how this correlates with Buddhist ideas. Prof. Wright is a wonderful teacher, I especially enjoyed the office hours videos featuring his "enlightened dogs". :)