Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,373 évaluations
1,838 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

1651 - 1675 sur 1,809 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Claudia I H

1 mars 2019

Course un general isla interesting althoug I think that videos are too long and the part of moduls Is not very hypnotizing to me, a but slow in that part.

The rest Is ok.

par Bilal J

25 nov. 2015

Very interesting course. Good depth into the subject matter, a bit more enthusiasm from the professor could go a long way into making the course a bit more vibrant.

par Georgie J

4 sept. 2020

Very interesting course. Well worth my time and effort.

I’ve just ordered your book, The Moral Animal, after reading chapter 13 which you provided the link to.

par Phurba Y S

30 juil. 2020

It is a great course. It helps understand the buddha's teaching in context to the modern science.

But we don't receive a certificate at the end of the course

par Dayenne S

13 avr. 2020

Very interesting course that thoughtfully reviews the naturalistic aspects of Buddhism in the light of evolutionary psychology and related disciplines

par Amanpreet S

5 mars 2017

A nice course to take on a hard subject of Mind, Moral Truth. Found it enlightening thanks all the team for bringing such a course out to the world.

par LAZARO R

11 janv. 2017

The content is great but it would be great to have a booklet or something writing in addition because the teacher style is very much conversational.

par Steve L K

6 juil. 2020

Good course with interesting insights and interviews. I particularly enjoyed the various interviews with people that gives everything a nice touch.

par Aldo C

14 nov. 2017

An excellent insight into evolutionary psychology and how modern science seems to lend credit to Buddhist theory of the min and meditation practice

par Jessica L

24 août 2020

Great course when you have nothing to lose, i recommend this course especially if you have an interest in psychology or abnormal psychology!

par Jothika.D

14 juin 2020

As I finished this course and also got mail from you regarding the completion of this course, but still now i didn't receive my certificate.

par Niccolò M

16 oct. 2018

There are many arguments really interesting to know, yet I feel as it isn't complete, even the explanations don't contemplate the antithesis

par Lucie C

14 sept. 2020

Amazing course, great content - I would have given this a full five stars review if there had been a "purchase course certificate" option.

par Karen W

27 nov. 2016

Me gusto mucho el curso, es muy interesante la similitud del budismo con la psicología moderna. Aprender sobre los nuevos paradigmas.

par NANDIPATI N R

5 mai 2020

Good courses. More practical examples will make the course more interesting. Mediation techniques could have been given more time.

par Sherry S

24 déc. 2019

The course was insightful. The lectures offered guidance and opposing views. I highly recommend the additional reading materials.

par Luz R

4 juil. 2020

Creo que lo que me permitió terminar el curso fueron las fuentes a las que pude acceder, y la forma de explicarse del profesor c:

par Ian M

22 sept. 2017

A very good introduction to Buddhism and modern science's view of Buddhist beliefs and how Buddhist practices affect the brain.

par Alina D

1 févr. 2016

Concise and full of interesting ideas - a great introduction to many topics that are worth exploring, and think through.

par Rosanne C

4 nov. 2015

Buddhist lite but very interesting to consider evolutionary psychology. Excellent contributors to the course content.

par Samuvel R

28 mai 2020

Best course that I attempted so far.

It provides holistic view about brain/mind function, particularly on "suffering"

par Prachi G

18 août 2020

Great insight infused. Thanks to Mr. Wright 😊. Discussing enlightenment is no less than leading paths towards it.

par Francesco B

26 mai 2020

The theme of the course is very interesting however the second part of it should have been presented more clearly.

par 雯 张

15 juin 2016

Very inspiring to understand my own religion,thanks a lot to the scientific contribution in this particular area。