Chevron Left
Retour à Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne par Université de Princeton

4.8
étoiles
3,892 évaluations
1,178 avis

À propos du cours

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Meilleurs avis

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 1,167 Avis pour Bouddhisme et psychologie moderne

par Brook M

Dec 10, 2015

After completing this course, I have to say I'm impressed. Normally I struggle to pay attention, but I found this subject absolutely captivating. Also, the teacher was very engaged in his lectures and did a wonderful job explaining all the concepts he talked about in the lectures.

par Natasha

Jul 14, 2017

I am so glad to have enrolled for this course. I thoroughly enjoyed every lecture, it was enlightening to a whole new level. I have learnt so much about Buddhism and being a Psychology student this has surely helped me understand and learn Psychology from a different perspective.

par Emily S

Nov 06, 2015

So far, I'm having a lot of fun - and writing proper essay assignments is proving to be something I've missed terribly since being in school/college etc!

I'm really enjoying everything about this course!

It's set out beautifully, there's a brilliant tutor and it's just fantastic!

par Fidelia H

Apr 26, 2020

Great course! Prof. Robert Wright does not only offer objective insight into both modern psychology as well as Buddhism - he also manages to make you smile and laugh during every lecture and office hours, making any examples or references he make stay in your mind. Thank you!

par Jonas K

Nov 22, 2019

Very interesting course to get an overview about the original ideas of Buddhism and put them in a context of modern science. The course is well structured and I really enjoyed watching the lectures and to go into a deeper reflection about some of the ideas in the assignments.

par Guillermo

May 06, 2020

Great course! It has deffently helped me understand better concepts of Buddhisim and modern Psychology. Also triggerd to start meditating, not easy though :)

Thank you Robert Wright and all the team at Princenton and Coursera that made this possible, for sure it was worth it!

par Rana E

Jun 14, 2017

Very interesting, informative and stimulating course. Dr Wright is a pleasure to listen to; he is enthusiastic about the topic and has a fantastic sense of humor. I appreciate the time he put in this course and in the office hours answering students questions. Chapeau bas!

par Natalia G

May 18, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, I started without any knowledge about Buddhism or modern psychology, and now I feel I have an undertanding of the topics and how they can be linked. The course was also very easy to follow and the teacher was clear and fun to watch. Congrats!

par Madhukar V

Apr 27, 2020

I am really delight to gone thru the whole course. One thing is sure that the finding of Buddha 2500 years in past is still relevant and good area of scientific work. It seems modern psychology have to go long way to understand the secret of buddism doctrine completely

par María J P C

Feb 13, 2020

Excelente curso, sin necesidad de comprender la psicología moderna es una buena manera de comprender el buddhismo, la psicología y la meditación. El profesor cuenta con invitados y material de excelente calidad. Definitivamente uno de los mejores cursos que e tomado.

par Germano G d F

Jun 27, 2017

This was my first course on either Buddhism and Psychology. I really enjoyed it. The lecturer does a great job and the division of the lessons was perfect. I also enjoyed the "office hours", where the lecturer was more free to express his opinions in an informal way.

par Maya K

May 21, 2017

Such an insightful course, thoroughly enjoyed every single lecture and writing the essays. Such an interesting topic, and really clear information. Robert Wright is a really engaging lecturer, absolutely loved it! I've encouraged lots of my friends to take the course

par Luz A R M

Oct 17, 2016

It was a very good and well organized course, that gave me extensive information about Buddhism that was the reason to choose it. Modern psychology information nicely complements the Buddhist theme. The given literature invites me to continue deepen the topic.

par Joy S

Jan 04, 2018

Really enjoyed the juxtaposition of Buddhism with side-by-side comparisons to its equivalents in modern thought. Found it helpful, thought-provoking. It enhanced my understanding of both disciplines. I like mixed-discipline classes and this was one of the best.

par Priya H

Aug 24, 2018

Really loved the lectures and short video conversations that the professor presented. A great balance of relatable, understandable with just a few advanced concepts to keep you interested and know that there's much more to learn. Thanks for this course offering!

par Elena W

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent! I thoroughly enjoyed the professor's explanations and all the guest speakers he invited to give their input. He is very dedicated and answered many questions in his office hours, with humor and genuine care. Also, Frasier and Milo are impossibly cute.

par Veronika C

May 12, 2020

Very enriching course that will completely change the way you see yourself and the world around you. It gives you knowledge relevant for anyone. It´s well structured and professor Wright did an amazing job putting the lectures together. I enjoyed every session

par Ruchi V

Apr 14, 2020

A well structured, conceptually rich, and intellectually fulfilling course for all students of psychology, as well as for those who wish to delve into the questions of where modern psychology and religion (In this case, Buddhism) stand relative to each other.

par michael w w

Jun 12, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, with the detail on how evolutionary psychology supports Buddhist ideas. Prof. Robert Wright is engaging, and the practical observations provided by Fraser and Milo are noteworthy. I highly recommend this thought provoking course.

par Marcelo B

Dec 14, 2015

This course presents an introduction to the Buddhist teachings and an analysis of these teachings from a perspective of modern psychology (specially evolutionary psychology). A strong recommendation for anyone interested in better understanding our own minds.

par Yevhenii S

Oct 25, 2015

Excellent course for those who try to understand eastern philosophy from rational point of view. Also explains more clearly the effects of meditation and why it worth to try. This course shows that there is nothing mysterious or supernatural in this practice.

par guy k

Nov 22, 2017

I'm extremely interested in the subject, I love both psychology and buddhism and a lot of the view offered in this course I hold as my own. Robert does a good job at explaining everything but in this case, I think the best way to learn is hands on experience

par Scott M

Oct 08, 2017

A wonderful journey into Buddhist psychology through the lens of author Robert Wright. Leans heavily on evolutionary psychology, as that has been the angle of many of Wright's books. It has deepened my interest in the intersection of Buddhism and Psychology.

par Pratik P B

May 07, 2020

A wonderful course.

Before joining the course I knew a bit about Buddhism but Psychology ! I had no clue. The video lectures, the office hours, etc shared by Prof. Wright were expectional. Gain a lot about Buddhism amd Pscychology . Thanks to Prof. Wright.

par David A

May 17, 2020

Mr. Wright gave very clear talks. Very understandable and thorough. He was easy to follow, making sure that the important points of his talks were emphasized so I knew where he was going with his thought processes. Thank you for an enjoyable conversation