Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
3,406 évaluations
975 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 959 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Anthony F

Jan 30, 2016

Having a BA in Psychology as well as continuously studied Buddhism in the past, I find that this class is a perfect example of how those two worlds collide. I've heard in the past that most religions find themselves being disproved by science today, where as Buddhism is strengthened by science. From that point of view, I think this class is a perfect argument why Psychology should be treated as a science rather than an art in society, with its roots founded in the existence of humanity, and the evolution of humankind.

par Desiree V

Feb 04, 2016

This is one of the best courses I have taken so far. It is very well and intelligently structured and organized, pleasently presented (less is more, I especially liked the calm and unagitated way) and Professor Robert Write makes excellent and astonishing connections between Buddhism and Modern Psychology/Science. He presents complex matter but has the ability to break it down and to explain it in a way that makes it easy to follow. I learned a lot during this course and greatly enjoyed it. Thank you so much!

par George B

Aug 28, 2018

A really informative programme. The sessions are very clear and present the material in a very methodical and straightforward way. I found the whole thing captivating, not least because a number of ideas discussed were completely new to me e.g the modular concept of the mind. The lecturer is engaging, knowledgeable and 'friendly', which isn't an easy thing to do in video format! As the course tile would suggest, If you've any interest in Buddhism and/or modern psychology, then this is the programme for you!

par Cher R

Feb 05, 2018

I've taken several courses on Coursera. I've liked them all, but this was my favorite so far. I also bought Robert Wright's book in addition to a book by Sharon Salzberg referenced in one of the supplemental material videos (week 6). I thought the concepts were well explained, and I enjoyed the short video interviews with experts that appeared throughout. I especially enjoyed the office hours segments and seeing Frazier and Milo. Highly recommended. I will be taking more courses on this topic in the future.

par Mara R

Oct 25, 2017

This course was really mind-opening for me. It had a great impact on me in a positive way. Maybe it came up at the right moment when my interest for both Buddhism and Modern Psychology grew but it is nevertheless an excellent course with an excellent professor. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in these topics. I am definitely going to continue on the path that this course has opened for me and I am very happy and grateful to Prof. Wright for making this course accessible for free. Thank you!

par Yujin l

May 15, 2018

what a great intellectual stimulation this course provides! after the course, i loved the instructor so much that i enrolled his "bloggingheads" website and read a couple of his famous publications. he is very engaging and great to explain the complex concepts with humor and clarity. he does ramble a lot during his office hours though, which is amusing and thought-provoking at the same time. i highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in philosophy, religion, evolution theory, and/or psychology.

par Catleah C

Aug 10, 2016

Professor Wright tells things simply- and in a straightforward manner, even some of the more complex ideas, he explains eruditely. Prof. Wright offers many helpful resources, including third-party experts, the readings, articles, videos, and office hours in particular really help enrich the subject matter. I would recommend this course to any one who has even peripheral interest in psychology or buddhism, meditation, and the scientific implications of the practice. Thank you for offering this course!

par Ulianych D

May 08, 2016

The course is number one among all ~10 courses I've taken on Coursera platform! Bullet points:

1) The material is given in a structured way and simple to understand because of every-day examples we encounter in our life.

2) Outstanding audio and video quality of the lectures makes Princeton University's coursers more likely to be taken.

3) The lecturer has touched a various of controversial topics (religions, Buddhism in particular) and masterfully aligned them with a modern psychology discoveries.

par Deleted A

Nov 04, 2015

Una maravilla de curso. Estuve realizando un intern de meditación 15 días en un santuario budista de Tailanida (Budismo Theravada).Este curso es muy interesante, las definiciones y ejemplos son claros y concisos. Así mismo, para un estudiante de psicología como yo la relación científica con la rama más actual del busimos "occidental" explicada en estas lectures es excelente. Recomendable si estas algo puesto en el tema, recomendable si no estas puesto en el tema.

Be water, my friend

Domingo

par Craig S

Jan 10, 2016

This is one of if not the best course that I have taken. The instructor is outstanding and I find the lectures well prepared and well delivered. As an anthropology-zoology major and a meditator of about 5-years, I find this course as an incredible bridge between the science of the brain and the practice of mindfulness. I hope that Robert Wright will continue to create offerings for the Coursera world! Thank you so much for creating and providing this material.

Craig Silverman

par Muthukumar R

Jul 26, 2017

The course has been an eye opener for me. I loved the following about this course: The structure, the logical debate, The scientific parallels & misconceptions associated with the theory and overall the views from all the right experts to further light on the topic. The discussion forums and further references were icing on the cake. Overall, i thoroughly enjoyed the learning & would recommend to everyone who is looking to understand oneself/interested in Human psychology.

par Andrew D G

Jan 11, 2018

Robert Wright has done an outstanding job putting this course together. I've been practicing Buddhism for 17 years and have never found a more helpful book or course. Just his weekly resources, links, reference books, lectures alone are fantastic not to mention understanding the human brain from a evolutionary psychology point of view and understanding how Buddhist meditation can help improve our natural selection design flaws.

