Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,427 évaluations
1,863 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,833 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Siddhant T

9 oct. 2020

Fantastic Course, I'm Glad that i found this course about Buddhism Philosophy i noted down many points during the lecture and i read them whenever I want, i want to Thank Robert sir that he uploaded this course, i have a broader understanding of this world, about me, and i started meditating during when i heard the benefits of meditation through Robert sir and Buddhist Monks, it helped to calm my mind, focus on few aspect of life that need work, and taught me understanding of Buddha which i wanted to learn since i was a kid.

par Kaan K

5 nov. 2020

Robert Wright truly realizes the potential of MOOCs with this course! I wish all the professors out there took example of his approach to online learning with so many office hours, bonus material and links to his other works, interviews with experts and so much more. I'm very thankful for the opportunity to have embarked on this journey with him and I highly recommend this course to anyone who'd like to deepen their understanding of Buddhism with respect to the teaching's connection with Modern Psychology findings. Namaste!

par Matteo T

23 août 2020

Interesting and modern argument, developed very well thought-out the lessons. Prof Wright is able to lead the discussion in the videos keeping always high attention and interest from the audience (even if the overall remains sometime bit lengthy). Difficult concepts are explained and elaborated in a comprehensive way and supported by the discussion on comments from students (office hours). Two superstars contribute to the success (Milo and Fraiser) and we are waiting for the second course with latest results from science!

par Caroline B

26 juil. 2017

It was an incredible journey through two of my greatest passions, buddhism and modern psychology. Robert Wright see the links between them, that I've been searching for a long time. I can now wrap my mind around many things I wanted to understand better. It will help me greatly as a person and as a therapist. Thank you a thousand times ! And thanks to all the sudents giving life to the discussions and evaluating the essays. Special thanks to Milo and Frasier for bringing a touch of humor in the delightful office hours^^.

par Anthony F

29 janv. 2016

Having a BA in Psychology as well as continuously studied Buddhism in the past, I find that this class is a perfect example of how those two worlds collide. I've heard in the past that most religions find themselves being disproved by science today, where as Buddhism is strengthened by science. From that point of view, I think this class is a perfect argument why Psychology should be treated as a science rather than an art in society, with its roots founded in the existence of humanity, and the evolution of humankind.

par Anna S

9 avr. 2020

This is a really cool course, and I'm extremely glad that I discovered it for myself. I have been working as a psychologist and have been studying Buddhism for a long time, and this tutorial has allowed me to expand my knowledge of both Buddhism and psychology, which I am very happy about. I could not tear myself away from the lectures, the course is very exciting, interesting and useful. Robert Wright sets out the material very well, and his dogs are also one of the cool and fun moments of this course. Thanks a lot!

par Desiree V

4 févr. 2016

This is one of the best courses I have taken so far. It is very well and intelligently structured and organized, pleasently presented (less is more, I especially liked the calm and unagitated way) and Professor Robert Write makes excellent and astonishing connections between Buddhism and Modern Psychology/Science. He presents complex matter but has the ability to break it down and to explain it in a way that makes it easy to follow. I learned a lot during this course and greatly enjoyed it. Thank you so much!

par George B

28 août 2018

A really informative programme. The sessions are very clear and present the material in a very methodical and straightforward way. I found the whole thing captivating, not least because a number of ideas discussed were completely new to me e.g the modular concept of the mind. The lecturer is engaging, knowledgeable and 'friendly', which isn't an easy thing to do in video format! As the course tile would suggest, If you've any interest in Buddhism and/or modern psychology, then this is the programme for you!

par Cher R

4 févr. 2018

I've taken several courses on Coursera. I've liked them all, but this was my favorite so far. I also bought Robert Wright's book in addition to a book by Sharon Salzberg referenced in one of the supplemental material videos (week 6). I thought the concepts were well explained, and I enjoyed the short video interviews with experts that appeared throughout. I especially enjoyed the office hours segments and seeing Frazier and Milo. Highly recommended. I will be taking more courses on this topic in the future.

par Graham C

7 févr. 2021

I am a serious meditator, and a Teacher of meditation. This course resonated with me. It has greatly expanded my understanding of Buddhism as it relates to Modern Psychology. I found Professor Wright's teaching style to be interesting and insightful. I recommend this course for anyone who has an interest in expanding their knowledge of Buddhism and Modern Psychology.

My thanks to Professor Wright and everyone at Princeton University and Coursera, for giving me this very valuable learning opportunity.

Namaste

par Savieng S

31 janv. 2021

Buddhism and Modern Psychology. Great course and fun. Professor Robert Wright has a sense of humor especially about his two dogs. His dogs understand and know how to behave when professor Wright talked Dhamma with them. I think more people should take Buddhism and Modern Psychology so we can all live with our mean, more joyful life. I learned to understand about my life and what is in me. I also learned what/whose controls me. I now see the world and me more pleasant, calm, and happier then before.

par Doug H

16 août 2020

As a psychologist, with some seminary training, and Christian college teaching experience (25 years) I wanted specific work in this area. I've long been drawn to Buddhism as a philosophy and way of life. I revisited South East Asia (18 months ago) after 50 years of having been in Thailand during the Vietnam war. I was struck by how much Buddhism & its culture had impacted me over my life since 1969. This course has been beneficial to me professionally, and more so personally. Thanks Professor Wright.

