Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,463 évaluations
1,877 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 1,848 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Kath S

11 mai 2021

I chose this as one of my free courses and was really impressed with Robert Wright's way of delivering the information. It was a fascinating look into Buddhism and Psychology and has inspired me to continue to learn more on this subject. I look forward to reading his new book..

par Emily S

6 nov. 2015

So far, I'm having a lot of fun - and writing proper essay assignments is proving to be something I've missed terribly since being in school/college etc!

I'm really enjoying everything about this course!

It's set out beautifully, there's a brilliant tutor and it's just fantastic!

par Tenzin W D

2 avr. 2021

One of the best courses Ive come across so far in Coursera. Im from a buddhist family, i found a lot of valuable and new insights from this course which i believe will change the outlook of the Philosophical aspect of Buddhism. Thanks to Prof. Robert W. for this amazing course

par Manu N L

9 août 2020

Veri good course; by my side, I'm a enthusiastic follower of oriental culture, years ago... The mixture and compagination with occidental psichology are fascinating, incredible, very authentic and high level docent, proffesor and team, thank you for all, thanks Coursera, too.

par shannon a

6 juil. 2020

This course contains great lectures on Buddhist principles such as the not-self, impermanence and enlightenment. It also provides evidence for a transformative experience through meditation. If you're interested in eastern philosophy or psychology, you should take this class.

par Fidelia H

26 avr. 2020

Great course! Prof. Robert Wright does not only offer objective insight into both modern psychology as well as Buddhism - he also manages to make you smile and laugh during every lecture and office hours, making any examples or references he make stay in your mind. Thank you!

par Jonas K

22 nov. 2019

Very interesting course to get an overview about the original ideas of Buddhism and put them in a context of modern science. The course is well structured and I really enjoyed watching the lectures and to go into a deeper reflection about some of the ideas in the assignments.

par Guillermo

6 mai 2020

Great course! It has deffently helped me understand better concepts of Buddhisim and modern Psychology. Also triggerd to start meditating, not easy though :)

Thank you Robert Wright and all the team at Princenton and Coursera that made this possible, for sure it was worth it!

par Dai S

3 nov. 2020

Great content. Thank you R. Wright for the effort put in there.

It's a nice journey of exploring Buddhist philosophy and practices through the scrutiny of the scientific lens.

note: I appreciated that you spoke to the viewer through the camera, vs. read from a teleprompter.

par Rana E

13 juin 2017

Very interesting, informative and stimulating course. Dr Wright is a pleasure to listen to; he is enthusiastic about the topic and has a fantastic sense of humor. I appreciate the time he put in this course and in the office hours answering students questions. Chapeau bas!

par Natalia G

17 mai 2020

I really enjoyed the course, I started without any knowledge about Buddhism or modern psychology, and now I feel I have an undertanding of the topics and how they can be linked. The course was also very easy to follow and the teacher was clear and fun to watch. Congrats!

par Vijayalaxmi N

16 oct. 2021

I would like to thank, all Coursera members for making me to learn about Buddhism and Modern Psychology. I gained new information about human mind and meditation very well in this course. I am again thanking you all brothers and and sisters for reviewing my assignment.

par Gary S

2 juin 2020

Really like the way Robert Wright explained not-self and especially emptiness. I also liked how he discussed meditation as a therapeutic endeavor verses achieving full enlightenment. It allows one to continue exploring the topic without worrying about such a lofty goal.

par Cindi A

15 mars 2021

To be able to embrace the concepts of Buddhism in a secular way has made all the difference to my agnostic soul. I'm at peace with being both agnostic and a secular Buddhist. I really loved this course and it changed me. That's the most powerful thing education can do!

par Lenka G B

9 sept. 2020

Es un excelente curso, superó mucho mis expectativas. Los contenidos son de buen soporte teórico, son dejar, por eso, de ser accesible. El profesor es notable, claro y muy simpático. Los videos y bibliografía sugerida de muy buen nivel. Gran aporte de Frasier y Milo :)

par Madhukar V

27 avr. 2020

I am really delight to gone thru the whole course. One thing is sure that the finding of Buddha 2500 years in past is still relevant and good area of scientific work. It seems modern psychology have to go long way to understand the secret of buddism doctrine completely

par María J P C

13 févr. 2020

Excelente curso, sin necesidad de comprender la psicología moderna es una buena manera de comprender el buddhismo, la psicología y la meditación. El profesor cuenta con invitados y material de excelente calidad. Definitivamente uno de los mejores cursos que e tomado.

par Ana I H A

29 juin 2020

The Buddhism and Modern Psychology course opened up a wonderful overview of both Buddhist practice in its natural field and its approach to the proposals of evolutionary psychology of which I had no knowledge.

It is an interesting and intelligent course by the teacher.

par Germano G d F

27 juin 2017

This was my first course on either Buddhism and Psychology. I really enjoyed it. The lecturer does a great job and the division of the lessons was perfect. I also enjoyed the "office hours", where the lecturer was more free to express his opinions in an informal way.

par Maya K

21 mai 2017

Such an insightful course, thoroughly enjoyed every single lecture and writing the essays. Such an interesting topic, and really clear information. Robert Wright is a really engaging lecturer, absolutely loved it! I've encouraged lots of my friends to take the course

par Luz A R M

16 oct. 2016

It was a very good and well organized course, that gave me extensive information about Buddhism that was the reason to choose it. Modern psychology information nicely complements the Buddhist theme. The given literature invites me to continue deepen the topic.

par Joy S

4 janv. 2018

Really enjoyed the juxtaposition of Buddhism with side-by-side comparisons to its equivalents in modern thought. Found it helpful, thought-provoking. It enhanced my understanding of both disciplines. I like mixed-discipline classes and this was one of the best.

par Natalie

11 juin 2020

This was so amazing. I really appreciate all the time everyone put in. I really wanted to do something productive with my quarantine time and this really gave me "satisfaction"... but I'll probably take another because we all know the satisfaction will fade! =)

par Aung O

29 mai 2020

The professor did well explaining many of the psychological concepts and different aspects of Buddhism in a way that the learner can connect this ancient philosophy to the modern sciences, without leaving the learners feeling like why they are learning mysticism.

par Randy B

27 mai 2020

I really enjoyed learning the fundamentals of what Buddhism is, I've been searching for a while to have basic understanding and this gave me that. Not only do I connect with Buddhism now but see that there is so much for all of us to take from a course like this!