Outstanding job Robert!

Metta,

Andrew Di Genova

par Hanneke B

Feb 26, 2016

I am almost at the end of this course and I think it is excellent. The lectures are very clear and are a great starting point if you, like me, don't really know anything about Buddhism. I really enjoyed the connection made with modern psychology; I am afraid otherwise I might have found it too vague and esoteric, but this grounded it more in every day life. I really feel this course has given me some valuable new insights with which to see the world around me and myself.

par Rozina D

Dec 09, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It presented some very interesting things and gave a solid overview of the main teachings of naturalistic Buddhism. Professor Wright made sure that we get examples not only from modern science and experiments, but also from experienced Buddhist practitioners who shared their personal point of view on the subject. I think that now I am more equipped to talk about Buddhism from the stand point of modern psychology and how the two compare.

par Gloria R L

Jun 03, 2018

El profesor es excepcional, tiene un conocimiento profundo de la materia. El curso es muy completo y amplio, la bibliografía se va aportando según temática y las entrevistas con expertos hacen que sea un curso muy enriquecedor. Muy importante son los subtítulos en español, es imprescindible debido a la complejidad de las cuestiones. Es necesario que existan subtítulos en español, la enorme población que lo habla lo hace imprescindible.

Gloria (Sevilla, España)

par Georg S

Oct 26, 2016

Highly Recommended, very solid and interesting, surprisingly fun too. For me the most surprising was to find that evolutionary psychology establishes mind modules, as specific biologic functionality that helped us survive ages ago, and still forms the basis for our very perceptions, emotions, speech and actions.

Very nice to see biology science connected to basic Buddhistic teachings.

Very sympathetic and relevant interviews with researches and practitioners.

par Tien T D

Sep 14, 2019

Fantastic course! Very informational & helpful. Thank you prof. Wright for all your insights. Awareness, knowledge, & understanding are keys to transcendence. I understand more about my own mind & how to better help myself become a more conscious & conscientious person. Changing the world comes later, a natural consequence of self-development. All the best to prof. Wright and my past, current, & future classmates! I wish you peace, happiness & well-being.

par Lukáš H

Mar 10, 2016

Robert Wright is analyzing buddhist thesis through the scope of modern science. The course helped me to understand better the effects of meditation and human behavior, while backing up the arguments with tons of research and latest theories of human perception and decision making. I liked also numerous guest hostings with various insights from different fields starting with monks and ending with top scientists. Highly interesting and meaningful course.

par James D C

Feb 13, 2020

"Welcome to the real World".

An awesome course. The lectures and various interviews are well done, prudent, and has great flow in the topics one session to the next. Office hours were insightful and entertaining (two puppies are good models). A very fair grading system with peer review; moreover, gives the opportunity for peer interaction on this beautiful "way of life".

Thank you Prof. Robert Wright and all those who shared in your life and knowledge

par Luciana D A

Jul 28, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. I really liked the format in which the content was presented. The way the lecturers were structured and organised made the ideas discussed extremely clear and easy to understand. The content is really interesting and I never thought modern psychology and Buddhism shared so many similarities. I felt my mind expanded and I started to see things differently. This is exactly what I look for when I sign up for a course.

par Karina W

Jan 17, 2017

Robert Wright is if not the most eloquent person I have seen, at least one of the most. His lectures are clear and the subject is super interesting. As far as the third week videos go, I have not yet seen any statement from him that sounded presumptuous or extremely partial. The way the lessons were organized and explained, I believe, were planned for the western people that sometimes may be a little more skeptical of subjects such as Buddhism.

par James L S

Dec 01, 2015

I have been studying and practicing Buddha Dhamma for nearly 20 years and I would say this course is excellent. The lecturer is informed, and is able to combine ancient and modern knowledge in an illuminating manner. The lecturer is enjoyable to watch and is open to suggestions and constructive comments. Overall this is an excellent introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology and how they inform each other in a mutually beneficial synthesis.

par Alexa F

Mar 07, 2018

Thank you Robert Wright! I feel like I have gained a wealth of knowledge about Buddhism and meditation from a Naturalistic view of Buddhism and through many scientific perspectives. Robert truly put a lot of hard work and dedication into this course, and, if you commit to it, you can learn so much. It felt rewarding to write a mid-term and final, as well as read the perspectives and knowledge of my classmates. I am so happy I took this course.

par Amit C

Mar 17, 2019

The course relates Psychology wit Buddhism in simple and most understandable way , the best part about the design and presentation given by Dr.Robert Wright is how he connects the evolution with Psychology and both of these with Buddhism . The flair of using lots of examples and relevany real-life situations makes this a perfect learning for beginners as well as established personalities both in field of Psychology and practice of Buddhism.

par Catrina

Dec 13, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've always been curious about Buddhism and didn't really know what to expect. I'm a science nerd, so this fit right in. The course does a good job at pivoting back and forth between science and spirituality and then tying them back together. I can't wait to learn more-- this feels like just the beginning. Thanks to Dr. Wright for putting this info out there so concisely. It is much appreciated.