Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,057 évaluations
1,700 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

Filtrer par :

1501 - 1525 sur 1,669 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Siddhesh V R

28 mars 2020

The course was highly informative about the introductory practices of Buddhism, modern psychology, and how the two have parallels. I enjoyed Professor Wright's proper use of the course format to maximise the learnings gained from these insights.

par Seenu

26 mai 2020

Worth your time, especially in our current pandemic where we are bombarded with overwhelming amount of information about the coronavirus. Times like these is when we must calm our mind and stay focused on respecting and supporting one another.

par Petar T

9 nov. 2016

Fantastic sauce of information and nice subtle humor.

Really interesting material but kind of a depressingly sounding lecturer. Looking forward for more courses from this lecturer and more of blooming of joy in his voice in future lectures.

par mario c f

19 avr. 2018

was more interested to know how the various schools of thought of psychology come from Buddhism. The course set in evolutionary psychology but would like to know more broadly how other perspectives address the main issues of Buddhism.

par DanThy N

21 mai 2018

Great course for those interested in the eastern ideals of Buddhism and parallels with modern psychology. Thought provoking and interesting studies, readings and guests providing various thoughts and knowledge on the topi

par Ambika M

26 juil. 2020

Prof. Robert Wright did an excellent job in presenting us with a comprehensive view of all aspects of Buddhism and modern psychology. His sense of humour definitely added a lot to the overall experience of the course!

par Taya S R

12 mai 2020

It was an great experience to learn inner working of my mind. I enjoyed learning Buddhist philosophy and modern psychology. Robert Wright taught me well about importance of mindfulness and awareness for good life.

par Don W

21 sept. 2020

I loved the content and presentation of this course. The only reason I didn't give it 5 Stars is that I had difficulty looking back through the material to review information for the mid-term and final essays.

par Gary W

14 sept. 2020

Overall I enjoyed the course and found Robert's style very engaging. Although I am rather disappointed that there is no certificate of attendance available for the course. It kind of leave things on a downer.

par Radhika B

17 nov. 2016

Insightful and well structured. A few more videos of experiments and theories besides Robert Wrights would be a good idea. Overall makes you think of the different perspectives available in this world.

par Zahir N

6 mars 2018

a very good course, learnt a lot about the 'Modular view of the Mind', Meditation, and Buddhist teachings. Also makes you think a lot about why you do the things do, and how you are living your life.

par Cristina O

9 juin 2020

Very good! Information very valuable that helps to understand human beings and the self in a deep and subtle way. It provided me with tools that I can use in my daily life to become a better person.

par Emiliano M Á

24 oct. 2016

This course was great as an introduction to Buddhism and the basics of psychology behind it. It can definately be refined, but I deeply enjoyed it. I can say it changed the way I use my mind.

par THOMAS K

13 janv. 2020

This course was enlightening and the author makes a very commendable effort to explain the similarity between the modern scientific understanding of the human mind and Buddhist concepts.

par Juan C T

30 août 2016

Thank you for Sharing This Knowledge to everyone, I am really enjoying this course and have learned a lot already from this Material, I am really looking forward to keep learning more!

par Douglas M

7 mai 2016

Very interesting topics are discussed in this course. I walked away with some new thoughts and ideas about modern science and how they compared to ancient teachings. Well worth the time.

par Mirjam B

8 avr. 2019

very interesting, and high level of teaching. The only downside is that the course is mainly talking heads, and some dogs :-) . It could be improved with some more reading material.

par kusuma a

29 août 2017

very clear and more importantly it keeps me engaged through the instructor delivery -- he presents the content in his own word and brings modern evolution perspectives on Buddhism

par Noelia E R

24 mai 2020

Interesting course, specially because it's focused in a scientific (not mystic) way, and approaches the Buddhist doctrine from a very academic point of view. Very educative!

par Claudia I H

1 mars 2019

Course un general isla interesting althoug I think that videos are too long and the part of moduls Is not very hypnotizing to me, a but slow in that part.

The rest Is ok.

par Bilal J

25 nov. 2015

Very interesting course. Good depth into the subject matter, a bit more enthusiasm from the professor could go a long way into making the course a bit more vibrant.

par Georgie J

4 sept. 2020

Very interesting course. Well worth my time and effort.

I’ve just ordered your book, The Moral Animal, after reading chapter 13 which you provided the link to.

par Phurba Y S

30 juil. 2020

It is a great course. It helps understand the buddha's teaching in context to the modern science.

But we don't receive a certificate at the end of the course

par Dayenne S

13 avr. 2020

Very interesting course that thoughtfully reviews the naturalistic aspects of Buddhism in the light of evolutionary psychology and related disciplines

par Amanpreet S

5 mars 2017

A nice course to take on a hard subject of Mind, Moral Truth. Found it enlightening thanks all the team for bringing such a course out to the world.