Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,431 évaluations
1,865 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 1,836 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Aurora T

22 juin 2021

I really enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it. Robert Wright is a wonderful teacher and he provides exposure to many different, interesting perspectives through his interviews and reading materials (including one of my favourites, Bhikkhu Bodhi!).

par Veronika C

12 mai 2020

Very enriching course that will completely change the way you see yourself and the world around you. It gives you knowledge relevant for anyone. It´s well structured and professor Wright did an amazing job putting the lectures together. I enjoyed every session

par Jeanette H

4 mai 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed this thought-provoking course and Prof Wright's deadpan delivery. While the peer review system for assignments has its limitations and frustrations, for this type of subject matter it can give fascinating insights into the minds of others.

par Michael W W

6 juin 2020

I really enjoyed this course, with the detail on how evolutionary psychology supports Buddhist ideas. Prof. Robert Wright is engaging, and the practical observations provided by Fraser and Milo are noteworthy. I highly recommend this thought provoking course.

par Ruchi V

14 avr. 2020

A well structured, conceptually rich, and intellectually fulfilling course for all students of psychology, as well as for those who wish to delve into the questions of where modern psychology and religion (In this case, Buddhism) stand relative to each other.

par Marcelo B

14 déc. 2015

This course presents an introduction to the Buddhist teachings and an analysis of these teachings from a perspective of modern psychology (specially evolutionary psychology). A strong recommendation for anyone interested in better understanding our own minds.

par Yevhenii S

25 oct. 2015

Excellent course for those who try to understand eastern philosophy from rational point of view. Also explains more clearly the effects of meditation and why it worth to try. This course shows that there is nothing mysterious or supernatural in this practice.

par Nora B

29 août 2020

Enjoyed this course immensely and will continue reading and viewing R Wright's podcasts, etc. i found his writing to be sincere and thoughtful and while, modern psychology may be a little too linear for me, I like the idea of studying Evo Psychology further.

par guy k

21 nov. 2017

I'm extremely interested in the subject, I love both psychology and buddhism and a lot of the view offered in this course I hold as my own. Robert does a good job at explaining everything but in this case, I think the best way to learn is hands on experience

par Scott M

8 oct. 2017

A wonderful journey into Buddhist psychology through the lens of author Robert Wright. Leans heavily on evolutionary psychology, as that has been the angle of many of Wright's books. It has deepened my interest in the intersection of Buddhism and Psychology.

par pratik b

7 mai 2020

A wonderful course.

Before joining the course I knew a bit about Buddhism but Psychology ! I had no clue. The video lectures, the office hours, etc shared by Prof. Wright were expectional. Gain a lot about Buddhism amd Pscychology . Thanks to Prof. Wright.

par Pawan L

27 oct. 2020

This course has significantly enriched my knowledge of Buddhist ideas. Through the prism of modern sciences, I found Buddhist thoughts most relevant to the modern world.

I will encourage others to spend time on understanding Buddism with Robert Wright.

par Loreana G

11 juil. 2020

Perhaps one of the most interesting classes I have taken. Professor Wright is truly brilliant and presents the class materials in a way that is quite easy to comprehend and engaging. Definitely a class to take if you value the best academia has to offer.

par David A

16 mai 2020

Mr. Wright gave very clear talks. Very understandable and thorough. He was easy to follow, making sure that the important points of his talks were emphasized so I knew where he was going with his thought processes. Thank you for an enjoyable conversation

par Lauren C

14 mai 2017

Loved this class. First online course I ever saw through until the end. Informative (interesting lectures and readings), fun (informal office hours videos w/the Professor and his dogs) and applicable to everyday life (learning about meditation benefits).

par Sanjay U

6 avr. 2020

Thanks for offering this course. It was very helpful and useful for me. Really appreciate all the class lecture videos. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in Buddhism and how Psychology is increasing supporting these teachings.

par Hyunsuh K

30 janv. 2019

Very interesting, critical, and has a lot of food to chew on. On a side note, but definitely worth mentioning, Professor Wright tells hilarious humors wearing his iconic straight face, which makes the courses and office hours all the more fun to watch.

par Jordi C

6 août 2016

As I followed the course my interest grew, because great questions arise, and the connections between Psychology and Buddhism are clear, an exiting discovery for me. Also, professor Wright is an excellent orator, so the lectures was clear and pleasant.

par christiaan t

20 sept. 2021

L​ove the course, has increased my understanding of the world and given me something to reflect on. The one downside is that Rober Wright tends to get sidetracked. But would reccomend you take the course if you are intrested in psychology or Buddism.

par Polly D P

28 mai 2021

Una gran experiencia, Roberth es excepcional, admiro mucho La manera en que logra transmitir la información, además es muy completo...existe interacción con muchas fuentes de pensamientos. quisiera repetirlo jejej

me gustaría que tuviera certificación

par Kalman R

6 nov. 2020

A fascinating course on a challenging subject. I learned a lot about the ideas that produced Buddhist and Buddhist-Inspired meditation and how Buddha's pioneering psychological insights stand up in light of modern science. Thank you Professor Wright!

par Stephen M

30 avr. 2018

This is a great course for both Buddhists and those with an interest in what lies behind human motivation. Dr Wright has a dry sense of humor which comes across in the lectures making them compelling viewing. I really did enjoy the course very much.

par Edna I D A

8 janv. 2018

Excellent course, I like the way professor Wright introduce us to Buddhism and do the link to the Modern Psychology. Only beware nothing will be the same after this course, the concepts make us to think a new way how we are :). Open mind is the key.

par Shreya S

2 mai 2017

This was a phenomenal course. It was very well planned out and enabled me to acquire a deep understanding of the important concepts. The assignments given helped to crystallize my own analysis of Buddhism and its relationship with modern psychology.

par Elsa A

24 janv. 2017

Great information and really learned so much. Thank you for teaching this course. I really enjoyed learning this information. I will be revisiting some modules again for a refresher or go through it again since there was so much to learn. Thank you.