Chevron Left
Retour à Science & Religion 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Science & Religion 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.5
étoiles
111 évaluations
40 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines the nature of both science and religion and attempts to explore the possible relationships between them. The primary purpose is to dispel the popular myth that science and religion are entrenched in a never-ending conflict. As a result, this course argues that if the limits of both science and religion are respected, then their relationship can be complementary. Topics include: Science and Religion Categories and Foundational Principles, Definitions of Science and Religion, Science-Religion Models and Relationships, Intelligent Design and Natural Revelation, the Galileo Affair, Geology and Noah’s Flood, Evolution and Darwin’s Religious Beliefs, the Modern “Evolution” vs. “Creation” Debate, the Problem of Evil, and Interpretations of the Biblical Accounts of Origins in Genesis 1-11. The course employs a Constructive Teaching Style in order that students can develop their personal views on the relationship between science and religion and on each of the topics listed above. St. Joseph's College is a Catholic, undergraduate, liberal arts college on the University of Alberta campus. It is an independent institution that is affiliated with the University of Alberta. Denis O. Lamoureux is Professor of Science and Religion at St. Joseph's College in the University of Alberta. He is the author of Evolutionary Creation: A Christian Approach to Evolution (2008), Evolution: Scripture and Nature Say Yes! (2016), and The Bible & Ancient Science: Principles of Interpretation (2020). Lamoureux is a Research Associate in Paleontology and has contributed to a dozen scientific papers. He is cited in the Who’s Who of Theology and Science and has delivered over 600 lectures throughout the United States and Canada. Lamoureux holds three earned doctoral degrees—dentistry, theology, and biology....

Meilleurs avis

DJ
24 nov. 2017

This course has many insights that can help one integrate one's faith and one's science. I recommend it highly. The teacher put in a massive amount of work in this project and it shows.

CR
10 déc. 2017

A must-take course for anyone interested in the interface between science and religion. It provides useful foundations that would take a lot of time and reading to arrive at otherwise.

Filtrer par :

26 - 40 sur 40 Avis pour Science & Religion 101

par Rory W

17 mai 2021

I think this is a really good course for people struggling with their science and religious beliefs. It does have a bias toward Christianity, but the same principles can be applied to other religions and he mentions this. This bias should be understandable considering he is a Christian Theologian and Evolutionary Biologist. Definitely worth taking.

It is worth noting that the survey's in each week don't seem to work as of this review.

par Robert C C

17 déc. 2017

Though I disagree with the instructor on a number of his conclusions, I believe this is a good course.

par Diane A

12 nov. 2021

T​his course is useful in providing different points of view but it tends to still carry a heavy christian bias and is fairly reductionist in how it presents atheism.

par mubarak s

7 avr. 2018

Dear Sir

With all due respect,I am writing to inform you unfortunately I couldn't complete this course, because on that time I was in Detention centre.i was not feeling good,I have been detained for more than 3 years that's why everyday I became more frustrated and hopeless.even I tried to continue this course but again whatever I read I couldn't get it.3 weeks ago I have been released from Detention centre.now I am able to continue this course.

Dear sir please help me to join again .

Thanks.

Mubarak shah.

par Carol L M H

20 nov. 2021

II really enjoyed this course. The instructor is very concise and understandable. I bought his book to go with the course, so it served as an excellent textbook.

par GAJETTI C

18 janv. 2022

Very Interesting and very useful. from both point of view

par Winston A W

24 nov. 2020

Excellent, thank you.

par Shirley M

23 mai 2021

Excellent course!

par techidan

2 mai 2018

very interesting

par SWATHI Y

8 août 2020

Very useful

par KANHAY K M

21 janv. 2021

very good

par Ranjan k

12 mars 2021

Good

par Md I

23 janv. 2021

Good

par Irena M

6 juin 2021

I​ have enjoyed the course, found it very informative. I am happy to be better equipped to deal with conflict between science and religion when it comes up in my work line. The material of the course is not devoid of biases. The instructor is clearly in favor of Intelligent Design and teleological evolution and completely rejects open-ended evolution. Despite teaching not to conflate religion and science, the instructor constantly conflates militant atheism with dysteleological evolution. And then goes on to aggressively rebut some of the out-of-context quotes by atheists. I​ would hate to think that the only reconciliation between science and religion (Christianity, the course should be called Christianity and Religion) is ta belief in a version of Intelligent Design. The notion puts an inherent bias on the pursuit of scientific research that should be open-minded. The separation of physical and metaphysical and the understanding that the Bible isn't a book of science should be enough. It is okay to resign to the notion that science and religion do not directly inform each other, other than in a larger cultural sense, and there is not reason to force a connection.

par Judy P

10 avr. 2021

Great presentation of the concepts that enables you to understand the conflict well