Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,406 évaluations
1,854 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

1751 - 1775 sur 1,824 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Robert H

15 mai 2016

Well articulated and structured.

par Mahanthe A D l

16 oct. 2020

good but didnt get certificate

par Gino B

12 juil. 2020

muy bueno y muy buen contenido

par Sonam Y

7 sept. 2021

insightful and enlightening.

par Divyansh B

26 déc. 2016

Thank u so much....

par Paññānando B

21 sept. 2016

Two (!) many dogs.

par Soares J

28 avr. 2021

Ele é maravilhoso

par Anisa I

8 nov. 2016

Enjoy the course

par Atrione E

24 nov. 2016

spiritual food!

par Gerlyn S

3 janv. 2018

Nice Course!

par AWARI P D

18 mai 2020

Ok good 😊

par Clyde E T

5 avr. 2016

I would re

par maria L A l

1 oct. 2020

I like it

par Dyagala K s

13 juil. 2020

very good

par Kanna P

9 août 2016

thank you

par Asha H

28 sept. 2020

Good

par Vishal S S

9 sept. 2020

Nice

par Prem k N

2 sept. 2020

good

par 方淳

1 juil. 2016

nice

par Chemychen

10 avr. 2016

ok

par Justin H

29 déc. 2020

A lot of emphasis on the modular perspective of psychology.

Much of the video content in this course features "office hours" material which is a mail bag type of discussion reflection on student somments.

The course had a few references to interesting studies; such as a look at human perception using illusion art and mood setting environments.

The philosophically inclined peer-reviewers seem stricter than the usual peer-reviewers you see on Coursera.

I am disappointed that this course does not offer a certificate; unlike most other Coursera courses.

par Ryugan M W L

30 mai 2020

Good course. I learned great deal and especially valued the connection between the Buddha's early teachings and the theory of evolution. Caveats to set expectations though: the "Buddhism" is Theravada Buddhism, and the "Modern Psychology" is evolutionary psychology. A major issue is the strong emphasis on the "modular theory of the mind," which is entirely theoretical and not broadly shared as accepted psychology. Especially as "modern" fMRI and MRI scans find no physiological structure to correspond to such operating models.

par Corinne S

8 mars 2016

The Professor is excellent. I enjoyed this course solely because of Professor Wright. If you have a positive outlook on Buddhism but do not know the ins and outs of the religion/practice I do not recommend this course. I have a totally different outlook on it now that I wish I didn't have. It is interesting information but the essays are in depth and difficult...and there is no chance to even purchase a certificate.

par Priya K C

4 sept. 2020

I found the course interesting and learnt a lot of new things during this study. I hope this will help my study in psychology even more better. Although the provided resources were easy to understand, it would have been even better if the lecture contained few presentation slides or may be few animation because only listening to the professor got me bored at some moment.

par Monica S

9 oct. 2020

The content was captivating and fascinating. However the videos were too long, 20mns-30mns videos are too long to watch in one sitting. In addition, not being able to access the videos from my mobile phone was inconvenient so I couldn't listen when I was out and about. More flexibility in the way to consume the content would be more aligned with my learning preferences.