Chevron Left
Retour à Quantitative Methods

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Quantitative Methods par Université d'Amsterdam

4.7
étoiles
1,910 évaluations
675 avis

À propos du cours

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Meilleurs avis

LG
4 janv. 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
7 mai 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filtrer par :

651 - 675 sur 675 Avis pour Quantitative Methods

par Bryan J

25 mars 2021

Some of the information provided as fact in this course was questionable. One comment that particularly stood out in a video was that "depressions tend to often go away on their own". As a social worker, that is entirely untrue. Also the assignment layout for Week 6 was not reviewed properly and had a slew of incorrect information leading my completion of this class to be delayed by an incorrect statement that an assignment was optional.

However, I did appreciate that consistent examples within each week to help understand that material better rather than several different examples and trying to figure out how they match up. The visuals were helpful as well.

par Stephen R

17 oct. 2015

The actual educational value of this course is quite high. The score I can offer it in good faith is dragged down by the additional "assignments" like "Write you own quiz question!" and the expectation to review the quiz questions thought up by other students. Such things in a scientific course are unnecessary and may actually be counterproductive because of the reliance upon other students and their grasp of the material. If they are to remain part of this course, they really should be treated as supplementary and not required to complete the course. It really detracts from the experience for those of us who come here to learn and not to socialize.

par Rafael d M B

26 juin 2020

The course is good, although some things bothered me a lot: 1) The peer review is just horrible. I've been plagiarized 3 times during this course, it takes a lot of time to wait for other students' assignments to be ready for evaluation and most of the time the evaluations received follow a random pattern. 2) the examples and the knowledge are mainly for Psychology. Don't be fooled, it says Social Sciences, but 90% of the examples or the subjects is about Psychology. If you want to have real examples of Economis, Political Science or International Relations, you won't find them here. I suggest changing the title of the course to address this issue.

par Susmita S

13 août 2020

The course material was beautiful and compact. Before this, I completed the Qualitative methods course and really enjoyed Moerman's mode of teaching. Being inspired I attempted this one but sorry to say that I have not enjoyed the course at all. The teaching-learning activity is so boring and fast that I lose my interest in the study the course. I also got very limited scope of learning through the assignments. Everything would be fine if the teacher's delivery would be slight slow and give time to comprehend the lecture matter.

par Ailbhe T

18 août 2020

Course materials are great. I really enjoyed the videos and found the assignments engaging. I'm only giving 3 stars, however, because the peer review system is disappointing. Lots of people are not properly submitting or reviewing and it really impacts the experience of taking this course. The forums are also pretty useless because they're filled with people asking for reviews on their assignments. I think this course could benefit from a bit more ongoing moderation from staff.

par Justyna L

10 mai 2020

The course materials are great, but the peer review system for assignments does not work for me. Most people just give perfect grades to everyone, and the quality of the assignment doesn't matter. Forums are also not used for anything other than students asking for good reviews of their work, so there isn't really a spirit of learning from each other. This impacts on my personal learning as I do not know whether my assignments were actually correct.

par Mariana O

1 déc. 2020

It's good, but the lack of interaction with professors weakens the quality of learning. Fellow students are mostly not up to the level for peer reviews, so feedback is mostly extremely weak, and content discussions are virtually inexistent. Also, many participants seem to copy and cheat, which decreases credibility of the program. It would be better if we could have direct access to professors to clear out doubts and debate learning topics.

par Bianca V

15 mars 2018

It was a well and clearly structured course. Although rich in content, it was enjoyable and useful to complete.

However, the course is missing a contingency plan in case somebody fails a session. Since assessments are peer reviewed, I do not see the motivation of my peers to come back and grade me again - which means I cannot complete the course on time despite, being on time with all assignments.

par casey

8 mai 2020

While some of this course was useful, there are some issues I have with it. The first week, a philosophical history, had little to do with the material I wanted to learn. The rest seems focussed on teaching definitions, rather than truly explaining concepts. I would have preferred a structure that enabled practice of concepts, rather than definition regurgitation.

par Farinaz A

13 sept. 2021

This course has very clear videos. However, a lot of information is intensely put in these videos without any seminars etc. so this will certainly not be an equivalent of a real course at a university.

Of course there are forums but the teachers are never involved in those and do not really respond to any questions or feedback.

par Karin S

29 oct. 2020

Course content is good. The presentation is very good; transcript and video. however the delivery is poor. There seems to be a lack of administration and the peer reviews diminish the quality of the course due to people just passing any level of content.

par Big W

8 avr. 2016

mechanically it worked pretty well. just a little hard to figger out what's going on and what's important. what needs to be memorized and what just needs to be understood . . .

par Jude B

23 févr. 2020

The course was okay, the assignments and final quiz don't really reflect the material properly and need to be re-evaluated and rephrased to be clearer

par Daniel C

14 déc. 2015

Just three stars so far, I've just started the course late... I think it looks good tho.

par smeets

28 mai 2016

very good course, but I never recieved the feedback I needed on the forum

par ANUPAMA R

24 juin 2020

Too long and difficult as there are more number of peer reviews

par tengson p

11 janv. 2017

Fairly good. Fundamental knowledge for researcher.

par Hafeez A

25 oct. 2015

interesting and informative course.

par Tarjani P

8 août 2020

good

par Cynthia C

6 sept. 2020

The material is good. However, the peer review format is poor. Most students submit copied answers, literally, they are all the same and they are not even correct. Student's don't bother reading the instructions or questions of the tests. Which indicates that I don't even know if their review of my own submissions are correctly evaluated. And the professors of the course are not available.

par Jason M H

4 mars 2016

Over reliance on student grading. Material does not map well to the quizzes.

par Sabine W

21 avr. 2021

Actually I liked the Course VERY much (so actually 5 stars).

BUT: At the end of week 6 I was kicked out of the course! Though I am paying for it! I am so frustrated! I tried to get in again, but no Chance. I need to do everything again from the very beginning, but I am too frustrated to do that. I actually passed all the exams until week 6.

par Marc F

25 mars 2018

too much work, too much specific question, alot of not related knowledge that we need to learn... Not useful in my opinion.

par Winthrop Y

19 avr. 2016

Excellent lectures, good tests, too many peer evaluations!

par Maryam s s O A

21 févr. 2021

.