Chevron Left
Retour à Publicité et société

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Publicité et société par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
840 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Meilleurs avis

LV

27 juil. 2022

I really enjoyed the course and will use the material I learned to create a month-long learning program as a foreign language teacher of English for the 8th grade students of my school, in Israel.

KD

14 juin 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 200 Avis pour Publicité et société

par Marios K

12 août 2022

A cohesive, short introductionary course with an anthropological POV of the connection between advertising and society.

par Colin M

18 juil. 2019

A great informative course that explore the history and significance of advertising in (primarily) American society.

par Joris J S

9 sept. 2017

Good course to learn the different types of advertisement, back ground and what tools you have to persuade people.

par Mohammad M A

4 juil. 2020

I have learned so many thing regarding past, present advertising scenario and techniques.

Thanks a lot sir.

par Joy S

4 mai 2017

Pretty good class. Interesting, authoritative professor. Shows lots of pictures during his lectures.

par Tatev P

18 avr. 2020

Great review of history of ads and understanding our perceptions through it.

par PARAG B

19 juin 2019

This course was very informative and has changed my outlook on advertising.

par omar n

18 juil. 2022

It's very useful, but I wish it had more insight into advertising agencies

par Aaron L

11 sept. 2020

Everything about the course is just simply great, keep up the good work

par Ankit S R

31 juil. 2020

Great course! very good explanation of topics using art and history.

par upasna

17 juin 2020

very good course relating. to every aspect of the advertisement .

par Bismark O

8 févr. 2018

The course is very exciting and the Lecturer did perfectly well

par MOHAMMED S

10 mai 2020

fanastic experiance learned about advertisement history

par mynameisANG

19 févr. 2021

The course was insightful but slightly theoretical.

par Jhonatan

12 nov. 2020

Muy interante conocer la historia de la publicidad

par Anurag G

10 mars 2021

A good course overall. Basic and introductory.

par JAI K S P

26 mai 2020

Best Course For Better Understanding

par vasu n

29 avr. 2017

its Resource full and informative

par Chinaza C

26 sept. 2020

Enjoyed it!

par SHUBHAM B

26 juin 2020

Very Useful

par Erik T

25 avr. 2017

Interesting topics, but not taught in the most interesting way. The professor answered in his lecture videos some of my basic questions about advertising, but I don't think that he made the class very exciting and I didn't feel motivated to seek out outside material. I'm glad I took this course, but I don't think that I would recommend it to many other people.

par Maria Z

30 oct. 2017

The subject is very interesting, however material used in this course is outdated and relevant to present situation in a very limited way.

par Yongo A S

18 juin 2021

The course is really enlightening and fun too. Its just that I have reservations with the class on masculinity and femininity

par Greta B

5 juil. 2022

This course needs to be updated. ::)

I'd also like to see videos that are not just lecture.

par Ricardo A S

11 août 2022

O curso precisa de ser reformulado em termos de produção de conteúdos. A matéria é bastante interessante, mas a forma como é transmitida torna-se cansativa e desmotivante. Sugiro videos mais curtos e com mais linguagem visual.