Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,429 évaluations
1,864 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 1,835 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Maria G P

1 déc. 2020

l always wanted to learn about budhisim asosociated to modern science. in this course I learn about the fundaments of both, gave me tooks to implement in my life and a lot of understanding and knowledge for my future students.. I am an expert in happiness and definitely both can be greatfull in my life.

thanks to profesor Robert Wright for his great teachings and wonderfull way of sharing the information

including his guests of valuable information and his lovely dogs. thanks

par Craig S

10 janv. 2016

This is one of if not the best course that I have taken. The instructor is outstanding and I find the lectures well prepared and well delivered. As an anthropology-zoology major and a meditator of about 5-years, I find this course as an incredible bridge between the science of the brain and the practice of mindfulness. I hope that Robert Wright will continue to create offerings for the Coursera world! Thank you so much for creating and providing this material.

Craig Silverman

par Muthu K

26 juil. 2017

The course has been an eye opener for me. I loved the following about this course: The structure, the logical debate, The scientific parallels & misconceptions associated with the theory and overall the views from all the right experts to further light on the topic. The discussion forums and further references were icing on the cake. Overall, i thoroughly enjoyed the learning & would recommend to everyone who is looking to understand oneself/interested in Human psychology.

par Andrew D G

11 janv. 2018

Robert Wright has done an outstanding job putting this course together. I've been practicing Buddhism for 17 years and have never found a more helpful book or course. Just his weekly resources, links, reference books, lectures alone are fantastic not to mention understanding the human brain from a evolutionary psychology point of view and understanding how Buddhist meditation can help improve our natural selection design flaws.

Outstanding job Robert!

Metta,

Andrew Di Genova

par Leo V

30 août 2020

The numerous parallels between Buddhist philosophies and modern psychology are an interesting subject, and this course showcases that in a comprehensive and informative way. The instructor presents facts and his own interpretations, while always encouraging the student to come to his or her own conclusions. Peppered throughout are many interviews and sit-down chats with knowledgeable figures in contemporary Buddhism as well as Evolutionary Psychology. Highly recommended.

par Hanneke B

26 févr. 2016

I am almost at the end of this course and I think it is excellent. The lectures are very clear and are a great starting point if you, like me, don't really know anything about Buddhism. I really enjoyed the connection made with modern psychology; I am afraid otherwise I might have found it too vague and esoteric, but this grounded it more in every day life. I really feel this course has given me some valuable new insights with which to see the world around me and myself.

par Adrián B

16 mai 2020

A very interesting course, with an objective and repetitive vision of the Buddhist religion. Robert Wright, exposes with sincerity and honesty his personal experience in the practice of meditation. On the other hand, the relationship that it establishes between aspects of Buddhism, science and modern psychology are enriching, and they are humbly exposed; very far from panfletarian and dogmatic attitudes that abound in our days. I really enjoyed this course. Thank you.

par Rozina D

9 déc. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It presented some very interesting things and gave a solid overview of the main teachings of naturalistic Buddhism. Professor Wright made sure that we get examples not only from modern science and experiments, but also from experienced Buddhist practitioners who shared their personal point of view on the subject. I think that now I am more equipped to talk about Buddhism from the stand point of modern psychology and how the two compare.

par Blossom C

23 juin 2020

This course is beautifully in-depth in the correlation between Buddhism and Modern Psychology. Prof. Robert explains things so well and I absolutely enjoyed seeing Milo & Frasier every week during Office Hours. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone that wants to expand their knowledge and gain a new idea on the world from a different perspective. Would have appreciated a certificate, but still extremely happy with the knowledge provided in this course.

par Clinton S

1 juin 2020

Robert Wright is a fantastic online tutor. He has the skill of making really hard concepts seem understandable through his intellect and his own life experiences. He follows through with a deep understanding of the topics and his ability to make humor out of the many push backs he gets from people using the extensive social media he has set up too is great to be part of. His dogs seem okay too! Grammarly says my review is "admiring" - that about sums it up.

par Kim C

21 oct. 2020

Great course. Professor Wright made the subject challenging but accessible at the same time.

Just picked up his book "The Evolution Of God" and plan to read his other books as well.

Only problem that I had was that the 6th and final week of the course could have been a whole course in itself. The amount information presented and points to consider were a little overwhelming. But I'm retired and just doing this for enrichment so I just logged off and had tea.

par Gloria R L

3 juin 2018

El profesor es excepcional, tiene un conocimiento profundo de la materia. El curso es muy completo y amplio, la bibliografía se va aportando según temática y las entrevistas con expertos hacen que sea un curso muy enriquecedor. Muy importante son los subtítulos en español, es imprescindible debido a la complejidad de las cuestiones. Es necesario que existan subtítulos en español, la enorme población que lo habla lo hace imprescindible.

