Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,431 évaluations
1,865 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

CV
2 mars 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

301 - 325 sur 1,836 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Martin O

16 août 2017

This was a truly fascinating course. Robert Wright does an excellent job delivering the material in a very humorous and down-to-earth way. It's a great combination of spirituality and science. The finding from the course will change the way you live and give you ideas for improving your own life.

par Gretta M

15 juin 2020

I have a background in Buddhism from a minor while pursuing my undergrad, but none is psychology. The course wasn't too technical and both a good introduction to Buddhism and to mind modules in psychology. I definitely understand myself better after taking this course and highly recommend it!

par Clara A

18 août 2020

As a Psychologys it was really interesting to learn about Buddhist ideas and correlate them with knowledge i already knew regarding my career. Robert Wright was very clear on every single one of his explanations and i am really happy with all the content that has been given to me as a student.

par Mateo P J

26 juil. 2020

Un curso que te muestra de forma practica la conexión que existe entre la ciencia moderna y el camino Budista, y te invita a una sencilla practica que en lo personal me ha servido para grandes cosas en mi vida. Te recomiendo hacer este curso con la mente abierta y el corazón dispuesto. Gracias

par Nicholas G

24 mai 2020

Thank You Robert Wright and Coursera. This is a great introductory course into the potential role Buddhist practices and teaching are relevant into today's world. While I was stumped during many lectures the more I pondered and meditated on the subject the more truth and understanding "I" see.

par Tomer T

26 avr. 2020

Great and interesting course! I feel like there are few, although not many, new scientific evidences about material in course. Therefore, some additional modifications might be required. For example, the notion of consciousness as a "flashlight" and not as aggregate that we have no control of.

par Natalie G

16 avr. 2020

Truly enjoyed Prof. Wright‘s lectures and office hours. Felt like I‘m actually taking part in something and not just watching somebody talk in a course over the web. It‘s a pity, it‘s over. Got attached to it. Well, I guess, I have an opportunity to apply what I learned and not to cling to it.

par Thomas K

13 avr. 2020

This course, along with a Buddhist meditation app, has transformed my life for the better. Dr. Wright is a great lecturer with lots of meditation experience. I've now realized that happiness does not need to be relentlessly pursued, but can be found in the present moment by just being mindful.

par Odile D

14 nov. 2015

Brilliant and full of hope for humankind !

The teaching is great because it is easily understandable on a cognitive point of view, the reamaining inner path is up to you ! Let's rebel angainst our incomplete thus efficient human nature ! and benefit of the last discoveries of modern psychology

par Ma T

7 mai 2021

It was a very well done course. I had to commit myself seriously and this is synonymous with seriousness in the study approach. I like it. Besides that, I learned new things with a smile. Really enjoyable. Thanks and a warm greeting to Robert and Cousera. I'll be back soon to study with you.

par Kanad k

10 mars 2020

Absolutely fantastic experience learning about Buddhism principles and theories of evolutionary psychology explaining how our mind functions. Robert Wright has put so much effort into making this course a charm to navigate and comprehend. I know so much about 'myself' and people around me.

par Jennifer

12 mai 2020

I appreciate Professor Wright's gentle tone and personal aspects that he incorporates. I also like the fact that it's more than just the aspects of Buddhism and Psychology. There is a little bit of science involved as well, which I really didn't anticipate. I really enjoyed this course!

par Eduardo C

10 nov. 2017

Excellent oportunity to learn about Buddhism under the light of moder psychology. It is "doable" with very concise and well organized lectures which make the course very enjoyable and smooth. Special mention to professor Wright and his dogs, they made the whole experience even more fun.

par Han Z

16 déc. 2015

这门课程虽然形式上基本是老师讲述为主,但穿插了很多访谈,包括老师自己和其他人对佛教的冥想的实践,无我、空、觉悟的理解。课程同时从现代科学的角度对人脑思维方式、冥想时的活动、心理学角度所看的自我意识、演化心理学对人的感觉、感情、自我意识的理论进行了说明。完成课程需要写两篇论文,从论坛的讨论和其他学员的论文以及对论文的点评来看,课程的水平很高。老师也给出了进一步对佛教和现代心理学进行学习的路径及相关链接。如果想要对佛教的一些基本理论,佛教修行的基本方法感兴趣,对佛教中所追求而又没有人宣称真正实现的无我、空、觉悟想有所了解,并寻找现代科学对其的论述,这是一门很好入门课程。

par Carol-Lynn L

14 sept. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would be glad to recommend it to anyone with an interest in the subjects. Robert Wright provided a lot of useful information and resources and his lighthearted style held my attention throughout. Thank you so much for a great learning opportunity.

par Catherine R

7 août 2016

I truly adore this course. I'm an engineering student and my strict class schedule doesn't allow me to explore as I'd like. I've always been interested in Buddhism and I'm an avid meditator. This course gives me a historical and psychological framework in which to look at my practice.

par Ezgi B

10 juil. 2019

A nice combination of the scientific facts and not religious learnings of Buddhism. Sone kind of a bridge connetcs me to my own personal perceptions. It is not like a course to follow the information instead it is more like questioning with the instractor and other experts. loved it!

par Kelley C

14 mai 2020

I enjoyed this course and Professor Wright immensely. I was fairly unfamiliar with the concepts of Buddhism, and the lectures and reading material were extremely thought-provoking. Although my brain was sometimes pushed to its limits, the course was well laid out and easy to follow.

par ALGIMAR D

25 avr. 2021

This has been a very nice experience, I haven't ever studied this area of the human knowledge. It's an approach to the Buddhist view from a scientific perspective that added value to such an spiritual perspective of life. Also has a lot of bibliographic and experimental references.

par Monique S

15 mai 2017

Considering its his first time, i think he's doing a great job. I like when a professor is down to earth. I can relate to him thus, me finding this course more and more interesting. I actually look forward to using the internet, logging onto this website for classes. lol Thank you

par Brook M

10 déc. 2015

After completing this course, I have to say I'm impressed. Normally I struggle to pay attention, but I found this subject absolutely captivating. Also, the teacher was very engaged in his lectures and did a wonderful job explaining all the concepts he talked about in the lectures.

par Natasha

14 juil. 2017

I am so glad to have enrolled for this course. I thoroughly enjoyed every lecture, it was enlightening to a whole new level. I have learnt so much about Buddhism and being a Psychology student this has surely helped me understand and learn Psychology from a different perspective.

par Kath S

11 mai 2021

I chose this as one of my free courses and was really impressed with Robert Wright's way of delivering the information. It was a fascinating look into Buddhism and Psychology and has inspired me to continue to learn more on this subject. I look forward to reading his new book..

par Emily S

6 nov. 2015

So far, I'm having a lot of fun - and writing proper essay assignments is proving to be something I've missed terribly since being in school/college etc!

I'm really enjoying everything about this course!

It's set out beautifully, there's a brilliant tutor and it's just fantastic!