Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
4,978 évaluations
1,669 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

1576 - 1600 sur 1,639 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Divyansh B

Dec 26, 2016

Thank u so much....

par Paññānando B

Sep 21, 2016

Two (!) many dogs.

par Anisa I

Nov 08, 2016

Enjoy the course

par Atrione E

Nov 24, 2016

spiritual food!

par Gerlyn

Jan 03, 2018

Nice Course!

par AWARI P D

May 18, 2020

Ok good 😊

par Clyde E T

Apr 06, 2016

I would re

par María L A L

Oct 01, 2020

I like it

par Dyagala K s

Jul 13, 2020

very good

par MK.KANNAPHIRAN

Aug 09, 2016

thank you

par Asha H

Sep 28, 2020

Good

par Vishal S S

Sep 09, 2020

Nice

par prem k

Sep 02, 2020

good

par 方淳

Jul 01, 2016

nice

par Chemychen

Apr 10, 2016

ok

par Ryugan M W L

May 30, 2020

Good course. I learned great deal and especially valued the connection between the Buddha's early teachings and the theory of evolution. Caveats to set expectations though: the "Buddhism" is Theravada Buddhism, and the "Modern Psychology" is evolutionary psychology. A major issue is the strong emphasis on the "modular theory of the mind," which is entirely theoretical and not broadly shared as accepted psychology. Especially as "modern" fMRI and MRI scans find no physiological structure to correspond to such operating models.

par Corinne S

Mar 08, 2016

The Professor is excellent. I enjoyed this course solely because of Professor Wright. If you have a positive outlook on Buddhism but do not know the ins and outs of the religion/practice I do not recommend this course. I have a totally different outlook on it now that I wish I didn't have. It is interesting information but the essays are in depth and difficult...and there is no chance to even purchase a certificate.

par Priya K C

Sep 04, 2020

I found the course interesting and learnt a lot of new things during this study. I hope this will help my study in psychology even more better. Although the provided resources were easy to understand, it would have been even better if the lecture contained few presentation slides or may be few animation because only listening to the professor got me bored at some moment.

par Monica S

Oct 09, 2020

The content was captivating and fascinating. However the videos were too long, 20mns-30mns videos are too long to watch in one sitting. In addition, not being able to access the videos from my mobile phone was inconvenient so I couldn't listen when I was out and about. More flexibility in the way to consume the content would be more aligned with my learning preferences.

par Osman V

Feb 10, 2017

Great lectures. I really enjoy discovering the world of the teacher and friends. I'll give it 3 stars since it doesn't arrive at an awe inspiring conclusion or life changing experience as somebody interesting into these subject would expect. The part where our own importance is challenge is enlightening. Cheers to the good professor.

par James B

Mar 24, 2016

An interesting class but left me wanting more. I realize that this is an overview but the field of secular Buddhism seems very shallow. After going through this class and reading three of Steven Batchelor's books I have the distint feeling that I may have reached the end of the subject.

par Triana B

Jun 15, 2020

The course is somewhat interesting, unfortunately the way to provide the information is disengaging. Even though the professor clearly posses a lot of knowledge, he has a hard time landing the information.

par German G S

May 04, 2020

Very interesting material, however, I found that the lectures are sometimes difficult to follow due to the lack of visual slides or schemes. It would help tremendously to the lectures imo!

par Deleted A

Dec 13, 2016

The beginning is well prepared, interesting and informative, the end is undercooked, subjective and repetitive. Be it 2 separate courses, I would rate them 5 and 2.

par Marni S

Oct 03, 2016

I enjoyed the course material and the idea behind linking Buddhist concepts with psychology; I just found some of the videos a little dry.