Gloria (Sevilla, España)

par Georg S

26 oct. 2016

Highly Recommended, very solid and interesting, surprisingly fun too. For me the most surprising was to find that evolutionary psychology establishes mind modules, as specific biologic functionality that helped us survive ages ago, and still forms the basis for our very perceptions, emotions, speech and actions.

Very nice to see biology science connected to basic Buddhistic teachings.

Very sympathetic and relevant interviews with researches and practitioners.

par Tien D

14 sept. 2019

Fantastic course! Very informational & helpful. Thank you prof. Wright for all your insights. Awareness, knowledge, & understanding are keys to transcendence. I understand more about my own mind & how to better help myself become a more conscious & conscientious person. Changing the world comes later, a natural consequence of self-development. All the best to prof. Wright and my past, current, & future classmates! I wish you peace, happiness & well-being.

par Falguni S

31 oct. 2020

The concepts are very clearly explained starting from the basic fundamental facts and doctrines of Buddhism . The discussion and teachings are no secular and discussed without bringing religion as a factor . Robert Wright is an excellent lecturer with an exceptionally witty but subtle sense of humor and I actually laughed out loud during many of his lectures! Would definitely recommend this course to anyone still puzzled by western concepts of Buddhism !

par Lukáš H

10 mars 2016

Robert Wright is analyzing buddhist thesis through the scope of modern science. The course helped me to understand better the effects of meditation and human behavior, while backing up the arguments with tons of research and latest theories of human perception and decision making. I liked also numerous guest hostings with various insights from different fields starting with monks and ending with top scientists. Highly interesting and meaningful course.

par James D C

13 févr. 2020

"Welcome to the real World".

An awesome course. The lectures and various interviews are well done, prudent, and has great flow in the topics one session to the next. Office hours were insightful and entertaining (two puppies are good models). A very fair grading system with peer review; moreover, gives the opportunity for peer interaction on this beautiful "way of life".

Thank you Prof. Robert Wright and all those who shared in your life and knowledge

par Luciana D A

28 juil. 2017

I absolutely loved this course. I really liked the format in which the content was presented. The way the lecturers were structured and organised made the ideas discussed extremely clear and easy to understand. The content is really interesting and I never thought modern psychology and Buddhism shared so many similarities. I felt my mind expanded and I started to see things differently. This is exactly what I look for when I sign up for a course.

par Karina W

17 janv. 2017

Robert Wright is if not the most eloquent person I have seen, at least one of the most. His lectures are clear and the subject is super interesting. As far as the third week videos go, I have not yet seen any statement from him that sounded presumptuous or extremely partial. The way the lessons were organized and explained, I believe, were planned for the western people that sometimes may be a little more skeptical of subjects such as Buddhism.

par James L S

1 déc. 2015

I have been studying and practicing Buddha Dhamma for nearly 20 years and I would say this course is excellent. The lecturer is informed, and is able to combine ancient and modern knowledge in an illuminating manner. The lecturer is enjoyable to watch and is open to suggestions and constructive comments. Overall this is an excellent introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology and how they inform each other in a mutually beneficial synthesis.

par Alexa F

7 mars 2018

Thank you Robert Wright! I feel like I have gained a wealth of knowledge about Buddhism and meditation from a Naturalistic view of Buddhism and through many scientific perspectives. Robert truly put a lot of hard work and dedication into this course, and, if you commit to it, you can learn so much. It felt rewarding to write a mid-term and final, as well as read the perspectives and knowledge of my classmates. I am so happy I took this course.

par Ivy T

4 juil. 2020

I love the balance between the knowledge of modern science and Buddhism teachings.

Coming into this course, I wanted to learn more about why should we meditate to further enhance my own spiritual teaching in the future. I truly feel that I came out of this course now a more understanding person in these aspects.

Thank you Prof. Wright and all the mentors, thank you Princeton University and thank you Coursera for this. God bless and Namaste!

par Amit C

17 mars 2019

The course relates Psychology wit Buddhism in simple and most understandable way , the best part about the design and presentation given by Dr.Robert Wright is how he connects the evolution with Psychology and both of these with Buddhism . The flair of using lots of examples and relevany real-life situations makes this a perfect learning for beginners as well as established personalities both in field of Psychology and practice of Buddhism.

par Rin T

26 août 2020

This course helped me to reflect on my past experiences and give me a new direction for my future choices. I especially enjoy professor's vivid examples, the writing assignment of others, and the appearance of his two cute dogs (really motivated me to follow each office hours)! I also started to meditate because of this course, found it calm my mind and help me to focus better in this stressful time, so I'm really thankful for this too.

par Thaís M B

8 juin 2020

Adorei ter tido a oportunidade de realizar esse curso. Pude conhecer um pouco mais sobre o Budismo, como também sobre a Psicologia Moderna. Saio do curso mais atenta aos apegos de minha mente, a perceber que estou mais propícia a sempre buscar por mais e nunca estar satisfeita com o agora... com isso, me coloco com mais vontade de seguir realizando meditação, como também yoga e os estudos em psicologia. Obriga, professor Robert Wright.