Chevron Left
Retour à Publicité et société

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Publicité et société par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
840 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Meilleurs avis

LV

27 juil. 2022

I really enjoyed the course and will use the material I learned to create a month-long learning program as a foreign language teacher of English for the 8th grade students of my school, in Israel.

KD

14 juin 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 200 Avis pour Publicité et société

par Aurelija V

26 nov. 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

par sreela m

29 juil. 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.

par ATTAT E

1 juil. 2020

The course was robust and engaging enough to prompt further reading on the subject of Advertising and Society.

par eishika d

19 juin 2020

Really enjoyed studying this course. Thanks to the Professor teaching the same. It was a wonderful experience.

par Mariam K

16 mai 2020

Very informative course. It surely opens the eyes to the world of advertising. Highly recommended to take this

par Letícia N

22 mai 2021

The course presents a little bit of the history of advertising and how ads are produced today. Great content!

par Thibaut S

5 mai 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !

par CHOW W

5 avr. 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

par Pujol A

18 nov. 2018

A really good overview of the advertising word. Lots of interesting examples and practical cases.

par Abin J M

13 juin 2018

100% Happy with the course,learned a lot!!!!!! looking forward for similar learning experience.

par Pashkov A

13 mars 2019

Very interesting cours, a lot of things to think about. Thank you, Professor William M. O'Bar.

par 소현 김

6 août 2017

It was my best coursera! Ican learn a lot of not only advertising but also society. Thank you!

par Muhammad T S

18 nov. 2017

Interesting and useful discussion. Different perspectives shared by a learned professor.

par Kathy A M

26 juil. 2022

Very interesting. Pointed out the obvious and not so obvious. Always pay attention.

par Anaele A O

13 août 2020

I really learnt alot about advertising during this period God bless the instructor

par Гаврилова Н В

4 mars 2021

Deep introduction in the world of advertising and its functions within the society.

par Karen P

28 janv. 2019

Well-structured and informative. Quizzes were a good way to check understanding.

par George-Bogdan D

26 avr. 2020

Great insight and amazing and detailed teaching. I will recommend this course.

par Jorge R M D

24 juin 2020

Un muy buen curso, completo y que abarca desde lo general hasta lo específico

par Rizwan A K

18 nov. 2018

its a very good site to learn what ever you want to learn relet to your study

par Dutch G

17 nov. 2021

Enjoyed Professor O' Barr. Class was very informative and thought provoking.

par Ishita S

12 déc. 2020

The professor was great and a very informative along with smooth experience!

par Amir H V

26 nov. 2017

Thanks a lot for your effort and hardworking to deliver these course to us.

par Alex I

21 nov. 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!

par HARSHIT S

29 juin 2020

A great course that dives deep into the various aspects of advertising!!!