Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
3,245 notes
921 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 903 Examens pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Wind

Jun 15, 2017

I've taken more than 10 courses on coursera, edx and udacity and this is the one course that I love most so far! I've read a few books on meditation and evolution by now and I have to say I learned from this professor more than any other people on these two subjects. And let's not forget it's actually a course on buddhism. So thank you so much for this course! One big aha moment for me for example is "evolution doesn't care about whether we're happy but it does care that we care about we're being happy. And that's how evolution 'designed' us to do its bidding." That's so mind blowing.

par Maxim K

Dec 28, 2015

Very nice course indeed, aimed at development of understanding of connections existing between Buddhism and Psychology. Robert Wright teaches online as I would expect it to be done in-person.

par Jay L

Nov 13, 2015

Intellectually challenging yet clearly explained, this is the best class I have taken through Coursera. Dr. Wright is an insightful lecturer and provides a look at both Buddhism and modern psychology in a straight forward way clearing both subjects of unnecessary cultural clutter and jargon. As both subjects are analyzed in a logical, compelling manner, it becomes evident how their relationship informs us about the human situation through our evolutionary past and in our crisis ridden modern world. Very thought provoking and inspiring.

par Rodrigo

Sep 05, 2016

Amazing course with lots of reflections and insights!

par Guillermo

May 06, 2018

Excellent

par Ranjana S

Oct 15, 2017

Very insightful

par TM

Apr 21, 2017

This is a brilliant course by an amazing professor. One of my favourite courses ever.

I took this course twice. And it made a huge impact on my life, without exaggeration. Since then I went a couple of times to silence retreats Prof. Wright mentions in the course, follow and learn from the teachers he talks about.

Can't be more grateful for this course.

par Larry W

Dec 31, 2015

Content and lectures are awesome. Wright is a brilliant teacher.

par Noemi S

Jan 10, 2017

Very useful introduction to the topic! This is a course accessible for all, but at the same time it is very rich in the information supplied.

par Catleah C

Aug 10, 2016

Professor Wright tells things simply- and in a straightforward manner, even some of the more complex ideas, he explains eruditely. Prof. Wright offers many helpful resources, including third-party experts, the readings, articles, videos, and office hours in particular really help enrich the subject matter. I would recommend this course to any one who has even peripheral interest in psychology or buddhism, meditation, and the scientific implications of the practice. Thank you for offering this course!

par Anastase K

Jan 08, 2017

Congratulation to Robert Wright for his kind and human approach and for helping us to become better people through

par Alejandra R W V

Jan 28, 2016

Thank you very much for this!! I´m living every minute of it

par Bart S

Apr 21, 2016

great course, do it again

par Pedro V

Apr 11, 2017

Half-way trough and loving it.

par Joanne Q

Dec 17, 2016

The content of the course is accessible for those newer to the study of Buddhism or psychology, at the same time offering new and intriguing ideas and resources for folks like myself who have some experience in both studies. Dr. Wright does a brilliant job of guiding the student through the materials using interview videos with experts from across disciplines. If any changes were to be made to this course, I would suggest incorporating other kinds of videos and adding a reference list of all the research referenced during the course (providing the research would be especially awesome - the Science of Happiness course does a brilliant job of this). Many thanks for the opportunity to learn from and dialogue with Dr. Wright and all his accomplished and interesting guests.

par Fernando P

Apr 02, 2018

Great course, very engaging lectures.

par Quan N

Feb 15, 2016

This is my first philosophy course. Many concepts were introduced but they are well explained with good reference materials. I have learned a lot thanks to the teacher's dedication in building the course

par Farahnaz F

Nov 15, 2016

Professor Wright was great! I loved this course.

par p.manicka s

May 01, 2017

This is a fantastic course for anyone interested in Buddhism and gives an entirely different perspective on anatta and sunyata. Dr.Wright has taken lot of pain and the course material (audio, video, text, web links) is excellent. The mentors in the forum are very good and did a wonderful job in moderating the discussions.

par Blanca I M R

Jul 02, 2017

Very good course. Robert is very real, very good in explaining concepts. I was taking n independent course about Buddism and it was easy to relate both courses. I just thing that the videos are too long. Its very dificult to wat

par Vamshi K

Apr 01, 2016

This is simply awesome. Professor Robert Wright has combined modern psychology and evolutionary psychology with Buddhism so seamlessly and complimentar-ily. I loved the course all along.

par Pablo S S

Oct 24, 2016

Fantastic course: deep and insightful. Professor Goto-Jones is a wonderful and wise lecturer, I strongly recommend this course to anyone.

par Effimia S

Oct 29, 2017

Great course, great professor, great material!

par Fabian M

Apr 21, 2016

Just the kind of course that is bound to have a profound impact on my life, giving me tools for tackling the big one amongst all my issues: how to reach happiness. I am very thankful to have such a learned professor willing to share this.

par Risa J F

Mar 23, 2016

Straightforward, very well executed. I love this course!