Chevron Left
Retour à Publicité et société

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Publicité et société par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
868 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Meilleurs avis

LV

27 juil. 2022

I really enjoyed the course and will use the material I learned to create a month-long learning program as a foreign language teacher of English for the 8th grade students of my school, in Israel.

KD

14 juin 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 208 Avis pour Publicité et société

par Sanya A

7 mai 2017

This encouraged me to see and analyse ads that never caught my attention before. My understanding of advertisements has greatly increased, since now I am more aware of it's history,predicted future,and the powerful strategies that one may use to sell. Great course!

par Ashok S

13 mars 2017

The course is much better than my expectation, and the flexibility in the quiz and deadline is much supportive. The content of the course is widely sourced. One should do this whoever want to the the evolution of the advertisement world.

par Berkay A

18 févr. 2017

it's helpful but not interactive a lot, sometimes hard to follow the video but the proffessor is quite knowledged about the history, gives a lot of insights and force you to re-assess the course after it finishes , by na

par Amith M

1 déc. 2016

Takes you back to the age old version of ad pieces from cave paintings to todays social madness. A complete guide to a better student of advertising. And the 80% cross mark challenging and motivating. Thanks for this.

par Abhijit R R

5 déc. 2020

Very Good Course. In the beginning i was little bit bored as I'm not from the US or any western part of where I stay. But eventually 3rd I got my interest back and finally very much content after the course.

par Kathryn B

8 févr. 2018

This course has really helped with my understanding and background knowledge of advertising, and the impacts of any developments in the advertising industry on modern day and future societies.

par manasi s

26 nov. 2021

Not a 5 star because practical aspect of ad making is missing. I would have loved to have an assignment where I could have made an advertisement for a product.

par Amin k

12 févr. 2021

It's a great course about advertising and its history. The focus of this course on the cultural aspects of marketing and advertising is exciting.

par Marios K

12 août 2022

A cohesive, short introductionary course with an anthropological POV of the connection between advertising and society.

par Colin M

18 juil. 2019

A great informative course that explore the history and significance of advertising in (primarily) American society.

par Joris J S

9 sept. 2017

Good course to learn the different types of advertisement, back ground and what tools you have to persuade people.

par Mohammad M A

4 juil. 2020

I have learned so many thing regarding past, present advertising scenario and techniques.

Thanks a lot sir.

par Joy S

4 mai 2017

Pretty good class. Interesting, authoritative professor. Shows lots of pictures during his lectures.

par Tatev P

18 avr. 2020

Great review of history of ads and understanding our perceptions through it.

par PARAG B

19 juin 2019

This course was very informative and has changed my outlook on advertising.

par omar n

18 juil. 2022

It's very useful, but I wish it had more insight into advertising agencies

par Aaron L

11 sept. 2020

Everything about the course is just simply great, keep up the good work

par Ankit S R

31 juil. 2020

Great course! very good explanation of topics using art and history.

par upasna

17 juin 2020

very good course relating. to every aspect of the advertisement .

par Bismark O

8 févr. 2018

The course is very exciting and the Lecturer did perfectly well

par MOHAMMED S

10 mai 2020

fanastic experiance learned about advertisement history

par VAN N H A

19 févr. 2021

The course was insightful but slightly theoretical.

par Jhonatan

12 nov. 2020

Muy interante conocer la historia de la publicidad

par Anurag G

10 mars 2021

A good course overall. Basic and introductory.

par JAI K S P

26 mai 2020

Best Course For Better Understanding