Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,058 évaluations
1,700 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,669 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Cher R

4 févr. 2018

I've taken several courses on Coursera. I've liked them all, but this was my favorite so far. I also bought Robert Wright's book in addition to a book by Sharon Salzberg referenced in one of the supplemental material videos (week 6). I thought the concepts were well explained, and I enjoyed the short video interviews with experts that appeared throughout. I especially enjoyed the office hours segments and seeing Frazier and Milo. Highly recommended. I will be taking more courses on this topic in the future.

par Doug H

16 août 2020

As a psychologist, with some seminary training, and Christian college teaching experience (25 years) I wanted specific work in this area. I've long been drawn to Buddhism as a philosophy and way of life. I revisited South East Asia (18 months ago) after 50 years of having been in Thailand during the Vietnam war. I was struck by how much Buddhism & its culture had impacted me over my life since 1969. This course has been beneficial to me professionally, and more so personally. Thanks Professor Wright.

par Mara R

25 oct. 2017

This course was really mind-opening for me. It had a great impact on me in a positive way. Maybe it came up at the right moment when my interest for both Buddhism and Modern Psychology grew but it is nevertheless an excellent course with an excellent professor. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in these topics. I am definitely going to continue on the path that this course has opened for me and I am very happy and grateful to Prof. Wright for making this course accessible for free. Thank you!

par Yujin l

15 mai 2018

what a great intellectual stimulation this course provides! after the course, i loved the instructor so much that i enrolled his "bloggingheads" website and read a couple of his famous publications. he is very engaging and great to explain the complex concepts with humor and clarity. he does ramble a lot during his office hours though, which is amusing and thought-provoking at the same time. i highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in philosophy, religion, evolution theory, and/or psychology.

par Catleah C

9 août 2016

Professor Wright tells things simply- and in a straightforward manner, even some of the more complex ideas, he explains eruditely. Prof. Wright offers many helpful resources, including third-party experts, the readings, articles, videos, and office hours in particular really help enrich the subject matter. I would recommend this course to any one who has even peripheral interest in psychology or buddhism, meditation, and the scientific implications of the practice. Thank you for offering this course!

par Ulianych D

8 mai 2016

The course is number one among all ~10 courses I've taken on Coursera platform! Bullet points:

1) The material is given in a structured way and simple to understand because of every-day examples we encounter in our life.

2) Outstanding audio and video quality of the lectures makes Princeton University's coursers more likely to be taken.

3) The lecturer has touched a various of controversial topics (religions, Buddhism in particular) and masterfully aligned them with a modern psychology discoveries.

par Valencia I

27 juil. 2020

Going into this course I had a rudimentary understanding of evolutionary psychology and little to no knowledge on Buddhism. Now I feel like I have a solid base upon which to layer future knowledge on the intersection between these two fascinating worlds. I love how this course is formulated, how it analyzes Buddhism doctrine through the lens of modern psychology. It has revolutionized my thinking and I feel very grateful to Robert Wright and Coursera for this wonderful free resource. Thank you!

par Patricia H V R

29 sept. 2020

Buddhism and modern psychology, is an excellent introductory course towards a broader vision of the value and benefits of Buddhist meditation techniques, as it allows a clear understanding of the principles and logic behind them from a scientific point of view. It is even a source of motivation, both to know more about the subject and to constantly cultivate the meditation techniques, since it induces to know more and to become aware of the benefits of linking their practice to the lifestyle.

par Gabriel W

17 août 2020

This course is very enlightening and different from other courses i have undertaken. I had a different view of Buddhism until Prof Wright introduced me to this course. His relaxed and simple way of explaining the doctrine and linking it to modern psychology with proven research as well as interviewing Buddhist nuns and scholars made it more interesting and understanding. I encourage others to take this course and it will definitely not be a waste of time. Thank your Coursera and Robert Wright.

par KAPIL P

16 juil. 2020

This course is one of the must do courses for the ones who want to acknowledge the unseen universal order of human life; the principles of human mind; the simple behavioral response pattern of the human mind. Moreover this course gives a name and and a proper definition for the experiences we had, for those which we weren't able to give a reason why or a name what. Besides understanding concepts and the comparative study , one gets to know the simple facts of oneself moving through the course.

par Andrea M R

7 mai 2020

It was a great experience to get involved into the Buddhism during the lockdown. One comment for improving: while sending the Middle term and Final Assignments, some students didn't attach their works, so, the advice is adding a button to inform those students that their work is not there, otherwise the system do not permit to send any other feedback to others students, unless you qualified to the student in any way, and if there is no document attached the qualification must to be zero...

par Deleted A

4 nov. 2015

Una maravilla de curso. Estuve realizando un intern de meditación 15 días en un santuario budista de Tailanida (Budismo Theravada).Este curso es muy interesante, las definiciones y ejemplos son claros y concisos. Así mismo, para un estudiante de psicología como yo la relación científica con la rama más actual del busimos "occidental" explicada en estas lectures es excelente. Recomendable si estas algo puesto en el tema, recomendable si no estas puesto en el tema.

