Chevron Left
Retour à Quantitative Methods

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Quantitative Methods par Université d'Amsterdam

4.7
étoiles
1,774 évaluations
632 avis

À propos du cours

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Meilleurs avis

LG
4 janv. 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

GM
15 nov. 2020

Excellent course! Well narrated, even entertaining, VERY well structured, with supporting material, and a great mix of theory and examples or discussions. Perhaps the best MOOC I've ever encountered.

Filtrer par :

501 - 525 sur 626 Avis pour Quantitative Methods

par Davi F L V Z

27 juin 2019

Muito bom!

par Ozgur O C

18 févr. 2016

Brilliant!

par Laura M

30 juil. 2020

Excellent

par Sheila I P C

17 nov. 2017

Excellent

par Rlk P

9 oct. 2015

Excellent

par Leonardo C

19 juin 2019

Amazing!

par Norvie J

4 févr. 2017

Stellar!

par Daniel D

21 nov. 2020

Amazing

par Eldin D

12 mars 2017

Perfect

par CS M L

26 janv. 2021

great

par PANJAITAN, A (

29 juin 2020

nice!

par KIRANIMA S

29 avr. 2020

good.

par Umali D S

16 oct. 2020

Good

par S S S V

1 sept. 2020

good

par Md. S R

21 août 2020

Best

par Cui L

30 juin 2020

good

par Cao Z

31 mai 2020

good

par Martin O C J

11 mars 2016

I

par Hongming H

12 mai 2020

It is a very useful course, as an international student who is currently studying in the Netherland, I have to say, this course is a very dutch way. we have to do group work with our classmates, and we can have a discussion with other people.

In addition, those courses are not very long, they are very short videos and everyone can use several minutes to take those courses. This course aims to lay the foundation for conducting first-class qualitative and quantitative research and embed it in an effective and feasible mixed-method research design, thereby laying a solid foundation. At the end of this course, students will have a good understanding of the most important principles and practices of social science research. At the end of the course, he will also be able to improve his knowledge and skills independently, so as to pursue his substantive research interests without methodological obstacles. The course first introduces and discusses the most important qualitative methods for all students in the social sciences and behavioural sciences.

par MK Q

8 août 2020

The content provided is of excellent quality, and videos are well explained. I only put 3 stars for 2 reasons. The first one, is that the “peer-reviewing” idea is not a good idea without language requirements to enrol in this course: at least half of the assignments I peer-reviewed were filled with vocabulary and grammar mistakes make it really hard the understand. In many cases as well, the assignments are so filled with mistakes that it is just impossible to understand. I therefore wonder, how such low English skills can permit some of us to read carefully and understand the texts used for the assignments.

The second point, is that in my opinion, the content remains very general. For instance a deeper analysis of each research designs would have been nice.

The course remains however extremely useful for whoever is interested in quantitative reasoning. I would recommend to pair this knowledge with that of books on each topic discussed.

par Stephan R

7 août 2020

The course covers a lot of topics, which all together provide a good introduction into research. it is well-structured and covers even aspects of the current movement towards open science. I enjoyed the way the course instructor, Annemarie Zand Scholten, guides you through the course. The slides are well-made and the assignments really support applying the knowledge gained. Nonetheless, the instructions in the assignments need some attention as they sometimes contain contradictory information about what is asked. Furthermore, a number of the items in the quizzes are at least technically questionable; so one has to guess or assume what was probably intended to ask. Most disappointing: I never had so many cases of plagiarism by other participants. Still, I will recommend this course to my students.

par Sara E M

15 févr. 2016

I really enjoyed this course overall (and it was somewhat easy for me because I have some background in this already), but there were some technical issues especially regarding accessing assignments. It would be nice if there was a more robust group of volunteer tutors/teaching assistants or something to answer questions or deal with these technical issues, especially the final exam not working for a while for me and some other people. But, I enjoyed the illustrations (drawings) and cute examples, and also the lecturer did a pretty good job on camera. I would probably give this course a 4.5 if possible, but I am hesitant to give it a full 5 points because of the technical issues. Anyway I would recommend the course to someone who wants a survey of quantitative methods to prepare for future study.

par Irene P

25 juin 2018

I had no grounding in quantitative research methods before doing this course, although I have an undergraduate humanities degree with some background in the philosophical foundations of the course (e.g. epistemology, ontology). I found that the course was pitched at a good level for me. It gave a clear, thorough overview of quantitative research. I enjoyed the simplicity of the videos and the appeal of the cartoons, but I also really appreciated the additional interviews with social scientists and the use of real academic articles in the assignments, as it allowed me a more nuanced understanding and application of the concepts. (Useful to note: I took notes as I watched the lectures, and I found it took a lot longer than the recommended time, because the lectures are very content-dense.)

par Dwayne H

7 mars 2021

The content is well structured and well-presented. And the course is well organized to keep the learner on track and motivated. If there is scope to improve for the next iteration, I might suggest including a more complicated example after the lectures and the unit assignment to show, for example, how the concepts of research validity might apply to a longer, more realistic case study. I often found that there was a big jump between the lectures and test to the homework assignments. This may reflect a flaw in the "sequence and reinforcement" of the learning design, but it would be easily addressed by including an optional case study to review. I did not find the supplemental interviews as relevant to my needs as a non-academic. But overall, thanks!

par Jennifer B

28 janv. 2020

I thought the content, progress quiz questions, and other materials were very helpful. I'm glad I took this course, even if you know some of the material it's great for reinforcement and introducing other topics. I do agree with others though that the assignments are a bit hard to tackle. I work in UX Research, so it was refreshing an a nice challenge to review scientific papers, however I would have liked more variation in the types of assignments and -many- of my peers in the group didn't seem to understand the instructions or maybe didn't put in the effort. I think peer review is valuable, but the course seemed to rely on this activity and the articles a lot, which was a stumbling block. That being said, I would recommend this course.