Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,492 évaluations
1,888 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

RB
15 oct. 2019

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

1826 - 1850 sur 1,858 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Darleen M

13 juin 2016

Loved the professor. Do not like essay questions.

par Beatriz C

7 févr. 2019

good but not what i expected, too boring

par Kamala .

4 oct. 2020

Nice course more information its give

par Srinivasan

29 avr. 2020

Actually i have learnt most

par Francisco J L M

23 avr. 2020

THANK YOU ALL. Namaste.

par Жураева М

28 août 2020

good

par Guillermina E E A

14 juil. 2020

I finished the Buddhism and Modern Psychology course, I liked it but it has no certificate. However, I think that they should grant a proof of studies or diploma, even if it is not official, due to the effort and time invested.

I was excited that Princeton University offers the course, in fact it was one of the reasons why I signed up.

I would have liked to be able to say that I did these studies with the support of the knowledge offered by the University. Believe me, otherwise it's like I've read books and wikipedia.

par Georgiana S

23 oct. 2020

There is no diploma at the end of the course! You invest your time for nothing! If I wanted ONLY information about Buddhism I would have read A BOOK! But I wanted A COURSE! With a DIPLOMA at the end! Please create a diploma for this course, there are LOTS of other people complaining on the forums about this too.

par Jo P

16 nov. 2016

I was attracted to this course because it offered the science behind Buddhism and I am studying neuro-science. I have abandoned it as it is yet an other exposition of Buddhism. Neglible science, neglible evidence - just stuff I already knew from non-scientific Buddhist sources.

par Andrea P R C

5 avr. 2020

Los cuestionarios estan en ingles por lo que es difícil resolver aunque el curso tienen subtítulos y la resolución de dudas me pareció muy informal debido a los perros que muestra y habla de ellos

par TUSHAR V S

6 mai 2020

THE VIDEOS GET BORING AFTER SOMETIME. IT NEEDS ANIMATION OR STORYTELLING TO UNDERSTAND MORE. THIS COURSE WAS NOT HELPFULL TO UNDERSTAND CONCEPT IN-DEPTH.

UNHAPPY WITH COURSE OUTCOME.

par Natalia S A

23 mai 2020

Abandono el curso porque el contenido está muy basado en opiniones del profesor pero no brinda mucho contenido teórico.

par Terry C

9 nov. 2015

A bit thin on the psychology. References are not hard to find and post in Resources.

par Faridul A S

4 mai 2020

Where is my course completion certificate?

par Anne

13 janv. 2016

........u,mumjhmhjm h

par Alice Z

6 janv. 2022

The Basis of Buddhism is to share ones enlightment. It is not to share one's tripe.

S​adly week 1 is office hours and week 2 presumes week one was Not about fofice hours but the first two steps on the eightfold path. Later he mumbles about how little he knows.

S​ad - very sad

par Maria C A

21 nov. 2021

T​here is a problem with the audio portion of the course. The sound disappears, and reappears in a rollercoaster fashion which makes it challenging to follow the words of the professor, rendering it incomprehensible.

par Aparna J

3 sept. 2020

VERY LONG LECTURES WITHOUT PROPER STRUCTURE AND VERY TEDIOUS ASSIGNMENTS. TOO MUCH EFFORT AND TIME TO BE SPEND ON SOMETHING THAT DOESN'T EVEN OFFER A CERTIFICATE.

par MIRIAM P C

6 sept. 2020

Indican que puede tomarse en español pero no tiene el acceso es una lastima espero lo puedan meter con traducción en español en breve.

saludos

par SEEMA S P

2 août 2017

its very boring. the lecturer doesnt know to take class.its just he is reading a book.i am discontinuing the course.

sorry

par Michelle M C

11 déc. 2015

I am just not feeling this course. I have done up to week five and still am not hooked. Sorry!

par Joe L

2 sept. 2020

No certificate? Whack... You made me write a paper to not earn a certificate? Very whack.

par DR.SUNDARAPANDIYARAJ S

11 juin 2020

wer is certificate. doing course of spending time. but certificate not offered

par Jisha

22 févr. 2021

Excellent Course but very bad for not providing certificates.

par Joselin F O c

29 janv. 2017

Me encanta porque te enseña a ver la vida de otro ojos