Chevron Left
Retour à Building R Packages

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Building R Packages par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.1
étoiles
200 évaluations
52 avis

À propos du cours

Writing good code for data science is only part of the job. In order to maximizing the usefulness and reusability of data science software, code must be organized and distributed in a manner that adheres to community-based standards and provides a good user experience. This course covers the primary means by which R software is organized and distributed to others. We cover R package development, writing good documentation and vignettes, writing robust software, cross-platform development, continuous integration tools, and distributing packages via CRAN and GitHub. Learners will produce R packages that satisfy the criteria for submission to CRAN....

Meilleurs avis

KM
3 juin 2019

Fantastic course... Unfortunately, not too many people registered, it's tough to get your assignments graded. The program is the great continuation to the 10 course R data science specialization...

ME
15 janv. 2017

Very good course for intermediate/advanced R users. Sad that you are elegible to do assignments only if you pay.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 51 Avis pour Building R Packages

par Ganapathi N K

29 mai 2018

Nice

par Zdenek K

12 déc. 2016

I liked the course a lot since it is actually covering most of the things related to the package development. Nevertheless, I still feel (the same as with the previous classes) that authors could have spent more time building the course materials as many chapters are very brief and if I hadn't had the past experience with some of the topics, I wouldn't have any idea what the course is telling me (e.g. merge conflicts in git).

par Erik R

9 juil. 2020

Going through the entire course, then being expected to simply repackage an existing barebones package seemed pretty disappointing. I was hoping to end up needing to build my own, but I did learn what I needed to do in order to do that.

par Conner M

21 sept. 2017

Good course, but very specialized programming knowledge in this particular course, which was not the case with other courses in the specialization. Would only recommend this course for those with the necessity to build R packages.

par Daniel F S

20 avr. 2020

If this course could recheck the material and get some mentors/monitors to left hints/tips in more asked topics (like a FAQ) it would be excellent

par Johans A A

22 mars 2018

I learned a lot in this course, was difficult at the begininng but enjoyable at the end!

par Arthur G

10 juil. 2017

Informative and gives lots of information

par Kevin D

16 juil. 2017

You will learn how to develop, publish and maintain a R package, and it's quite an interesting skill that will change the way you manage your code (you'll probably always store your code in documented packages you'll host on gitHub then).

Though it's a pertty hard MOOC for many reasons : quite inactive community, information you'll get in lessons isn't enough to complete assignments, course material is just book you'll have to read (no video, no interaction), you'll probably have the feeling you're going through something that's not really finished. Don't follow this MOOC if you want to avoid being frustrated because most of the time you'll be.

par Josef T

6 avr. 2017

Course material is a bit light, missing useful pieces of information. The example code is functional but not of sufficient standard to pass the documentation exercise. The solutions to the exercise are not covered in the course material. It takes a lot of outside work to get a good mark. Course is good, but the material needs a bit of work.

par Min P

13 juin 2020

This course gives learners excellent opportunity for R package building and documentation.

The course format is pretty much the same, reading material of the book, and do peer-graded assignment.

Prior exposure to Github experience will be valuable.

par Carlos C

28 mai 2017

Easy at first, very challenging at the end. Some of the course materials really need to be updated and expanded. Mentoring should be improved (include mentors on this course).

par Eduardo B G

27 mai 2018

The content was good but I have missed the videos. I can read a book, the experience with video demonstrations is better than this aproach.

par Rafał G

29 nov. 2017

The amount of uncovered yet crucial issues is too damn high. For week 4 assignment I did most of my research on stackoverflow.

par KEVIN E A C

1 juil. 2017

It was a very challenging course at least for me but i think it is not necessary.

par Igor P

25 janv. 2018

Basic course no more then that

par Zsolt P

21 sept. 2018

The material is not bad, however, this is just a refurbished version of a corresponding book written by the authors. Literally, all the readings are just excerpts from this book with typos all over the place. Save some money and just read that, I think this is a minimal extra work cash grab and you feel that all throughout. The final project is fine but not too fun (and the reading material is insufficient for it), it isn't worth the money either.

par George L

24 juil. 2019

Lots of outdated material and no mentors remain to assist. Documentation is incomplete and left to the user's imagination. There have got to be better courses than this.

par Mai A D

19 juil. 2017

The materials is not logical and not enough. It makes a lot of difficulties for the learners, especially through self-learning and online learning.

par Jean-Philippe M

30 janv. 2020

Whish we would have a video going through all the steps (real case example) to show how to build, test and use travis on a package.

par Damian S

21 juin 2018

Among the worst courses I have found on Coursera. Once again, just a bunch of text, cut and pasted (sloppily) from their book and other resources. Examples are poor and insufficient, and much of what they ask you to do in the project is not covered well, or at all in the course forcing you to learn on your own. I don't object to self-education, but then, why bother taking this course? Can't believe they are charging money for this.

par João G C

1 juin 2020

This isn't really a course, consists just of having you read a book. There is zero content, zero support and zero walk-troughs. The final project is over-complex, given the level of content and support provided by the course. I don't recommend this course to anyone.

par Christopher M P

10 févr. 2020

Final assignment may not be reviewed for weeks. If you go on to capstone, issue could extent into months. Expect to use many external resources.

par savvas s

28 août 2017

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..

par Maurizio C

12 oct. 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult. Not recommended.

par Jose V D

18 nov. 2016

Just reading. There are not videos.

You are not allowed to submit the quiz if you do not pay.