Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
5,431 évaluations
1,865 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

LW
25 oct. 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

VC
15 nov. 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrer par :

276 - 300 sur 1,835 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Marcelo d J

7 oct. 2015

Hice este curso hace un par de años y me pareció realmente excepcional, tanto que ahora lo estoy haciendo de nuevo y me parece cada vez mejor. El interés de los temas expuestos, la sencillez y accesibilidad a la hora de transmitirlos... Robert Wright es un verdadero maestro! Enhorabuena a él a todo su equipo!

par Luca C R

2 janv. 2021

Really good course done by Robert Wright! I may even buy his book sometime, what a guy! Also Robert, if you are reading this, please please research psychedelics! It is thanks to them that I have become so interested in Buddhist philosophy and meditation. Everyone should try this course! It taught me so much

par Bántó B

21 déc. 2020

This was my first course in Coursera and also my first course related to Buddhism, I enjoyed watching and learning. This course aroused curiosity in me made me think outside the box, and open to new fields. Excellent and interesting content. Easy to understand and follow. I happily recommend it to everyone.

par Helen R

9 juin 2016

Firstly I enjoyed it - it was interesting. Secondly I found it did what it said it would do - it was informative. The teaching was good. The assessments were relevant and did assess learning without being too time consuming or difficult. There was a forum which was interesting. I'd definitely do another one.

par Brendon M

15 nov. 2016

Have been looking for something like this for twenty years - exploring Buddhism with a technical bent and relation to modern understandings of the mind. thank you. impressed with Robert Wright.

Would have liked to see a certificate and would have been a=happy to pay for this aspect if that was the barrier.

par Balthazar M

25 août 2020

It was great! The material wasn't too hard to follow, not to mention very interesting and may I dare say, life-changing. I would just like to note that some of the supplemental readings were really long and tedious. Some material could have been cut off. But the central course itself was perfect, I think.

par Santiago S

30 nov. 2020

This course has exceeded my expectations by large. Really enjoyed the lectures and the main theme: well explained connections and parallelisms between Buddhism and modern psychology, which are paramount in this course. Robert Wright is a great professor. Thank you for making this course available online!

par Graham A

9 mars 2016

I find the subject and the material fascinating. Robert is a great lecturer with an obvious wealth of knowledge on the subject to impart to his students. I am thoroughly enjoying it and I look forward to studying with Robert again in the future. It has really opened my mind to a whole new field of study.

par Alastair B

26 févr. 2021

The course closely follows the instructor's book "Why Buddhism is true". It is interesting to see him present the content personally with the aid of relevant interviews. Assessment is based on two straightforward essays that can be answered from the content of the videos without much background reading.

par Ksenia S

7 déc. 2020

Amazing teacher, excellent material. The course is very clearly structured with a progressive build-up to more and more complex topics intertwining, the level of interdisciplinary analysis is impressive. Thank you, Coursera team for making something as incredible as this course, available for all of us!

par Greer B

21 juil. 2016

The professor is relateable, funny, and understandable. He explains the information thoroughly and provides a multitude of resources for deeper investigation. He approaches the topics from multiple points of views, and goes in depth in each of those views. It has been a very enjoyable experience so far.

par Denise T

13 mai 2016

Well worth the time. I am someone who has been meditating for a few years and I am practicing Psychologist and Psychotherapist. I was interested to understand how my experiences with meditation can relate to the word of modern psychology and this course was very persuasive in its approach and content.

par Juan G S

8 août 2020

Though an objective course in understanding Buddhism, it actually helps you understand a bit of yourself more and more you listen to the lectures. You begin to identify and make sense of the world and the assessments really reflect what you understand and even go personal with your beliefs as a person.

par Samantha S

28 juil. 2019

Robert was very thorough in his lectures, including the use of many scientific studies as examples. I admire his energy and would love to meet him someday! To non-attachment and reducing dukkha in our lives!!! Thanks for a great course and better psychological understanding of Buddhism as a philosophy.

par Gabriela Q

15 mai 2020

Profesor Wright not only is super clear, but he makes the lessons with various contents, sources and information useful. He explains with detail, he is funny (the dogs made me laugh more than once) and the subject is interesting. I am so happy I could find something like this during these hard times.

par Chee K N

10 oct. 2019

Good course to relate the modern psychology to the buddhist view on human mind and thinking and how modern psychology supported the teaching of the buddha. Great course and special thanks to Dr Robert Wright and course provide Coursera. I truly enjoyed the course and the time was well spent. Thank you

par Manju A

27 févr. 2019

The course designed beautifully, gives complete insight on Buddhism and modern Psychology. Mr. Robert Wright awesome teacher, he explains the concept in a very simple and effective way. I learned a lot from this course and would definitely practice some learnings in my day to day life. Thanks Coursera

par Nida R

17 nov. 2015

I'm really enjoying this course, and especially like the written midterm and final (which we haven't submitted yet) and the peer review system which allows us to read other students' thoughts on the course material as well. Definitely recommended for anyone interested in either Psychology or Buddhism.

par Sarah V

14 nov. 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Wright did an amazing job intellectualizing core concepts of Buddhism and relating them to modern psychology- specifically evolutionary psychology. I finished this course with a strong curiousity to learn more about some of the subjects we looked at in the class.

par Ram C

4 févr. 2016

This is a fantastic course with a fantastic premise. I look at the Buddha more as a scientist than a philosopher and hence it is very interesting for me to know similarities between Buddhist thought and psychology. Also the interviews of Buddhist monks that are intercut with the lectures are lovable!

par PikYuen C

26 sept. 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Robert Wright was a great instructor, the content was superior and presented well. The opportunity for challenge through the discussion forums was made more effective with instructor's feedback in the various segments of Office Hours. It was an effective approach.

par Minn T

4 janv. 2021

It's one of the courses I have enjoyed attending. Theoretical and philosophical aspects of Buddhism are addressed and aligned with developments and findings in modern psychology. It's a must-attend course for those who wish to find out what the Buddhism is and its essence. Thank you Prof Wright!

par Scott H

8 avr. 2020

Good short lectures, interesting essays, and interesting peer-review process. The class provides a synthesis of some core Buddhist ideas with modern psych. Where the class deviates from 'conventional' Buddhist teaching, it flags the deviation for you to separately research if you are interested.

par Jim K

16 nov. 2016

It is a very interesting topic for me. Dr Wright's teaching are also great for us the learn the basic knowledge about both Buddhism and modern psychology, though the topic itself are very difficult because Buddhism is far more profound than we can expect and modern psychology are still very young.

par Francesco P

16 oct. 2017

A very insightful course, that even if it does not release any certificate, can be a wonderful starting point to learn how the Coursera platform works and to those that are passionate about social sciences and spirituality can be a source for inspiration, further researches, and a detailed study.