Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,196 évaluations
1,755 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 1,723 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par FS

24 juin 2016

Quite interesting way of analizyng buddhism and psychology. They are definitely closer to each other than I thought. The professor is clear and in love with the subject, which is a good thing, as it's infectious: you'll start to love the lessons and devour the lectures. I'm planning on taking this course again soon.

par Ross N

16 juin 2020

Robert Wright is just as curious as us learners, and uses humour and easy examples to convey heavy topics. I find the idea of Buddhism for wellbeing fascinating. I work for the NHS providing Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and this course helped me understand the logic behind, and the power of [mindfulness] meditation.

par Tim S

4 mars 2017

Excellent course, recommended for less spiritual people. Specifically the link with evolutionary psychology gives this course a more scientific approach. The non-prescriptive rationale help people to see the why, before the what. One may eventually join, or in my case partially join, the buddhist view of the world.

par Rodrigo

20 déc. 2015

Great course, so far. The way the connection between Buddhism, evolution and psychology is taught is VERY clear, concise and logic. I am a mathematician, who studies buddhism and loves psychology also, and have never seen an explanation so clear and connected to our culture like in this course. Awesome initiative!

par Meredith D

24 févr. 2020

Loved this course, Richard Wright has a really simple and engaging way of explaining both the religion and the science and ties it together in a fascinating way. I also fell a little bit in love with his dogs, Frasier and Milo who were stars of the course in their own right. Good luck with the Buddhist path boys!

par Daan v R

12 mai 2019

This may be my favorite course on Coursera so far. I think especially in combination with Paul Bloom's Intro to Psych it was extremely helpful and insightful. The material taught and especially all the additional readings, videos and references was quite exhaustive and made for an incredibly enriching few weeks.

par Kuriakose J

6 sept. 2020

A very good introductory course. Well planned and delivered lectures.

Thematic interviews were to the point.

Very good reading materials.

Perhaps, one lecture could have been dedicated to criticism of Evolutionary Psychology .

Big thanks to Coursera team, Princeton University and of course to Porf. Robert Wright...

par Kaden G

21 mai 2020

It was very in depth and good to understand for all despite whatever religion you want to be classified as a part of. Also it was a short course for me which i liked as its not very time consuming and got the point across to understand how science can really relate to some of buddhist practices and teachings.

par roze a c

11 juin 2019

I truly enjoyed this course with Professor Wright and all of the other wonderful teachers who took part in the teachings. It has been a long time dream to be able to study at Princeton University. Now, a part of my dream has come to pass. Thank you for the opportunity to spread my wings a little bit further.

par larry g

1 sept. 2017

I studied Buddhism decades ago from a historical prospective but could never really get a grasp on the underlying nature of the concepts involved. (Too much the engineer I guess.) This course finally provided the levers that I think may get me beyond dabbling in meditation techniques for stress relief only.

par Marcelo d J

7 oct. 2015

Hice este curso hace un par de años y me pareció realmente excepcional, tanto que ahora lo estoy haciendo de nuevo y me parece cada vez mejor. El interés de los temas expuestos, la sencillez y accesibilidad a la hora de transmitirlos... Robert Wright es un verdadero maestro! Enhorabuena a él a todo su equipo!

par Luca C R

2 janv. 2021

Really good course done by Robert Wright! I may even buy his book sometime, what a guy! Also Robert, if you are reading this, please please research psychedelics! It is thanks to them that I have become so interested in Buddhist philosophy and meditation. Everyone should try this course! It taught me so much

par Bántó B

21 déc. 2020

This was my first course in Coursera and also my first course related to Buddhism, I enjoyed watching and learning. This course aroused curiosity in me made me think outside the box, and open to new fields. Excellent and interesting content. Easy to understand and follow. I happily recommend it to everyone.

par Helen R

9 juin 2016

Firstly I enjoyed it - it was interesting. Secondly I found it did what it said it would do - it was informative. The teaching was good. The assessments were relevant and did assess learning without being too time consuming or difficult. There was a forum which was interesting. I'd definitely do another one.

par Brendon M

15 nov. 2016

Have been looking for something like this for twenty years - exploring Buddhism with a technical bent and relation to modern understandings of the mind. thank you. impressed with Robert Wright.

Would have liked to see a certificate and would have been a=happy to pay for this aspect if that was the barrier.

par Balthazar M

25 août 2020

It was great! The material wasn't too hard to follow, not to mention very interesting and may I dare say, life-changing. I would just like to note that some of the supplemental readings were really long and tedious. Some material could have been cut off. But the central course itself was perfect, I think.

par Santiago S

30 nov. 2020

This course has exceeded my expectations by large. Really enjoyed the lectures and the main theme: well explained connections and parallelisms between Buddhism and modern psychology, which are paramount in this course. Robert Wright is a great professor. Thank you for making this course available online!

par Graham A

9 mars 2016

I find the subject and the material fascinating. Robert is a great lecturer with an obvious wealth of knowledge on the subject to impart to his students. I am thoroughly enjoying it and I look forward to studying with Robert again in the future. It has really opened my mind to a whole new field of study.

par Alastair B

26 févr. 2021

The course closely follows the instructor's book "Why Buddhism is true". It is interesting to see him present the content personally with the aid of relevant interviews. Assessment is based on two straightforward essays that can be answered from the content of the videos without much background reading.

par Ksenia S

7 déc. 2020

Amazing teacher, excellent material. The course is very clearly structured with a progressive build-up to more and more complex topics intertwining, the level of interdisciplinary analysis is impressive. Thank you, Coursera team for making something as incredible as this course, available for all of us!

par Greer B

21 juil. 2016

The professor is relateable, funny, and understandable. He explains the information thoroughly and provides a multitude of resources for deeper investigation. He approaches the topics from multiple points of views, and goes in depth in each of those views. It has been a very enjoyable experience so far.

par Denise T

13 mai 2016

Well worth the time. I am someone who has been meditating for a few years and I am practicing Psychologist and Psychotherapist. I was interested to understand how my experiences with meditation can relate to the word of modern psychology and this course was very persuasive in its approach and content.

par Juan G S

8 août 2020

Though an objective course in understanding Buddhism, it actually helps you understand a bit of yourself more and more you listen to the lectures. You begin to identify and make sense of the world and the assessments really reflect what you understand and even go personal with your beliefs as a person.

par Samantha S

28 juil. 2019

Robert was very thorough in his lectures, including the use of many scientific studies as examples. I admire his energy and would love to meet him someday! To non-attachment and reducing dukkha in our lives!!! Thanks for a great course and better psychological understanding of Buddhism as a philosophy.

par Gabriela Q

15 mai 2020

Profesor Wright not only is super clear, but he makes the lessons with various contents, sources and information useful. He explains with detail, he is funny (the dogs made me laugh more than once) and the subject is interesting. I am so happy I could find something like this during these hard times.