Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,203 évaluations
1,758 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 1,728 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Dr. R S

10 juil. 2020

Good Evening Sir/Madam,

Greetings of the Day!

It is requested to your goodself, that I have completed the Buddhism and Modern Psychology earlier. I need Certificate of this Course, if you please provide me this course certificate it will help me to earn a job. My humble request to you please help me I am a unemployed youth.

thank you.

par Richie P

19 nov. 2019

This is a wonderful course that takes on the grand philosophy of Buddhism through mostly an evolutionary psychology lens. It covers several principles of Buddhism at relatively quick pace yet thorough in the time frame. I would recommend some basic information about psychology and Buddhism to really be able to thrive in this course.

par Fabio N

5 avr. 2016

Great overview of Buddhist philosophy and recent psychology research. Professor Wright invites several religious and academic figures to draw paralallels between the two in a very investigative, and curious way.

I recommend watching all the interviews and taking detailed notes as they are particulary useful in doing the assignments.

par Mohammed J A

8 oct. 2020

This course highlights the most interesting experiments within the field of psychology, discussing the implications of those studies for our understanding of the human mind and human behavior. We will explore the brain and some of the cognitive abilities it supports like memory, learning, attention, perception and consciousness.

par mathi v

11 mai 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it made me think of a lot of things. I started looking for more information and I just can't get enough. And Professor Wright was very good at presenting and linking the ideas. I'm sure not everybody will agree with me. To these people I wish happy mindfull meditation. They will get there, in time.

par Adam S C

15 juil. 2016

Illuminating very interesting connections between modern psychology and the philosophy of buddhism. The essentialist interpretation the buddhist concept of emptiness was novel to me.

Very lucid and pedagogical lecturer. Sometimes it was a bit repetitive and slow, but since one can watch in 1.5x speed it didn't really bother me.

par Giselle T

1 sept. 2020

This course opened the door to the path of the Buddha, which I am now following. This course is very complete in its presentation of sometimes difficult concepts, thanks to Prof. Wright´s organization of course materials, personal interpretations and anecdotes, and invited speakers. This course is such a gift to all of us!

par Anabela C

22 juil. 2019

It is an excellent course, where not only concepts are learned but it leads you to think in a different way, to see things differently and you learn in each video, in each work. It is very well organized and Professor Robert Wright is perfect to lead the course. Thank you very much to everyone who made this course possible!

par Deborah B

3 sept. 2017

Wonderfully constructed, engaging course. Loved the length of each lecture, the added videos with experts in each field, and resources. Instructions for essays and peer review were clear and easy to use. Questions for the essays were thought provoking and helped consolidate provided course material. THANKS! I learned a lot!

par Erich C

17 déc. 2016

Awesome course given by a very charismatic instructor, with the curious participation of his 2 furred sidekicks. The contents of this course are very useful for our everyday life, by helping us increase our awareness of mental processess. Also very useful for people who are willing to start meditating and improving welfare.

par Cristina M

14 déc. 2020

No pasa el tiempo por esta enseñanza y, aunque el profesor Wright ha publicado un excelente libro derivado de este curso, sigue siendo genial atender a sus videos, entrevistas, materiales y al intenso y continuo intercambio entre alumnos y tutores vía blog, faceboock, etc. Me ha enseñado mucho y lo he disfrutado. Gracias!

par Megha W H

14 nov. 2016

This course has been a learning process that has strengthened myself / non- self, and I have understood the workings of my Modular mind, so now I'm taking full charge over it and with the help of mindfulness meditation, I'm already experiencing success. Thank you Prof. Robert wright and all the participating Professionals.

par Juergen B

3 juin 2019

Brilliantly presented. I am in no way spiritual and love the scientic evidence presented. This course has brought spirituality closer to me. There are a lot of questions science raises and combining two so seemingly different camps as Buddhist spirituality with "hard" science offers new answers or at least new viewpoints.

par p.manicka s

1 mai 2017

This is a fantastic course for anyone interested in Buddhism and gives an entirely different perspective on anatta and sunyata. Dr.Wright has taken lot of pain and the course material (audio, video, text, web links) is excellent. The mentors in the forum are very good and did a wonderful job in moderating the discussions.

par TRUDY D

4 juin 2018

The course on Buddhism and Modern Psychology was most interesting. I have been able to apply the knowledge gained in this course and incorporate it into my everyday life.

I believe that anyone even slightly interested in either Buddhism and/or Modern Psychology would find this course to be very valuable and enlightening.

par Jessica J

4 mai 2020

Professor Wright is straightforward, funny, and curious -- all important qualities a great professor should have! His deep personal interest in Buddhism and its relation to evolutionary psychology is what makes this course special and so well done. I highly recommend engaging in this course. Thank you, Professor Wright!

par Thomas J S

12 nov. 2017

Great course. I'm very thankful to Prof. Wright and all those who made this course possible. I learned a lot and clarified many things I have been thinking about for years. I enjoyed the books required for the course and have welcomed them into my library. I'm impressed with Prof. Wright as a teacher and an author.

par Emma S

24 mai 2020

This was my first ever Coursera course and it was a wonderful introduction to realm of online learning and the broad range of subject matter that is available on this platform. I loved the low-stress feel of this course and genuinely felt excited to learn more each week. There is so much to take away from this course!

par rana s j

20 mai 2020

A very well structured course with content that is easily accessible to a non-Buddhist, non-psychologist amateur venturing to learn about both. Prof. Wright brings forth the material with all seriousness and a lot of humor, providing various resources to expand in-depth learning. Just the right dose needed! Thank you!

par Jessica B

5 févr. 2016

Excellent class! Thorough and humorous. The lectures and discussions included are very well explained, making difficult concepts easier to grasp. It also provides several jumping off points if you want to dive further into this combined subject of Buddhism and Modern Psychology! I look forward to exploring it further.

par Grozda s

17 déc. 2015

Very interesting course! Easy to follow without any background. I really loved it!!! I would recommend it to everyone who is interested in psychology, neuroscience, personal development, human evolution or religion studies. I also want to thank all people who participated in making this course, you did a great job! :)

par Karim L

9 janv. 2018

I found this course very interesting and useful for any person interested to understand human mind and behavior. And specially for those that believe that Buddhism is a wise philosophy that can not only help us to reduce our own suffering, but that can help us being better people and do the less harm to other beings.

par Maryam S

30 oct. 2016

Auditing this course helped me develop a scientific view point based on principals of evolutionary psychology and enriched my understanding of Buddhist philosophy. And, I should add that taking this course helped me find my next academic challenge, which is pushing a masters in psychology. Thank you professor Wright.

par Julian S

9 févr. 2016

An amazing course for those looking to understand themselves, the world, and social interactions. This course is scientifically grounded, using the results of numerous studies to examine the human intellect and it's biases, and includes talks with various world-renowned Buddhist meditators and psychology researchers.

par Michael W

27 juin 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. I have gained insight into evolutionary psychology, something of which I knew nothing about before. I also gained more knowledge about Buddhism and it can help with thoughts and emotions that are negative. I sound the professor, Robert Wright to be very informative and easy to watch.