Be water, my friend

Domingo

par Aurora M

29 juin 2020

I

loved every part of this course! I learned so much and understood a lot specifically during this time of the COVID pandemic. It helped me personally begin partial meditation for relaxation. There should definitely be a part II to this course for those whom would like to continue analyzing Buddhism in connection to modern psychology. Professor Wright is amazing in bringing in interviews from other professionals, it kept the lectures interesting. I will miss seeing Milo and Frazier!

par Eduardo C

12 mai 2020

I think the Course and its contents are very interesting, and answer a necessity in this day and age: the link between Science and Buddhism from an academic point of view. Professor Wright is extremely gentle in his transmission, and he has a genuine curiosity that goes in line with the central aspects of Buddhism. You can see that this is truly a passion of his.

I only wish that this Course was certified, because the themes are a great addition to everyone interested in the subject!

par Frank W

21 juil. 2020

A very excellent course. As a practitioner it helped me look at Buddhism from the outside in. I appreciate that Prof Wright has also attempted to look at it from the inside out from his own mediation. I would suggest including the discussion of more sutra for a more robust review of Buddhist ideas of self and nonself. I highly recommend reviewing Thich Nhat Hanh's Understanding Our Mind---a seminal work on Buddhist psychology. Overall a great course. Prof Wright was very engaging!

par Maria G P

1 déc. 2020

l always wanted to learn about budhisim asosociated to modern science. in this course I learn about the fundaments of both, gave me tooks to implement in my life and a lot of understanding and knowledge for my future students.. I am an expert in happiness and definitely both can be greatfull in my life.

thanks to profesor Robert Wright for his great teachings and wonderfull way of sharing the information

including his guests of valuable information and his lovely dogs. thanks

par Craig S

10 janv. 2016

This is one of if not the best course that I have taken. The instructor is outstanding and I find the lectures well prepared and well delivered. As an anthropology-zoology major and a meditator of about 5-years, I find this course as an incredible bridge between the science of the brain and the practice of mindfulness. I hope that Robert Wright will continue to create offerings for the Coursera world! Thank you so much for creating and providing this material.

Craig Silverman

par Muthu K

25 juil. 2017

The course has been an eye opener for me. I loved the following about this course: The structure, the logical debate, The scientific parallels & misconceptions associated with the theory and overall the views from all the right experts to further light on the topic. The discussion forums and further references were icing on the cake. Overall, i thoroughly enjoyed the learning & would recommend to everyone who is looking to understand oneself/interested in Human psychology.

par Andrew D G

11 janv. 2018

Robert Wright has done an outstanding job putting this course together. I've been practicing Buddhism for 17 years and have never found a more helpful book or course. Just his weekly resources, links, reference books, lectures alone are fantastic not to mention understanding the human brain from a evolutionary psychology point of view and understanding how Buddhist meditation can help improve our natural selection design flaws.

Outstanding job Robert!

Metta,

Andrew Di Genova

par Leo V

30 août 2020

The numerous parallels between Buddhist philosophies and modern psychology are an interesting subject, and this course showcases that in a comprehensive and informative way. The instructor presents facts and his own interpretations, while always encouraging the student to come to his or her own conclusions. Peppered throughout are many interviews and sit-down chats with knowledgeable figures in contemporary Buddhism as well as Evolutionary Psychology. Highly recommended.

par Hanneke B

26 févr. 2016

I am almost at the end of this course and I think it is excellent. The lectures are very clear and are a great starting point if you, like me, don't really know anything about Buddhism. I really enjoyed the connection made with modern psychology; I am afraid otherwise I might have found it too vague and esoteric, but this grounded it more in every day life. I really feel this course has given me some valuable new insights with which to see the world around me and myself.

par Adrián B

16 mai 2020

A very interesting course, with an objective and repetitive vision of the Buddhist religion. Robert Wright, exposes with sincerity and honesty his personal experience in the practice of meditation. On the other hand, the relationship that it establishes between aspects of Buddhism, science and modern psychology are enriching, and they are humbly exposed; very far from panfletarian and dogmatic attitudes that abound in our days. I really enjoyed this course. Thank you.

par Rozina D

9 déc. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It presented some very interesting things and gave a solid overview of the main teachings of naturalistic Buddhism. Professor Wright made sure that we get examples not only from modern science and experiments, but also from experienced Buddhist practitioners who shared their personal point of view on the subject. I think that now I am more equipped to talk about Buddhism from the stand point of modern psychology and how the two compare.

par Blossom C

23 juin 2020

This course is beautifully in-depth in the correlation between Buddhism and Modern Psychology. Prof. Robert explains things so well and I absolutely enjoyed seeing Milo & Frasier every week during Office Hours. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone that wants to expand their knowledge and gain a new idea on the world from a different perspective. Would have appreciated a certificate, but still extremely happy with the knowledge provided in this course.

par Clinton S

1 juin 2020

Robert Wright is a fantastic online tutor. He has the skill of making really hard concepts seem understandable through his intellect and his own life experiences. He follows through with a deep understanding of the topics and his ability to make humor out of the many push backs he gets from people using the extensive social media he has set up too is great to be part of. His dogs seem okay too! Grammarly says my review is "admiring" - that about sums it up.