Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
3,239 notes
920 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 903 Examens pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Jason S

Feb 16, 2017

This is one of the best courses I've taken. Interesting, fast paced and life changing.

par Erich C

Dec 17, 2016

Awesome course given by a very charismatic instructor, with the curious participation of his 2 furred sidekicks. The contents of this course are very useful for our everyday life, by helping us increase our awareness of mental processess. Also very useful for people who are willing to start meditating and improving welfare.

par suprita s

Mar 18, 2016

An excellent course. Highly recommended.

par Zaher A H

Nov 14, 2016

Great Course

par Germano G d F

Jun 27, 2017

This was my first course on either Buddhism and Psychology. I really enjoyed it. The lecturer does a great job and the division of the lessons was perfect. I also enjoyed the "office hours", where the lecturer was more free to express his opinions in an informal way.

par Abhishek P K

Dec 25, 2015

I am finding this course really good.

par Joe M

Jan 21, 2016

This course was very insightful especially the correlation to modern psychology. It has helped me understand so much in depth about our mind works and bring some rational that i had been struggling to comprehend from many spiritual discourses

par Kamil S

Apr 01, 2016

Interesting, important, enlightening:)

par Alison S

Nov 02, 2016

Love this course! Insightful and well presented.

par saman j

Mar 23, 2016

Answered many of my questions!

par Yair D

Dec 13, 2016

Very interesting topic and material (I especially liked the results presented from Psychology research)! The teaching is very good with good pacing and clear presentation of the material (I also liked Prof. Wright's somewhat dry sense of humor, personally).

The load is a bit demanding for a working person if you insist on doing all the extra reading and viewing the extra material (which I did anyway, because it was interesting and I am stubborn :) ) but it's only 6 weeks so you can pull through it, or just stay with the core.

I got out of this course with many interesting ideas to think about, and with 2 books I from which I read some chapters that I would very much like to go on and read completely.

par William H

Oct 20, 2016

Great course!

par Melina C K

Mar 26, 2016

Very informative and interesting course.

I recommend it.

par Olafur T Y

Jul 23, 2017

Short and easily digestible material, excellently communicated by prof. Wright.

par Kivilcim K

Mar 28, 2016

excellent course

par Andre u d c f

Mar 05, 2016

beautiiful job

par Julian S

Feb 10, 2016

An amazing course for those looking to understand themselves, the world, and social interactions. This course is scientifically grounded, using the results of numerous studies to examine the human intellect and it's biases, and includes talks with various world-renowned Buddhist meditators and psychology researchers.

par Zachary B

Nov 05, 2015

A very well-informed and presented study of the ways in which various parts of Buddhism can be investigated by and compared with modern psychology. A valuable class for those interested in Buddhism, psychology, and meditation.

par Lauren C

May 14, 2017

Loved this class. First online course I ever saw through until the end. Informative (interesting lectures and readings), fun (informal office hours videos w/the Professor and his dogs) and applicable to everyday life (learning about meditation benefits).

par Andrew D G

Jan 11, 2018

Robert Wright has done an outstanding job putting this course together. I've been practicing Buddhism for 17 years and have never found a more helpful book or course. Just his weekly resources, links, reference books, lectures alone are fantastic not to mention understanding the human brain from a evolutionary psychology point of view and understanding how Buddhist meditation can help improve our natural selection design flaws.

Outstanding job Robert!

Metta,

Andrew Di Genova

par Daniel S

Jun 17, 2016

Prof. Wright provides students with an insightful range of knowledge which is bound to impact the way you see the world. I congratulate the professor, the teaching/research assistants, my colleagues and Coursera as a platform for making this a truly enriching experience. I registered for this course not knowing what to expect and it is revealing to see how an online class has provided me a way to see the world anew, bridging differences between the East and the West, the ancient and the modern, and the humanities and the sciences. Thank you!

par Teresa S Y T

Jul 31, 2016

An absolute gem! Professor really presents the right breadth and depth required whether you are new to Buddhism, experienced Buddhist practitioner or someone who just want to know the Buddhism and its correspondence with Modern psychology (or someone who just want to analyse and review validity either/or/both Buddhism and Modern psychology for themselves). Professional also makes exceptional effort to interview some of the most important names in Modern psychology and Buddhism researches to interpret scriptures and shares their empirical experiences.

I must admin, the first 2 weeks was a little tedious for me as those are concepts that I am quite familiar with and that on a practical level, it was introducing fundamental Buddhism concepts, its scholastic interpretations and the importance of experiential aspect of meditation, all of those I was both familiar with (on an experiential level) and contains an academic depth that was not exactly required by me.

But from week 3 onwards that's where things get SUPER interesting and fascinating. Professor start debunking different interpretations of the "No-self" notion taught by Buddhism's 2nd sermon. This is an aspect of Buddhism that I always had difficulty accepting its mainstream interpretation and voila - the 3 parts lecture really clears all the mist for good. Office hour provides further doubt clearing and discussions forums are active and bustling with students with all arrays of discussions!

A completely random sidenote: This course provides a bonus perks for dog lover from week 2 office hours onwards... :D

par Antonio E D

Dec 14, 2016

Recommended, ver interesting and professor Wright and his dogs are awesome!

par Wai S H

May 30, 2016

I learn a lot about our mind from this course.

par Olivia F

Nov 13, 2016

Outstanding perspectives, excellent insights and an awesome professor.