par Mara R

25 oct. 2017

This course was really mind-opening for me. It had a great impact on me in a positive way. Maybe it came up at the right moment when my interest for both Buddhism and Modern Psychology grew but it is nevertheless an excellent course with an excellent professor. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in these topics. I am definitely going to continue on the path that this course has opened for me and I am very happy and grateful to Prof. Wright for making this course accessible for free. Thank you!

par Yujin L

15 mai 2018

what a great intellectual stimulation this course provides! after the course, i loved the instructor so much that i enrolled his "bloggingheads" website and read a couple of his famous publications. he is very engaging and great to explain the complex concepts with humor and clarity. he does ramble a lot during his office hours though, which is amusing and thought-provoking at the same time. i highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in philosophy, religion, evolution theory, and/or psychology.

par Catleah C

9 août 2016

Professor Wright tells things simply- and in a straightforward manner, even some of the more complex ideas, he explains eruditely. Prof. Wright offers many helpful resources, including third-party experts, the readings, articles, videos, and office hours in particular really help enrich the subject matter. I would recommend this course to any one who has even peripheral interest in psychology or buddhism, meditation, and the scientific implications of the practice. Thank you for offering this course!

par Ulianych D

8 mai 2016

The course is number one among all ~10 courses I've taken on Coursera platform! Bullet points:

1) The material is given in a structured way and simple to understand because of every-day examples we encounter in our life.

2) Outstanding audio and video quality of the lectures makes Princeton University's coursers more likely to be taken.

3) The lecturer has touched a various of controversial topics (religions, Buddhism in particular) and masterfully aligned them with a modern psychology discoveries.

par Valencia I

27 juil. 2020

Going into this course I had a rudimentary understanding of evolutionary psychology and little to no knowledge on Buddhism. Now I feel like I have a solid base upon which to layer future knowledge on the intersection between these two fascinating worlds. I love how this course is formulated, how it analyzes Buddhism doctrine through the lens of modern psychology. It has revolutionized my thinking and I feel very grateful to Robert Wright and Coursera for this wonderful free resource. Thank you!

par Patricia H V R

29 sept. 2020

Buddhism and modern psychology, is an excellent introductory course towards a broader vision of the value and benefits of Buddhist meditation techniques, as it allows a clear understanding of the principles and logic behind them from a scientific point of view. It is even a source of motivation, both to know more about the subject and to constantly cultivate the meditation techniques, since it induces to know more and to become aware of the benefits of linking their practice to the lifestyle.

par Gabriel W

17 août 2020

This course is very enlightening and different from other courses i have undertaken. I had a different view of Buddhism until Prof Wright introduced me to this course. His relaxed and simple way of explaining the doctrine and linking it to modern psychology with proven research as well as interviewing Buddhist nuns and scholars made it more interesting and understanding. I encourage others to take this course and it will definitely not be a waste of time. Thank your Coursera and Robert Wright.

par KAPIL P

16 juil. 2020

This course is one of the must do courses for the ones who want to acknowledge the unseen universal order of human life; the principles of human mind; the simple behavioral response pattern of the human mind. Moreover this course gives a name and and a proper definition for the experiences we had, for those which we weren't able to give a reason why or a name what. Besides understanding concepts and the comparative study , one gets to know the simple facts of oneself moving through the course.

par Andrea M R

7 mai 2020

It was a great experience to get involved into the Buddhism during the lockdown. One comment for improving: while sending the Middle term and Final Assignments, some students didn't attach their works, so, the advice is adding a button to inform those students that their work is not there, otherwise the system do not permit to send any other feedback to others students, unless you qualified to the student in any way, and if there is no document attached the qualification must to be zero...

par Deleted A

4 nov. 2015

Una maravilla de curso. Estuve realizando un intern de meditación 15 días en un santuario budista de Tailanida (Budismo Theravada).Este curso es muy interesante, las definiciones y ejemplos son claros y concisos. Así mismo, para un estudiante de psicología como yo la relación científica con la rama más actual del busimos "occidental" explicada en estas lectures es excelente. Recomendable si estas algo puesto en el tema, recomendable si no estas puesto en el tema.

Be water, my friend

Domingo

par Aurora M

29 juin 2020

I

loved every part of this course! I learned so much and understood a lot specifically during this time of the COVID pandemic. It helped me personally begin partial meditation for relaxation. There should definitely be a part II to this course for those whom would like to continue analyzing Buddhism in connection to modern psychology. Professor Wright is amazing in bringing in interviews from other professionals, it kept the lectures interesting. I will miss seeing Milo and Frazier!

par Eduardo C

12 mai 2020

I think the Course and its contents are very interesting, and answer a necessity in this day and age: the link between Science and Buddhism from an academic point of view. Professor Wright is extremely gentle in his transmission, and he has a genuine curiosity that goes in line with the central aspects of Buddhism. You can see that this is truly a passion of his.

I only wish that this Course was certified, because the themes are a great addition to everyone interested in the subject!

par Frank W

21 juil. 2020

A very excellent course. As a practitioner it helped me look at Buddhism from the outside in. I appreciate that Prof Wright has also attempted to look at it from the inside out from his own mediation. I would suggest including the discussion of more sutra for a more robust review of Buddhist ideas of self and nonself. I highly recommend reviewing Thich Nhat Hanh's Understanding Our Mind---a seminal work on Buddhist psychology. Overall a great course. Prof Wright was very engaging!