Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,406 évaluations
1,854 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

1626 - 1650 sur 1,822 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Irina N

13 juin 2016

Very nice course, very interesting. I really liked the professor's specific sence of humour in examples he makes. The course was a little boring because of a lot talking about things already talked and understood, lots of specifications for people who might argue or disagree, or might feel offended.

par ritesh m j

17 mai 2020

very well explained.in this i learned that how buddhism and modern science is related and in this its shows that how important meditation is to see the world more clearly and how to work on your emotions in right manner. this course shows how to think and organise your thoughts in positive way.

par Carlos V H

4 juin 2020

It is a full and long course with many interesting concepts to compare and learn. The only problem I see is the monotony of the classes, which sometimes make it difficult to follow in a suitable activacion. Maybe I should focus on streghten my concentration, but I think it could be more dynamic

par Huanglei P

27 déc. 2017

A good introduction course for buddhism and its relationship to modern psychology. Some of the illustrator's idea are really innovative. However, most of the video lessons are in lecture format and lack of summary slides for logical structure during each lesson, so I might get confused somehow.

par B T

28 juin 2020

The topic was very interesting and well taught. I read the book as well and I am a great admirer of Robert Wright ever since I read the Moral Animal in 1999 or so. I feel we could have gone a little deeper and could have had an even better course if we did. It was basically a bit short

par MARC G

14 nov. 2017

short and sweet, a good introduction to the ideas of Buddhism and how they might connect to modern psychology. Some very interesting resources I don't think I would have encountered otherwise especially in the last couple of weeks.

Really annoyed there is no certificate for it though.

par Omer G

22 déc. 2020

I thought the course was great. The instructor is very clear in his explanations and a lot of ground is covered in the lectures. I didn't give the full amount of stars because you can't get a certificate in the course, for some reason. I was hoping I could get a certificate :(

par Pamela W

18 avr. 2018

The material was quite valuable and I had one good discussion in the Forums. I perceive that the Office Hours segments became less useful at Lecture 6. I would have appreciated a briefer description of the questions and answers on the forums and much less on 'mindful dogs.'

par Danilo R

15 nov. 2015

An awesome course on psychology, for both newbies and students, but also an excellent introduction to Buddhism. I'm just perplex about the view of evolution as an entity that (seems to) shapes biological and psychological features with the purpose of obtaining advantages.

par Marcus B

13 avr. 2016

The course goes a long way in proving what it sets out to prove. However, it would have been good to hear from some people (I am sure they exist) who dispute the stipulated thesis that modern psychology confirms that accuracy of the Buddhist analysis of the human mind.

par Hagar T

17 mars 2021

The course is very well structured, but I would say that it doesn't go enough in-depth, and sometimes considers popularist psychological theories instead of more scientific ones. However, the professor does a very good job at clearly explaining what he does!

par Daniel K

18 août 2017

Lectures are engaging and clear. Assessment process is good although some quizzes to test comprehension of relevant studies.

Clearer sources and citation for arguments from evolutionary psychology would be good, too. Overall, however, an excellent course.

par Ajeetha B

3 avr. 2018

Very good references, really liked the various people who were interviewed, especially liked Bhiku Boddhi's audio's on Buddhism.

Somehow not convinced on the modular view of the brain, perhaps need to read more on arguments for and against this theory.

par Melissa M

20 mai 2020

Great course, well organized in the lessons. The "office videos" lost me a bit sometimes but I appreciated the clarification on certain topics and the opportunity for student questions to be discussed. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and insights.

par Tonni B

22 déc. 2020

Good course - and would recommend it to everybody that is interested in the two subjects. The introduction to the modular mind and the link to the different areas in psychology are also areas that broaden up an understanding about life in general

par Siddhesh V R

28 mars 2020

The course was highly informative about the introductory practices of Buddhism, modern psychology, and how the two have parallels. I enjoyed Professor Wright's proper use of the course format to maximise the learnings gained from these insights.

par Seenu

26 mai 2020

Worth your time, especially in our current pandemic where we are bombarded with overwhelming amount of information about the coronavirus. Times like these is when we must calm our mind and stay focused on respecting and supporting one another.

par Petar T

9 nov. 2016

Fantastic sauce of information and nice subtle humor.

Really interesting material but kind of a depressingly sounding lecturer. Looking forward for more courses from this lecturer and more of blooming of joy in his voice in future lectures.

par mario c f

19 avr. 2018

was more interested to know how the various schools of thought of psychology come from Buddhism. The course set in evolutionary psychology but would like to know more broadly how other perspectives address the main issues of Buddhism.

par DanThy N

21 mai 2018

Great course for those interested in the eastern ideals of Buddhism and parallels with modern psychology. Thought provoking and interesting studies, readings and guests providing various thoughts and knowledge on the topi

par Ambika M

26 juil. 2020

Prof. Robert Wright did an excellent job in presenting us with a comprehensive view of all aspects of Buddhism and modern psychology. His sense of humour definitely added a lot to the overall experience of the course!

par TAYA R

12 mai 2020

It was an great experience to learn inner working of my mind. I enjoyed learning Buddhist philosophy and modern psychology. Robert Wright taught me well about importance of mindfulness and awareness for good life.

par Don W

21 sept. 2020

I loved the content and presentation of this course. The only reason I didn't give it 5 Stars is that I had difficulty looking back through the material to review information for the mid-term and final essays.

par Norio S

5 janv. 2021

I felt there was a different between what I originally anticipated and what I actually learned because I am one of Japanese Buddhism oriented people. What we learned past seems so different from learned here.

par Gary W

14 sept. 2020

Overall I enjoyed the course and found Robert's style very engaging. Although I am rather disappointed that there is no certificate of attendance available for the course. It kind of leave things on a downer.